The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:03 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:01 pm
Posts: 3
After updating to Joomla 3.2.1 I can't login. I logged in early this morning to update and stayed logged in. But after I logged out, It tells me my username and password is wrong.

Thanks for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi migraine_maddox,

What version of Joomla did you upgrade from? For example, did you go from Joomla 3.0 to 3.2.1?

I'd like to install the same version as yourself and test to see if I can replicate the problem.

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:39 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:01 pm
Posts: 3
I upgraded from version 3.2.0 - 3.2.1.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi migraine_maddox,

* I installed Joomla 3.2.0 from scratch
* went through the upgrade process and upgraded to Joomla 3.2.1
* logged out of /administrator and then logged back in

This worked for me, I did not encounter the issue you were having.

In Joomla 3.2.0, were you by chance using the new password features? item #8 in this list

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:59 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:01 pm
Posts: 3
No, I guess I was hacked?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:06 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:58 pm
Posts: 4
I seem to have the same problem, migrating from 3.2.0 tot 3.2.1 by downloading the patch.

Yesterday I couldn't access the commercial template anymore. In the post-installation message of another website I saw that an update to Joomla 3.2.1 was available, so I did the update the easy way. I returned to the problematic website, saw no such post-installation message, so I downloaded the patch from Joomla.org and installed it by means of the extension manager. The template was accessible again: yay! Problem solved, I thought.

Today I can't even log in. :-(
Any suggestions? Please? Tomorrow is the deadline to present my work at evening school.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:31 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25904
Location: @Webdongle
Between the time you logged out and the time you logged in ... did you move server ?

Try http://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_recov ... assword%3F

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:36 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:58 pm
Posts: 4
No, I didn't move to another server at all.

Thank you for the tip, though. Looks quite complex for the complete newbie that I am, but I'll give it a try - after a good night's sleep, that is. :-)

I'll keep you posted.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25904
Location: @Webdongle
Also found this http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2069 ... 2-to-3-2-1

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:35 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:58 pm
Posts: 4
As promised: the current state of affairs. Still not solved, unfortunately.

Actually, I had two problems:
1) I wasn't able to access the administration part of the website (Sorry, I use a Dutch interface, so probably the terminology isn't quite correct); my user account didn't exist.
2) My website was invisible: I got a 'redirection' message from Firefox. Since this website was still in the development phase, settings were such that the website was only visible to the super user. I hoped that when problem 1 was solved, problem 2 would be solved as well. No such luck, unfortunately.

What have I done?
I followed the instructions in http://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_recov ... assword%3F to change my password. The password in the SQL table was ridiculously long (+100 characters), so I'm afraid the website was hacked. Maybe free hosting sites are more vulnerable to hacking? Anyway, changing the password to a password of my choice did not help. Changing the password to one of the mentioned recovery passwords did help: I was able to access the back end of my website again. As recommended, I changed my password immediately. When I returned to the SQL database, the password seemed to be hacked again: it was a different code than the code of the recovery password.

I also made the website accessible to the public, but it stayed invisible (redirecting message).

Then I looked for tips regarding the redirecting issue. What I've tried:
- Components > redirecting >
I got the message that the redirecting plugin was disabled, so I took a look in plugin management. I found that several plugins were disabled, such as gmail authenticication, LDAP authenticication, redirecting system. I activated those three.
Still, the website remained inaccessible.

Next step:
Components > redirecting > 'verlopen URLs' (they were disabled)
I saw two items: a red circle with nothing behind it (symbolising the normal URL, I suppose?) and a red circle with the suffix index.php. I set both of them to 'enabled'.

Still, the website was inaccessible.

Then I filled in the field 'destination URL' in the text box below. I filled in the default URL of my website.

Now the website was redirected to the website of my free hosting partner.

Any suggestions on how to fix this? I should be presenting this website before class in 2 hours time.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:50 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Quote:
The Redirect Plugin is disabled. Enable it in the Plugin Manager.

The redirect plugin does not need to be enabled for your Joomla site to work.


Quote:
My website was invisible: I got a 'redirection' message from Firefox.

It sounds like you have an infinite loop, and firefox says it's not going to continue following the redirects. This sounds like it's the problem you're trying to troubleshoot right now. I recommend disabling the redirects and testing again. If you can give us your domain name, I'd like to test myself to see what is actually happening.

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:58 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:58 pm
Posts: 4
Hi Brad,

Thank you for offering your help. As someone completely new to Joomla, it is a bit overwhelming to try and find out what's wrong. I did find out that redirecting is not the problem.

The main problem is the infinite loop indeed. Apart from that, I have the impression that my website is hacked. In phpMyAdmin I saw that my password was changed. Changing that to a recovery password helps, but as soon as I change that password in user management, it seems to get hacked again.

Of course I'd like to give you the domain name, but as far as I remember it is not allowed to post domain names on the forum. Is there any other way I can send it to you?

Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:29 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:37 am
Posts: 1506
Location: Arid-Zona
It's ok to post your domain name when you're looking for help. I promise :)

The forum restrictions are to keep people from advertising themselves... if you keep it to situations where you need help, you're ok.

_________________
http://www.motherroaddesigns.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group