Joomla cannot communicate with the file during update Topic is solved

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 4.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
maestroc
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joomla cannot communicate with the file during update

Post by maestroc » Sat Jun 17, 2023 1:46 am

There are several posts on the forum about this error but I cannot find one that has been able to help me as yet.

I upgraded a site in a test environment to 4.3.1 with no problems. Site runs fine. Transferred it over to the live domain running on the client's VPS server. Regular extension updates run fine, but when I try to run Joomla update I receive the error of:
Joomla cannot communicate with the file administrator/components/com_joomlaupdate/extract.php which performs the update. This typically happens because of one of the following reasons:

A server configuration file in your site's root, such as .htaccess or web.config, prevents access to this file.
Your server configuration prevents access to this file.
The ownership and permissions of this file do not allow your server to access this file.
Your site is behind a load balancer or CDN but its configuration does not allow access to this file or blocks sending commands to it.
Even though the file can be accessed, sending commands to it is blocked by your server's protection such as mod_security2.
I have thus far checked all of the items:

Tried it with and without the htaccess. We are using the default joomla 4 htaccess file. Didn't help.

Not sure on the server configuration thing but I can see that file in the cpanel file manager and it is set to 644 permissions.