How to redirect

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
jcuming
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

How to redirect

Post by jcuming » Sat Feb 28, 2015 2:37 pm

Hi
My choir has an old Joomla website at the address dwhsociety.co.uk, hosted by another member of the choir.
I've built a new site at handelians2.cumingfamily.org.uk, hosted on AwardSpace and owned by me.

I now want to give the other member of the choir advice so he can redirect his domain (dwhsociety.co.uk) to my new site.

I can see there are a range of redirects. He's tried one redirect, but this just bounces people from dwhsociety.co.uk/index.php to handelians2.cumingfamily.org.uk/index.php which i don't want.

He's tried another type of redirect, which DOES show my new site under his domain, but it doesn't change URL when I move to different pages of the new site, so I'm guessing it's just some kind of wrapper and I don't want this as I want each page to be indexed by Google.

How do I redirect his domain to my new site so that all pages are listed under the domain dwhsociety.co.uk but have their own domains - eg dwhsociety.co.uk/contact-us.html
?
Jim

xfsgpr
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: How to redirect

Post by xfsgpr » Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:00 pm

He can paste this on his .htaccess file that is located in the root folder:

Code: Select all

RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://handelians2.cumingfamily.org.uk/$1 [L,R=301]
However, the best way is to login to his registrar's website and from cPanel he can redirect the traffic to new website. It is just editing the DNS details.