Hack Virus - DoorWayIsWork

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
wakeupscreaming
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Hack Virus - DoorWayIsWork

Post by wakeupscreaming » Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:15 pm

This is an update on my hacked Joomla site.

The "virus" appears to be called: DoorWayIsWork
There isn't much on it -- looks like it effected WordPress before.

It injected some code into my configuration.php file.
Initally, there was some randomly named .php file in the public_html directory. Perhaps the programmer thought it would be a great decoy, thinking that if you deleted that php file, you got rid of the problem, which is not the case -- there is code all over the bottom of the configuration file.

It creates articles and content that get published on your site. Even if you delete them, they'll appear a couple hours later. It effects google rankings, when you have non-sensical offensive content on your website.
Not sure what kind of assholes have absolutely nothing better to do then write code like this. And then targeting me -- I might get 2 visitors a month on my personal portfolio site??

I might just do a clean install -- as I had no back up. I didn't realize Joomla sites were so easy to hack. I've had normal html/css/javascript websites for more than a decade and had never had a problem with them being hacked.
i've already tried picking through the code, deleting some of the obvious virus lines, and my site became completely pooched. Must have deleted some wrong code intermixed in with the hacker virus code.

I guess I'm the lucky one that gets to document this first?