The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:58 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 7
Since I updated the website to the latest version I am unable to open the search tools or re-order the articles. These options are all working fine for modules and everything else, just not for articles.

Any ideas how I can rectify this situation?

:eek:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi kstyles,

Have you tested this in multiple browsers? I'm curious to know if it is browser related.

This page may be a bit difficult to understand, at least for me it is, but do you think you've having the same issue as described here (there's a link to a video on that page)?
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=32672

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:38 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 7
I have tried it in Safari, Firefox and Internet Explorer, all with the same result.
I have several other websites I have built and have no trouble with any of them, just this one?
I did have an issue with the URL re-write not working on this site, so I copied the .htaccess file from one of the other websites I have built which solved that issue, could this have caused this to occur?
It's important as I want to do some updates to the site and can't order any new articles.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:40 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 7
Just noticed it doesn't appear to be working in Categories either, no search tools?
Only works in featured articles?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:16 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi kstyles,

I can test this again on a fresh install of Joomla to see if I can replicate. What is the exact version of Joomla you're using right now?

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 7
Hi bradm,

Many thanks, it's updated to the latest version 3.2.1.

It was only recently updated from 3.2.

I also have JCK manager installed, that when I do a system check gives me the folllowing error (so I just noticed when i done a system check)

Fatal error: Call to protected method JApplicationAdministrator::route() from context '' in /var/sites/n/nostalgicdj.com/public_html/plugins/editors/jckeditor/install/index.php on line 43

I disabled the plugin and went to tinyMCE with no change to the error I'm getting, so I'm hoping I ruled it out?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi kstyles,

I installed a fresh copy of Joomla 3.1 with the test sample data.

I went to Content >> Article Manager and clicked the Search tools button - it is expanding and collapsing for me as it should.

I then clicked the ID, Title, and Hits headers in the table, and they appear to be sorting correctly.

To confirm, what I did above is not working for you in Joomla 3.2.1?

It doesn't appear to be a problem with Joomla 3.2.1, or at least, I wasn't able to replicate it. The problem may be tied to the upgrade that was performed, something may have not gone right.

I think the problem may be outside my scope at this point. If the feature is something you need, personally I would:
1. install Joomla 3.2.1 from scratch and
2. import the current database that you have
... get a fresh copy of the files but use a copy of your current database

That should do the trick. You could always install joomla onto a subdomain or in a separate folder to see if this solution would work.

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:54 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Posts: 7
Many thanks for your help, I think that will have to be the route I go down.

Thanks again for looking into this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 1:50 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Hi kstyles, I just wanted to check in and see if you were able to make any progress? I'm curious to find out if new files + current database resolves the problem.

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brianmass, xarzu and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group