Switched servers mysql reconnect problem

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Scooby22
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Switched servers mysql reconnect problem

Post by Scooby22 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:44 pm

I recently switched servers and transferred my entire joomla folder over via ftp. I have created the new mysql database but I am not sure how to reconnect with the new database without the installation folder. I do feel comfortable ftp-ing to a file and editing a name somewhere if I have to. I am using Joomla 3.

This is the Error I get when trying to view the site:

Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: Could not connect to MySQL.

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: Switched servers mysql reconnect problem

Post by itoctopus » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:14 pm

You will need to edit the configuration.php file. The host , the db name, the db user, and the db password may not be the same. You will need to change those.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

Scooby22
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Scooby22 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:05 pm

I did that, and entered in all the new settings. Now I am getting this error.

Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: No database selected SQL=SELECT `session_id` FROM `aaxcg_session` WHERE `session_id` = 'gs0oeidjvpd9v1dgd7d796jfj6' LIMIT 0, 1

Could this have something to do with the prefix?

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by AMurray » Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:50 pm