Global Configuration page not saving anything, slow refresh

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
peter132
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Global Configuration page not saving anything, slow refresh

Post by peter132 » Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:15 am

Joomla 3.3.1 hosted on a shared service at HostMonster, used Mojo to install with MySQL.

I change something on the Global Configuration and save it. The page is refreshed within a second or two with the old data, not the change. It then runs for many seconds, ~10-15, and finally fully refreshes - the last things to paint appear to be the red and green yes/no toggles. I do not think the database is updated - if I change the editor, then edit an article, I continue to see the former editor, not the one I attempted to change to.

So, what was I doing prior to noticing this failure of Global Configuration? I had added about 60 user groups and close to that many access lists and about 30 categories, although as of yet, not many articles or users. Therefore, most of the user access stuff is still unused. I also did install JCE.

I have reviewed the browser source code, but am not sure what everything is. I have also reviewed various *.php files in the directories of Joomla looking for signs of a virus, but nothing looks suspicious. I have experience cleaning up viruses I have using other CMSs. Different browsers produce the same result. I have cleared the caches of the browsers and of Joomla. I probably did other stuff over the last day and a half too, but I do not remember it all.