The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:59 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:05 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

I am trying to change the favicon and I am using the Milky Way template, but nothing seems to work.

I have tried:
- placing my favicon.ico in the root public_html folder
- placing it the images folder
- placing it the templates folder
- I have left it for 2 days to see if it might be cache problem as Refreshing the cache does not solve the problem
- Downloaded Firefox

if I browse to the site, my new favicon appears for a brief moment then it diverts back to the Joomla icon ... if I browse to my site http://www.***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****.com/favicon.ico it shows my icon, going to http://www.***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****.com/templates/rhuk ... avicon.ico it also shows my icon.

I am at a lost! please help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:14 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:26 am
Posts: 64
Location: Brazil
I have exacly the same problem. My icon appear for few seconds and then the joomla icon put it on the back.  >:(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:31 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:26 am
Posts: 64
Location: Brazil
Hi Zara-zee. My problem is solved with dego 007 instruction: erasing the favicon and put my one (just replacing it do not work). Need to clear the cache too. Thank you, but in the IE the icon that appear is that "E" from microsoft.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:59 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:05 am
Posts: 2
I have removed the favicon out of the public_html folder, as well as the images folder and the template folder .....
now;
I can see the IE icon when going to certain pages, but my homepage still has the Joomla icon. ......... what else can I try?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 6:09 pm
Posts: 43
Zara-zee wrote:
I have removed the favicon out of the public_html folder, as well as the images folder and the template folder .....
now;
I can see the IE icon when going to certain pages, but my homepage still has the Joomla icon. ......... what else can I try?



Did you try this with another template?

_________________
I love Joomla! I love Joomlians!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:54 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 4:23 am
Posts: 91
Did you go under Media Manager and place the favicon.ico there? If you upload the new image into the folder "image" you should  see a favicon.ico there just replace it with your's and it should work. You need to do this all with your ftp software and upload the image there. I hope this helps you out?

_________________
Go forwards and not backwards
http://www.moneyhelpsout.com
http://www.bamdingo.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:03 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Ontario, Canada
There is no such folder under Media in my J! 1.5 site. Most weird. Can't find favicon.ico anywhere. :(

sirknight115 wrote:
Did you go under Media Manager and place the favicon.ico there? If you upload the new image into the folder "image" you should  see a favicon.ico there just replace it with your's and it should work. You need to do this all with your ftp software and upload the image there. I hope this helps you out?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:03 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Tomelilla
It's under the templete folder like this

templates\rhuk_milkyway\favicon.ico

hope this helps


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 3:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:14 pm
Posts: 13
It's not in your images folder but in \templates\rhuk_milkyway and is called favicon.ico. Make sure you save a bitmap and rename the file extension to from .bmp to .ico.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:39 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:56 am
Posts: 3
wilmy wrote:
It's not in your images folder but in \templates\rhuk_milkyway and is called favicon.ico. Make sure you save a bitmap and rename the file extension to from .bmp to .ico.


i adi put my own created favicon.ico in the path \templates\rhuk_milkyway ...however, i am still seeing joomla favicon. Any advide?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:02 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:23 am
Posts: 10
Location: Romania
Sorry for my late answer.
For sure the cache of you browser is responsible for that. All you have to do is to clean it.

All my best!

_________________
The dream of my life: http://www.amz.ro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 8:14 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 8:55 am
Posts: 1
I also screwed this up. I was using a 32x32 icon. Also consider this, is an icon an icon or does it have to be a certain size and/or color palette icon. So I went back and created a multi resolution icon that covers all windows platforms (sorry mac). Then cleared the browser cache after coming back here and reading this thread again.
Now the new and improved icon is uploaded to the proper directory and works like a charm. I just can't say enough about this forum and the support offered. :)


Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:04 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:22 pm
Posts: 35
Using Joomla 1.5, there is no default favicon.ico in /images, and looking for one, there is one for each of my templates.

