Unpublish expired articles

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
cxn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Unpublish expired articles

Post by cxn » Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:08 pm

Hi All,

First of all I love Joomla! 3.3. Great Job.

I'm encountering one problem.
When an article is expired (reaches the "Finish Publishing" date) it hides these articles for all users in "Featured Articles", except for "Super Users".

I know this is default on how Joomla! works (http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p=2250654), but I want these articles to be hidden for all access levels.

Also "AutoArchive" (http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... utoarchive) is not for me, I don't want to move between categories.

Is there any solution? (rather than updating it through phpmyadmin to unpublished)

cxn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Unpublish expired articles

Post by cxn » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:16 pm

Anyone knows how to hide "expired articles" for Super User in the featured articles menu?

I only found this in featured/default_item.php:

Code: Select all

<?php if ((strtotime($this->item->publish_down) < strtotime(JFactory::getDate())) && $this->item->publish_down != '0000-00-00 00:00:00') : ?>
	<span class="label label-warning"><?php echo JText::_('JEXPIRED'); ?></span>
<?php endif; ?>
But thats only the warning.

Thanks

cxn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by cxn » Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:37 pm

Anyone? :(

Tuscany
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Tuscany » Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:17 pm

need this aswell !
Please someone !

NathanHawks
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace