Varnish, Nginx and Apache

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
almooj-craig
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Varnish, Nginx and Apache

Post by almooj-craig » Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:08 pm

Hello All,

Currently I use Nginx before Apache to serve out static files, .gz if available otherwise it gzips them. Then Apache generates the other pages. Modules are cached and I use a modified page cache that stores the files gziped.

I am toying around with trying Varnish ahead of Nginx, so that it can serve out it's own cached files. I assume that it will cache everything unless the file is excluded. I read this interesting article.
https://www.varnish-cache.org/trac/wiki/ArchitectNotes

These times are from http://www.webpagetest.org and the dns has been cached.

Here is the time it takes Apache to build and then serve out a page and store it that has not been cached. Most likely all the modules have been cached.

DNS Lookup: 2 ms
Initial Connection: 319 ms
Time to First Byte: 498 ms
Content Download: 124 ms
Total Time: 943 ms
Bytes In (downloaded): 10.9 KB

Once the page has been cached, all of the required css is stuffed into the header. Then there are two ways that file can be served out.

(1) Let Nginx serve the cached home page only, by using rewrite and serve out the gziped file directly, this uses no php or database access. Here is that time:

Initial Connection: 27 ms
Time to First Byte: 35 ms
Content Download: 145 ms
Total Time: 209 ms
Bytes In (downloaded): 11.6 KB