Session handling in Memcached?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
fatica
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Session handling in Memcached?

Post by fatica » Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:42 pm

Hi all,

Is session handling in Memcached possible? Seems to be a lot of information regarding using memcached as a cache handler, but not for sessions.

Though, I see code in Joomla's session handling that manipulates jos_session regardless of the session handler setting.

This is posted in performance because Joomla spends a lot of time deleting and managing data in the jos_session table.

Thanks!

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: Session handling in Memcached?

Post by itoctopus » Tue Jul 22, 2014 4:16 pm

Commenting on your last statement:

If your website receives a lot of traffic, then it is extremely important to keep the session lifetime to a minimum - say 5-10 minutes. The downside for this is that administrators will be logged out after a few minutes of inactivity, but on the flip side, the session table will be substantially smaller and the website will be generally faster. We have discovered this the very hard way!
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

fatica
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by fatica » Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:08 pm

Thanks for the comment.