Is there a "Joomla best practices" extensions list?

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Marvin_Martiano
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Is there a "Joomla best practices" extensions list?

Post by Marvin_Martiano » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:14 pm

Hi --

I'm making my own module despite lacking a background in programming. This means I'll be hacking together something that will work, and the flaws/problems will be hidden at first sight... Nobody will have an idea how safe it is, until somebody tries to break into it, or some generic attack tool bags it along with thousands of other sites, I guess.

Most didactic modules that you find online or in books are either outdated (Hello, Joomla 3.3!), or insufficient for what I'm after, or not really concerned about security. So what I'm after is some very very simple, well-written modules, plugins and components that are (a) vetted by 'the community' as written according to best practices -- efficiency, clearness/maintainability, and security -- as well as clearly commented so that we can learn from reading through them. So there should be one doing every basic thing: Printing something on-screen, yes, all the 'hello, world' examples do that. And submission forms (with or without a special extension for them), and many other things, but often in a more complicated situation, and rarely convincing (on safety/explanations/...).

So I'd want to see say a module letting the user pass a parameter from the frontend, that then reacts/updates the same page, and nothing else? With well-commented code?