Simple question re upgrading

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
naturalp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Simple question re upgrading

Post by naturalp » Fri Dec 19, 2014 1:20 pm

Hi - I thought I'd followed the instructions but after two blank white screens and subsequent system restores I am now 'taking it easy'!

Question in the preparation part of the instructions it says
Step 3: Update all extensions compatibility with Joomla 3.x!
This is a simple step! You just download and update all your extensions (not Joomla yet!) you have found to be compatible with Joomla 3.0 except your template (!) Only upgrade extensions that show compatibility with Joomla 1.5/2.5/3/x or 2.5/3.x!

If I have plugins/modules installed that are for 2.5 and the another version of same plugin is available for joomla 3 do I simply install the version 3 plugin or wait till after the upgrade.. sorry but its the compatibility sentence above that I can't understand... .. Much appreciated...

SharkyKZ
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Simple question re upgrading

Post by SharkyKZ » Fri Dec 19, 2014 1:51 pm

I think it would be best to disable these type of extensions before upgrading. Then upgrade to Joomla 3.x, update to 3.x extensions and enable them.

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by sovainfo » Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:39 pm

It is referring to the information provided on Joomla Extension Directory (JED). Extensions published there mention the version of Joomla that is supported. When migrating to J3 the extensions that mention J3 can be updated.