Joomla HIT counter wont update properly

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
sn1p3ras
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla HIT counter wont update properly

Post by sn1p3ras » Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:34 am

Last night I had according to Google Analytics 57 Page views on a specific article on my site but my Joomla is showing just 22. I tried seeing the page my self and after refreshing some times I did get the counter to rise but after a while... Yesterday I activated (Progressive) caching for the site and I think after this my articles lost the count efficiency cause till that point I was hitting around 40-50 on every article.

Can there be a problem with facebook linking? Because most of the traffic came from facebook, although I don't think so cause almost everyday my traffic is from facebook!

Any clues to what might have happened?

Thanks,
John

waarnemer
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Joomla HIT counter wont update properly

Post by waarnemer » Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:12 pm

the hit counter does track the count of hits which really do trigger a page being rendered from PHP code and DB content.
If your page is cached to does not do that...
When your page is cached in your browser........ no count at all...

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Post by itoctopus » Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:48 pm

Joomla's caching has a huge issue with hit count. It seems that it hasn't been fixed. I wouldn't rely on Joomla's default hit count if caching is enabled.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

sitesrus
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace