Content language vs. installed language

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
xiayou
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Content language vs. installed language

Post by xiayou » Sat Feb 25, 2023 1:11 pm

Two enquiries please, the first one: what is the difference between installed language and content language? Should they not be the same? In my Installed section, I see English and Norwegian. If I select 'Content Language', I see Polish and English - no Norwegian?

So to my second one, I installed the Norwegian language package (3.10.0) and it shows in the dashboard under Languages: Installed (Site). Great!

Now there are a few modules this does not work on, because the language version is old (3.10.0) and is displayed with an orange status color. If I hover over the version number, it says that "the language package does not match this Joomla version. Some strings may be missing and will be displayed in English." That is also fine, I can just use the override I guess? I wonder if I should use the English or the Norwegian language for overrides?

When I choose override regardless of the language, I look up the content/value I want to edit and click save. But it does not update? I was successful in adding 4 overrides earlier the same day, then it stopped saving/updating them for some reason.

I have Joomla version 3.10.11.

What could be the issue?

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Content language vs. installed language

Post by imanickam » Sat Feb 25, 2023 2:30 pm

xiayou wrote:
Sat Feb 25, 2023 1:11 pm