Can this be done by user login??

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
pambesteder
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Can this be done by user login??

Post by pambesteder » Thu Sep 08, 2016 9:54 pm

I have 10 departments and 10 department leaders

I'm using 1 website and want each of the 10 leaders to be able to login to the front end and create content for THEIR GROUP ONLY to view.

However...I don't want them to have to choose that group when they create the content...I want it to just happen based upon their login.

For instance

Training department head logs in and creates an article to be shown on the first page.
In the article set-up there'[s an option for ACCESS.
Normally, you would just click the drop-down and choose the TRAINING group.

Is it possible for that article to be AUTOMATICALLY assigned to a specific group without the user having to choose it? Sometimes they forget and the entire world sees their content.

if we can make it automatically happen ...that would be great.

Is it possible?

Pam

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Can this be done by user login??

Post by sozzled » Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:08 pm

Short answer to your question is yes, it's possible. It's a fairly straightforward process involving the use of Joomla ACL groups. Can I write a step-by-step procedure manual for you and post it here in the forum? Sorry, but I don't really have the luxury of that much time on my hands. I can, on the other hand, provide one-on-one tuition via a video link.

I'm sure, however, that one of the experts can point you to where there may be a "step-by-step" instruction guide. Good luck. 8)

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master