Migrating to Joomla 4 for the inexperienced

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 4.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ashoka232
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Migrating to Joomla 4 for the inexperienced

Post by ashoka232 » Thu Mar 21, 2024 6:05 am

Hello everyone,

I manage the websites at my workplace, 5 in total (high-traffic restaurant websites). I inherited these from the person who was in my position prior so I didn't create them and my experience is very basic (changing photos/text/installing some extensions and etc).

I tried to migrate the least popular website last week (Joomla 3.10.11 > 4). I followed the most 'in-depth guide' I could understand, disabled extensions that were likely to cause issues except one; T3 Framework (when I disabled this, the website basically disappeared).

Crossing my fingers, I updated and the website disappeared with this error: call to undefined method joomla\cms\application\siteapplication::isadmin() and the backend was a mess. I managed to restore it via a backup which was another stressful learning curve for me.

This was all quite traumatic for me, I can't risk the other websites going down due to high restaurant booking traffic. I basically don't know what to do, I can see support ends for Joomla 3 in August. Does this mean my websites will go down if I don't migrate in time?

Any advice is really appreciated!

gws
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Re: Migrating to Joomla 4 for the inexperienced

Post by gws » Thu Mar 21, 2024 8:28 am

See viewtopic.php?f=812&t=988201
Are you using akeeba backup on your sites? If not make yourself aware of this it will make your life easier.

toivo