Help: Labels are surrounded by double asterisks

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
JLW
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Help: Labels are surrounded by double asterisks

Post by JLW » Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:54 pm

I am putting the finishing touches on a migrated J3.3 site to replace our 1.5 site. Yesterday, the site was fine. As far as I can tell, all I was doing yesterday was working on a template override for one view of the Jevents calendaring component, but I must have disturbed something in the Joomla core, because all of a sudden all the menu items and messages in the Joomla back end are preceded and followed by two asterisks, and the same goes for a smattering of prompts within components in the front end.

Furthermore, the Joomla debug area at the bottom of the pages says:

Code: Select all

"Parsing Errors in Language Files"
JROOT/administrator/language/en-GB/en-GB.plg_system_jumi.ini : error(s) in line(s) 0, 1, 3, 10, 11
but this may have always been the case even before the problem occurred; I don't know.
That file's contents are:

# $Id: en-GB.plg_content_jumi.ini 95 2009-02-25 10:20:33Z martin2hajek $
# Note : All ini files need to be saved as UTF-8 - No BOM