Only 1 language out of 3 has most visitors?

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Actlas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Only 1 language out of 3 has most visitors?

Post by Actlas » Tue Aug 19, 2014 1:41 pm

Our .com website is hosted in Belgium and is fully translated using the Falang extension in Dutch (main language (.com/nl), French (.com/fr) and English (.com/en).

In Google webmaster tools:
.com/nl is geotargetted to Belgium
.com itself is geotargetted internationally

Almost all visitors are Dutch speaking and come from the Dutch speaking part of Belgium and the Netherlands. We have very little international visitors. Even almost no visitors at all from the French speaking part of Belgium.

Any ideas on how to improve this?
Should .com/fr and .com/en be geotargetted internationally specifically by adding those in webmastertools?

waarnemer
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Only 1 language out of 3 has most visitors?

Post by waarnemer » Tue Aug 19, 2014 1:56 pm

if you are using a sitemapping tool like xmap, you can add language specific sitemaps..

What is your sites URL?

Actlas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Actlas » Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:04 am

You can find our website here. We are indeed using xmap and submitted language specific site maps. We also applied most basic seo best practises.