User Group Structuring

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
nilism
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

User Group Structuring

Post by nilism » Sun Mar 13, 2016 10:29 pm

I am new to Joomla and I am considering building a Conda/HOA/Strata type site. I figured on of the better places to start on a project like this would be to build the usergroup structures first.

So I have a basic understanding of Access Level Control, Permissions, and User Groups. As well as inheritance. I am finding that knowing the vocabulary and being able to implement something intelligent are not exactly related.

I think I am having a hard time understanding how I should handle user "roles" and user groups.

Joomla comes built in with roles (Manager, Admin, Super Admin) which all do things and require additions permissions. Also I have the user groups, which in my case would be stuff like Contractor, Realestate Agent, Renter, Owner, Board member. These all require different ALCs but on their own they do not actually do things. A board member who is also a manager would be able to do things and have certain ALC.

So I guess I am wondering a few things:
-Should I strip any of the "stock" user groups away, such a publisher?
-How useful is inheritance? For instance, should all my logged in users be children of Registered? If so why doesn't Joomla follow this advice with manager/admin user groups?
-Should I try to combine roles and users? For instance, should Board Manager be a child of Board Member? I think all manager types, Property and Board Members will have the same permissions but not all will have the same ALC.