Upgrading an old Joomla site that is down

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
millerlu
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Upgrading an old Joomla site that is down

Post by millerlu » Fri Apr 12, 2024 9:44 pm

I inherited an old Joomla site that just went down and I am trying bring it back up. Currently the site gives a 503 error. The site is running Joomla 2.5.26, which I know is very old! I have talked to the hosting company and they have recently upgraded the server to use PHP 7.4.33. I believe the site was using PHP 5.6 before the upgrade. The hosting company can not go back to 5.6. I believe that is why it is down and giving a 503 error. I can not load the administrator page either. I believe I need to upgrade to a newer version of Joolma that supports PHP 7 like Joolma 3.X and then upgrade more from there.

If I remove the .htaccess file the site redirects to /installation/index.php and gives these errors:

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined method JHtml::getJSObject() in public_html/libraries/joomla/html/behavior.php:235
Stack trace: #0 public_html/libraries/joomla/html/html.php(222): JHtmlBehavior::tooltip()
#1 public_html/libraries/joomla/html/html.php(135): JHtml::call(Array, Array)
#2 public_html/installation/template/index.php(26): JHtml::_('jhtml.behavior....')
#3 public_html/libraries/joomla/document/html/html.php(531): require('/home/customer/...')
#4 public_html/libraries/joomla/document/html/html.php(588): JDocumentHTML->_loadTemplate('/home/customer/...', 'index.php')
#5 public_html/libraries/joomla/document/html/html.php(414): JDocumentHTML->_fetchTemplate(Array)