Update of module not displayed

For Joomla! 3.x Coding related discussions, you could also use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general

Moderators: ooffick, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Locked
alve89
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:45 pm

Update of module not displayed

Post by alve89 » Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:46 pm

Hi all!

I just wrote a simple module (version 1.0.0) and added an update server in the XML file. Then I created the update_module.xml on my update server, made a copy of my module (onto the update server) and changed its version to 1.0.1.
After installing version 1.0.0 I don't get an available update displayed, even not after clicking "Search for updates" within the extension manager. But I see the correct path to my update_module.xml file, so actually it should work.

I attached three files:
- the installed module (mod-...-JOOMLA.zip)
- update_mod-...-UPDATE.xml.txt (I needed to add .txt in order to be able to upload the file)
- the new version of the module (mod-...-UPDATE.zip)


Could please anyone tell me what I miss?! :(


Thanks so much in advance!

Regards
Stefan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by imanickam on Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum Extensions for Joomla! 3.x to the forum Joomla! 3.x Coding

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28202
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Update of module not displayed

Post by imanickam » Sun Jul 24, 2016 5:43 am

Reviewed the files. The issue is in the version (i.e. 3.1) specified in the following tag:

Code: Select all

<targetplatform name="joomla" version="3.1"/>
Change it to 3.* as shown below:

Code: Select all

<targetplatform name="joomla" version="3.*"/>
If you want this extension is valid for the Joomla! versions 3.6 and above, change it as shown below:

Code: Select all

<targetplatform name="joomla" version="3.[56789]"/>
Review of the document https://issues.joomla.org/tracker/joomla-cms/5546 in the Jooma! Developers Network would be of help in understanding issue.

I changed the version of Joomla! to 3.1.0 and the update appeared and could install the v1.0.1 of the extension successfully.

Note:
Observed that the version mentioned in the following tag is mentioned as 3.1.0

Code: Select all

<extension type="module" version="3.1.0" client="site" method="upgrade">
Suggest changing the version to the just the major and minor version of Joomla! for which the extension has been made. Example: 3.5 (NOT as 3.5.0)
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

alve89
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:45 pm

Re: Update of module not displayed

Post by alve89 » Sun Jul 24, 2016 11:25 am

Great, that worked for me, thank you!

Was it possible that you check these two .xml files as well? Because the update of this component isn't displayed, too. >:(

Components XML:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<extension type="component" version="3.5" method="upgrade">
 
	<name>Soapbox</name>
	<!-- The following elements are optional and free of formatting constraints -->
	<creationDate>July 2016</creationDate>
	<author>Stefan Herzog</author>
	<authorEmail>[email protected]</authorEmail>
	<authorUrl>http://joomla.apps.stefan-herzog.com</authorUrl>
	<copyright>Copyright Info</copyright>
	<license>License Info</license>
	<!--  The version string is recorded in the components table -->
	<version>1.0.0</version>
	<!-- The description is optional and defaults to the name -->
	<description>Diese Komponente ermöglicht die Verwaltung von Seifenkistenrennen. Es können Teams, Zeiten, etc. eingetragen werden.</description>
 
 	<install> <!-- Runs on install -->
		<sql>
			<file driver="mysql" charset="utf8">sql/install.mysql.utf8.sql</file>
		</sql>
	</install>
	<uninstall> <!-- Runs on uninstall -->
		<sql>
			<file driver="mysql" charset="utf8">sql/uninstall.mysql.utf8.sql</file>
		</sql>
	</uninstall>
 
	<update> <!-- Runs on update; New since J2.5 -->
		<schemas>
			<schemapath type="mysql">sql/updates/mysql</schemapath>
		</schemas>
	</update>
 
	<!-- Site Main File Copy Section -->
	<!-- Note the folder attribute: This attribute describes the folder
		to copy FROM in the package to install therefore files copied
		in this section are copied from /site/ in the package -->
	<files folder="site">
		<filename>index.html</filename>
		<filename>soapbox.php</filename>
		<filename>controller.php</filename>
		<folder>views</folder>
		<folder>models</folder>
	</files>
 
	<administration>
		<!-- Administration Menu Section -->
		<menu link='index.php?option=com_soapbox'>SOAPBOX</menu>
		<!-- Administration Main File Copy Section -->
		<!-- Note the folder attribute: This attribute describes the folder
			to copy FROM in the package to install therefore files copied
			in this section are copied from /admin/ in the package -->
		<files folder="admin">
			<!-- Admin Main File Copy Section -->
			<filename>index.html</filename>
			<filename>soapbox.php</filename>
			<!-- SQL files section -->
			<folder>sql</folder>
			<!-- tables files section -->
			<folder>tables</folder>
			<!-- models files section -->
			<folder>models</folder>
		</files>
	</administration>
 	<updateservers>
		<server type="extension" priority="1" name="Soapbox">http://joomla.apps.stefan-herzog.com/update_com_soapbox.xml</server>
	</updateservers>
</extension>

Update XML:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<updates>
	<update>
		<name>Soapbox</name>
		<description>Version 1.0.1</description>
		<element>com_soapbox</element>
		<type>component</type>
		<version>1.0.1</version>
		<downloads>
			<downloadurl type="full" format="zip">http://joomla.apps.stefan-herzog.com/com_soapbox_002.zip</downloadurl>
		</downloads>
		<tags>stable</tags>
		<maintainer>Joomla</maintainer>
		<maintainerurl>http://joomla.apps.stefan-herzog.com</maintainerurl>
		<targetplatform name="joomla" version="3.[56789]"/>
		<client>site</client>
	</update>
</updates>


Thank you!

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28202
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Update of module not displayed

Post by imanickam » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:41 am

Reviewed the files and it looks like the issue is the value specified in the following tag defined in the update xml file:

Code: Select all

<client>site</client>
If you change the value to 1 the problem should be resolved.

Code: Select all

<client>1</client>
The reason being, component's belong to Admin - NOT Site.

Review of the document https://docs.joomla.org/Deploying_an_Update_Server would be of help; especially, the following quotes.
client - Required for modules and templates as of 3.2.0. - The client ID of the extension, which can be found by looking inside the #__extensions table. To date, use 0 for "site" and 1 for "administrator". Plugins and front-end modules are automatically installed with a client of 0 (site), but you will need to specify the client in an update or it will default to 1 (administrator) and then found update would not be shown because it would not match any extension. Components are automatically installed with a client of 1, which is currently the default.
The values of element, type, client_id and folder should match those in the table #__extensions.
Note: I have tested this by setting the value client id to 0 (for your component com_soapbox) in the table _extensions and matched the element, type, & client and the update showed. The file specified in the update xml file has been downloaded and the version changed as 1.0.0 for this test.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

alve89
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:45 pm

Re: Update of module not displayed

Post by alve89 » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:58 am

Oh man, you're awesome! I thank you so much!


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 3.x Coding”