User groups option missing from backend user management

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
schumi1971
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

User groups option missing from backend user management

Post by schumi1971 » Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:56 pm

I have encountered a new thing I've never experienced before.
With my Super user the "user groups" option is not available anymore when I add a new user in the backend.
[img]http://image.bayimg.com/20c5dc036046816 ... b1e02b.jpg[/ img]

Also, if I try to change a user pops up the options.
This makes it a bit cumbersome to create new users.
[img]http://image.bayimg.com/b558c4061611902 ... 09d3aa.jpg[/ img]

Can someone help me with a solution?

The problem I am having is with Joomla 3.2.2

rcarey
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: User groups option missing from backend user management

Post by rcarey » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:17 pm

This is peculiar and something I have not seen before. The straight line above the fields suggest that that layout knows it is supposed to be tabbed, but no tabs are displaying. That could be a CSS problem, or it could be something unusual with your ACL configuration, or even some third-party plugin that is interfering.

I would check a few things. First, look at the source code. Do you see the code for the permissions? If so, then I'd use something like Firefox to see what CSS is hiding that tab name or pane, and then (in Firefox) I'd add some CSS to force the hidden HTML to be display:block;