Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
dburone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by dburone » Thu May 15, 2014 4:33 am

Doesnt even load the page with the mod on the query.php file and the j330 sqlsrv.php.
It only opens a blank page now.

I already mentioned the solution solved the original problem.

For now I think I will use the J303 sqlsrv.php since I now need to get a prototype site working for development so I can wait a little for this to get solved and go back to J330 sqlsrv.php.
I don't kmow exactly what processLimit is but I think it may not be a problem for me now.
Thanks a lot for all youre help! It was really Usefull! :)

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by sovainfo » Thu May 15, 2014 4:49 am

The change in sqlsrv.php applies to sqlsrv and not the other db's. The change in query.php applies to all db's. The move of the lines makes the limit apply to only the select statement.

I have seen reports of update and delete (yours) statements with an error because of this construct for sqlsrv.

Unfortunately you'll run into further problems possibly when these issues are fixed.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

dburone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by dburone » Thu May 15, 2014 6:20 pm

sovainfo wrote:The change in sqlsrv.php applies to sqlsrv and not the other db's. The change in query.php applies to all db's. The move of the lines makes the limit apply to only the select statement.

I have seen reports of update and delete (yours) statements with an error because of this construct for sqlsrv.

Unfortunately you'll run into further problems possibly when these issues are fixed.

I agree with you!

Its just that my Site wont be live for at least 30 more days and I need to work on other elements of the site.
I'll still try to solve the original problem and I will help you in any way I can. I just dont understand very well those codes for fixing them my self.
If you need me to do some test just tell me. Even if you want I could give you remote access to my PC or some virtual server so you can work directly on the problem.

Im at you're service! :D

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by sovainfo » Thu May 15, 2014 7:07 pm

In the mean time I have decided upon not considering it one issue. The first issue is that for sqlsrv the processLimit is called too soon. On half of the query. The second issue to me is that the processLimit implementation contains the syntax for the SELECT but is applied to other statements as well. This is regardless the storage (MySQL, MSSQL, Azure, PostgreSQL). It requires a separate issue to be resolved properly.

@dburone: I noticed your statement on Github, thank you for that. While checking JC, I didn't see an entry. Would you mind to register there and add an a line like:
@test Success, issue confirmed, PR resolves issue.
It is http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... 18&start=0
Unfortunately, this is what still used for progress. It won't make it into the product unless there are at least two successes reported here.
To investigate the blank screen you would need to return to the J330 situation with my fixes. I would be willing to investigate, but it interrupts you working on your site.
Maybe we can communicate privately to explore that possibility.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

dburone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by dburone » Fri May 16, 2014 2:37 am

I activated the development error tracking on PHP and now the blank screen shows this.

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_CASE in C:\inetpub\wwwroot\Joomla_33\libraries\joomla\database\query.php on line 397

Now I have all the J330 files again and the mods you sugested sovainfo.

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by sovainfo » Fri May 16, 2014 9:55 am

There must be a typo on 397. Could you provide some of the lines around 397 here?
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by sovainfo » Fri May 16, 2014 1:04 pm

Undo the move of the lines in query.php and replace line 476

Code: Select all

if ($this instanceof JDatabaseQueryLimitable && ($this->limit > 0 || $this->offset > 0))
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

dburone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by dburone » Fri May 16, 2014 3:11 pm

sovainfo wrote:Undo the move of the lines in query.php and replace line 476

Code: Select all

if ($this instanceof JDatabaseQueryLimitable && ($this->limit > 0 || $this->offset > 0))

This change did solve completly the problem. Site is working on complete J330 files.

Im having another problem with installing extensions. Don't know why but it takes over a minute trying to install it and it ends on a error page.

Already adjusted upload limits and permisions over the tmp directory. Joomla hows no errors on the database tab or any warnings.

I guess this is another case or problem for using SQLSERVER

Image

dburone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by dburone » Fri May 16, 2014 3:34 pm

Here the error message in a browser that is in English.
Don't know why the error code is different.

Image

dburone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by dburone » Fri May 16, 2014 4:19 pm

I found out the same thing happens if I try to make a change in a menu.
I'm trying to find out what's happening. The system lets me create users so it has acces to the database, bue menus and extensions give that error code.

