Is it necessary to install Chinese language package?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
jleung
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Is it necessary to install Chinese language package?

Post by jleung » Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:53 am

Is it necessary to install the Traditional Chinese language package or Simplified Chinese language package to create a Chinese website?

I currently only have the English (UK) language pack but my website displays the Traditional Chinese characters I typed.

Also, the website will have Traditional Chinese (default) and Simplified Chinese language switching options.

I saw a website (http://globaltm.org/) that has language selection without changing the url. I wonder what's the best way to create a Traditional and Simplified Chinese website.

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Is it necessary to install Chinese language package?

Post by imanickam » Thu Sep 25, 2014 7:48 am

jleung wrote:Is it necessary to install the Traditional Chinese language package or Simplified Chinese language package to create a Chinese website?
The answer would be "Yes", if the error and informational messages and the field names of of Joomla! has to be in Chinese. It is better to install the appropriate language pack that has to be the primary language of the site. After you install the language pack, make that language as the default Site language.

If the messages could be in English then there is no need to install the Chinese language pack.