Permissions issue with New Joomla Install

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
jchastain
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Permissions issue with New Joomla Install

Post by jchastain » Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:41 pm

I have a brand new Joomla 3.2.3 installation on a brand new Windows 2012 R2 server ( Windows IIS 8.5, PHP 5.4.24, MySQL). The Joomla install went through without any issue, I can bring up the public site and I can log into the admin. I can edit the site configuration without issue. I was able to update Joomla and set up the 'install from web' option for extensions. However, I cannot install any extensions.

Every time I attempt to install an extension via the web, I get the following message:
Error
Archive does not exist

Warning
JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: C:\inetpub\wwwroot\tmp\install_5345823901c41
JFolder: :folder: Path is not a folder. Path: C:\inetpub\wwwroot\tmp\install_5345823901c41
JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: C:\inetpub\wwwroot\tmp\install_5345823901c41
JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find Joomla XML setup file
The path above is correct (at least through tmp). I have gone through the Joomla/IIS security configuration information (http://docs.joomla.org/IIS) and all of my permissions match. Specifically, I have added the IUSR user to the IIS_IUSRS group and the IIS_IUSRS group has Read & Execute, List Folder Contents, Read, and Write permissions for the entire C:\inetpub\wwwroot folder.

Also, I get a similar looking error when trying to upload a package file, so this does not appear to be limited to the web installer.
Error