Keep needing to Rebuild Menus, why?

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
adamlebo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:09 pm

Keep needing to Rebuild Menus, why?

Postby adamlebo » Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:16 pm

I have been running a Joomla 3.0 site since 3.x was released, several times now after rearranging menu item ordering all of my menu's have gotten messed up and I have had to use the 'Rebuild' tool from the menu manager to fix things.

I am grateful for this tool to exist, but I am curious as to what is going wrong on the Joomla backend when this happens. Clearly this issue is know because a tool exists to fix it. Are there steps that I can take to stop this from happening? I am also worried if/when the Rebuild tool were to not fix the menus what would I do?

Thanks for any insight.

User avatar
bradm
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Contact:

Re: Keep needing to Rebuild Menus, why?

Postby bradm » Tue Feb 04, 2014 6:22 pm

Hi adamlebo,

I don't know too much about the rebuild feature, but I'd like to try and help.

The official documentation says the rebuild option:

Reconstructs and refreshes the menu table. Normally, you do not need to rebuild this table. This function is provided in case the data in the table becomes corrupted


Someone having a similar issue was suggested to:
* Menu Manager > Rebuild
* Extensions > Database > Fix

Have you tried the database > fix option before?
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support

adamlebo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:09 pm

Re: Keep needing to Rebuild Menus, why?

Postby adamlebo » Tue Feb 04, 2014 6:59 pm

Thanks for the reply Brad. I will test the Database Fix and see if that helps prevent issues.


Return to “Administration Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sovainfo and 2 guests