Lack of print button: problems with tabs

General questions relating to Joomla! 4.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Toffi2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Lack of print button: problems with tabs

Post by Toffi2 » Tue Apr 02, 2024 10:21 pm

I am running a large information site. It transpires that our subscribers were lovers of the Print button. Since migrating to Joomla 4 we are now fielding at least one request a day for a Print button and getting a lot of complaints that our newly given suggestion of just highlighting text and printing does not work. The reason why that suggestion fails is that we use a lot of Tabs as our articles can be long. Our users now have to move to each tab to print off the text as Ctl Pr just prints off the whole image in the browser, menus, banners and all.
Our users are clearly sharing and filing away our articles. I can see why they want to do that. They want to preserve what they see on a page as a snap shot in time. This is vital to the way that they work, they might need to rely on that as evidence in say 4 to 6 year's time.
I would be most grateful for any suggestions as how to remedy this issue, aside from losing the tabs that is!

zzz412
I've been banned!

Re: Lack of print button: problems with tabs

Post by zzz412 » Tue Apr 02, 2024 10:38 pm

There is no "print" button in Joomla 4. This is because people use the print function included in the browser. If it is "vital" for you to have a "print" button in your Joomla website, use Joomla 3.

Another alternative is to convert your articles into PDF format. There are extensions that can do this (I think).

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master