Viewing Access Levels Not Working

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
wizzbangca
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Viewing Access Levels Not Working

Post by wizzbangca » Wed May 22, 2013 8:45 pm

i am on joomla 3.1.1 trying to setup menus that show different links based on if someone is a guest or logged in. i have a log in menu item set to guest and a log out menu item set to registered. when i an not logged in, both log in and logout show. i have an entire menu set to registered,yet shoes when not lord in. what do i look for to figure out why joomla is ignoring the access levels?

wizzbangca
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Viewing Access Levels Not Working

Post by wizzbangca » Wed May 22, 2013 9:48 pm

I checked the Guest user group settings, which ended up not being set to the Guest group. I changed that, but no go. Here's more problems:

Joomla ignores menu assignments for modules, menus, and menu items.

Joomla still doesn't pay attention to access level settings.

I thought junking up my menus with more menus might help. Instead of having a public menu with a signup link for guests, a log in link for guests, and a log out link for registered users, I created another menu called log out just for registered users that only has the log out link. The log in menu module was changed from public to guest. Didn't work.

wizzbangca
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by wizzbangca » Thu May 23, 2013 1:26 am