Joomla and CDN(s)

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Shimei
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joomla and CDN(s)

Post by Shimei » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:00 pm

Hello,

I have some questions and could use some experienced input on the matter of CDNs. I had a load time of 10 seconds while using Cloudflare's free service. Last night I decided to try Amazon Cloudfront. There was only a one second performance increase between the two. But when I enabled Cloudflare while also using Cloudfront I received around a 4 second increase in performance. Coupled with Siteground's Joomla Booster Package, where images are served dynamically from a cache server... something great happened - my load times went down into the two second range. Is this a normal practice? regarding running multiple CDNs? Should I try to optimize using only one, or just ride out the overall performance increase I am seeing now in Gtmetrix.com with multiple CDNs?

Here's a link to the Amazon setup I had done last night: http://www.reformedchristianity.org/for ... mance.html

I hadn't finished it yet, because as I mentioned before, I ended up enabling Cloudflare to compliment Cloudfront.

pinkshirt
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Joomla and CDN(s)

Post by pinkshirt » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:04 am

I think it would make it harder to maintain the site in the long run when using multiple CDN's. You're better off working out what is giving you the best performance and then optimising that.