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by sovainfo » Sat May 17, 2014 12:42 am

Thank you for the confirmation and your post on jc.
Do you mind starting a new discussion for the ERR_CONNECTION_RESET.
My impression is that this can't be related to the issues we discussed here.
Hope I am right about that, if not, just say so.

Would like to request another post on JC on http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... 07&start=0 from you.

In order to trigger the right administration it requires you to start your post with: @test Succesfull

As further description suggest:
Issue confirmed. PR#### resolves issue. Infra:J3.3.0, PHP #.#.#
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

dburone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by dburone » Sat May 17, 2014 5:04 am

sovainfo wrote:Thank you for the confirmation and your post on jc.
Do you mind starting a new discussion for the ERR_CONNECTION_RESET.
My impression is that this can't be related to the issues we discussed here.
Hope I am right about that, if not, just say so.

Would like to request another post on JC on http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... 07&start=0 from you.

In order to trigger the right administration it requires you to start your post with: @test Succesfull

As further description suggest:
Issue confirmed. PR#### resolves issue. Infra:J3.3.0, PHP #.#.#

I started another discusion because as you say I think this is another issue.

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=706&t=845891

JeremyLC
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:36 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by JeremyLC » Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:58 pm

I have just installed 3.3.6 on this same combination of web server and database it does not work. The installation went off without any trouble, but if I try to visit the newly installed site I get the error below:

Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: [Microsoft][ODBC Driver 11 for SQL Server][SQL Server]Incorrect syntax near ','.SQL=SELECT * FROM ( DELETE , ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY (select 0)) AS RowNumber FROM [xi8ob_session] WHERE [time] < '1421268101') _myResults WHERE RowNumber BETWEEN 1 AND 0

I thought I'd continue this thread rather than start a new one on the same problem.

jpxxx
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 4:06 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by jpxxx » Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:31 am

looks like sql statements are faultly, they are being created in /database/[drive]/sqlsrv.php and/or /database/query/sqlsrv.php . however, those statements are created through multiple functions... as i am not well versed in the code i am kind of wary of making a bunch of changes, in fear of breaking other things.

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by sovainfo » Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:45 am

@JeremyLC Replacing the line 476 in query.php should solve your issue. Both offset and limit are zero in your case. Still think it should be moved because it now applies to all statements, it should only apply to the SELECT statement.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

JeremyLC
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:36 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by JeremyLC » Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:17 pm

sovainfo wrote:@JeremyLC Replacing the line 476 in query.php should solve your issue. Both offset and limit are zero in your case. Still think it should be moved because it now applies to all statements, it should only apply to the SELECT statement.
Thanks, I found that earlier and managed to get far enough to experience a more sever problem. I posted in detail in a different sub-forum here http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=728&t=871724

Bedlam125
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 4:50 am

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by Bedlam125 » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:02 am

Having the same type of issues. at the moment with joomla 3.2

Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: [Microsoft][SQL Server Native Client 11.0][SQL Server]Incorrect syntax near the keyword 'WHERE'.SQL=SELECT * FROM ( SELECT [session_id] , ROW_NUMBER() OVER (ORDER BY (select 0)) AS RowNumber FROM [sevs1_session]) _myResults WHERE RowNumber BETWEEN 1 AND 1 WHERE [session_id] = 'tbejv31atl4f4e8tg4bm78tl52'

Over the past two weeks I have had issue after issue with joomla installs. I keep wiping my site and starting over. Getting very frustrated, as I use this CMS because I am no expert in php and have had success with it in the past... in fact on the same host, same environment and all. But now I can't get past this.

Edit: I get this from accessing both the front end and administrator urls.. only difference I see is the session ID at the end. I have had the same results with 3.3.6, both installing manually myself AND an automated install from my hosting providers web app gallery.

Planck Mann
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 6:25 am

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by Planck Mann » Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:46 am

thanks for your information .it is helpful to me.

aminlv
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by aminlv » Fri Nov 27, 2015 5:45 pm

can you tell me how exactly you add sql server in database types in joomla installation please

aminlv
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Joomla on IIS8 and MSSQL 2012

Post by aminlv » Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:12 am

ok an update, well manage to install it had to remove everything and reinstall it with WPI
it work just fine,

i can easily install extension etc...
however i got weird issue,whenever i install new Language i can see in admin panel i install that language but it won't add to site or admin articles just show default english UK!
i checked database seems language pack wont add themselves in database _language

any idea how can fix this issue?

tnX


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 3.x on IIS webserver”