no ‘required password reset’

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 4.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Thomsterdam
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

no ‘required password reset’

Post by Thomsterdam » Mon Jan 08, 2024 2:29 pm

This is about adding a new user to the site by the Super User.
Joomla is sending my new user his/her login details, when I add a new user to the website. In the User Settings I put the field ‘Require Password Reset’ to YES.
I expect the user to be confronted with the obligatory password reset, but... the user is able to log in with the password I have sent, and is not asked to reset the password.

Am I missing something?

FYI: Joomla 4.3.3. website, converted from Joomla 3
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day;
teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: no ‘required password reset’

Post by AMurray » Mon Jan 08, 2024 9:51 pm

First update to the latest Joomla 4 - 4.4.1 then see if you have the same issue. You're using a version that's 18 months out of date. (4.3.3 was released July 2023).

Joomla Update should show you the latest version (4.4.1), and for the migration 3.10.to 4 should have shown you 4.4.1, not 4.3.3

If you need to update to 4.4.1 via the Upload and Update method, you can find the packages here:
https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla4

As far as I know, Joomla never sends the actual password to the user. Normally you would use the password reset function (link located under the log-in form).