joomla 3.3.3 on IIS8 security problems

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 3.x on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
gmakridis
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

joomla 3.3.3 on IIS8 security problems

Post by gmakridis » Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:00 pm

Hi All,

I have a dedicated IIS8 and run a few joomla v3 sites. When I create the subdomain, prior to copying the latest version files for installation, I need to connect via remote desktop, right-mouse click and set permissions to the httpdocs folder, in order for joomla to be able to create configuration.php.

OK, that may not sound like a big deal but when I install a module and new files are copied to that folder, the httpdocs folder and all nested inside get AGAIN the read-only flag and also read only access. So the next module to be installed will fail because of lack of security rights. To fix, I have to repeat the right-mouse click described above and go from the beginning which a pain...

Is there a way to bypass this security problem?

Please advise
Thank you
George M

RedEye
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: joomla 3.3.3 on IIS8 security problems

Post by RedEye » Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:47 pm

It's not a security problem, it's a permission problem which is caused from a bad server configuration.
Read some howto's on server configuration or get yourself a managed server.

gcollier02
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: joomla 3.3.3 on IIS8 security problems

Post by gcollier02 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:47 pm