Given that I want to eventually use multiples templates for my (sizeable) site, does this mean I need to replace all of those .ico files with my own? or can I merely delete them and Joomla will default to looking in the /images folder?

~ross


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:39 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:32 pm
Posts: 6
You need to replace all of those favicon.ico files for each template folder. After you do that you can clear the caché so you can see your site's favicon.

For all of you, i've just find this page http://www.favicon.cc/ to make your own favicons without troubles. I was wasting my time with photoshop, and changing file extensions, etc. But in this page i just made a favicon really fast, and with the whole characteristics you need. The only thing you should do is to fill up every square of the grid with the color you choose, or upload a base image.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:33 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:14 pm
Posts: 6
I noticed that after changing the favicon in current template, the browser still showed the old one from cache. Refreshing didn't help so I wrote the direct address to the favicon to the address bar of my browser, for example
Code:
http://yourjoomlalocation/templates/current_template/favicon.ico
With this address, the browser of course showed the correct favicon image. After this trick, the old favicon did not appear anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:18 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:32 am
Posts: 39
place your favicon.ico in the default template root folder


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:38 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:38 pm
Posts: 11
waterboy_ wrote:
I noticed that after changing the favicon in current template, the browser still showed the old one from cache. Refreshing didn't help so I wrote the direct address to the favicon to the address bar of my browser, for example
Code:
http://yourjoomlalocation/templates/current_template/favicon.ico
With this address, the browser of course showed the correct favicon image. After this trick, the old favicon did not appear anymore.


Thank you.

Nothing else posted in this thread worked for me until your suggestion.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 2:06 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:09 am
Posts: 10
Hello,

I still can't get my favicon to show when using IE... it works fine under mozilla.

Any other suggestions?

I'm using Rhuk_milkyway also.

Joomla 1.5.8

Thanks,

Robin

_________________
Making Your Words and Stories Profitable!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:52 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:42 am
Posts: 1
Hi guys!
I'm new in here
I just register to become a member in order to post comment in this forum.
All i want to say is Thanks!!!
I've been trying to change my favicon file for 2 days now and i begin to feel frustrated.
Then i got an idea to log to joomla forum to see anyone got problem same as i did.
I can hardly solve this problem if i haven't enter this forum. Thanks guy! Thanks!!!!!! much release


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:58 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 1:05 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Clearing browser's cache doesn't help: neither in Firefox, nor in Google Chrome.

All you need to do is to open location of your favicon directly as suggested before: your-joomla-site/templates/default-template-name/favicon.ico

After doing this you should see old favicon. Simply reload the page and you'll see the new one. Then go back and everything will work fine.

The same should be done with administrator's side. Open location of
your-joomla-site/administrator/templates/khepri/favicon.ico and reload the page.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:09 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:07 pm
Posts: 7
adapter wrote:
It's under the templete folder like this

templates\rhuk_milkyway\favicon.ico

hope this helps

That was the perfect solution for me, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:04 pm
Posts: 49
Or you can delete all the favicons in your template folders and put your favicon in your main root folder of joomla (the same goes for the administrator area: delete the favicon from your administrator/templates/khepri and put it in your administraotr folder.)

Hope it workes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:49 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:45 am
Posts: 2
Location: Shanghai, China
try this:

insert following code into index.php file of your template:

<link rel="shortcut icon" href="images/favicon.ico" />

after <head> and </head>

this should work.

_________________
-
Joomla Development and Design Company in China.

http://www.projoomlasolution.com

-


Last edited by GrahamSys LLC on Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:22 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:18 am
Posts: 1869
After you replace favicon.ico to yourfavicon.ico restart your browser, its simply way to do.
Location : public_html/joomla/yourfavicon.ico
Just that Don't do anything else.

_________________
coffee & smoke just fine

OOm Nezar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:36 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:45 am
Posts: 2
Location: Shanghai, China
Well, generally speaking, replacing the original Joomla! favicon can solve most of the problem except the IE6.

The ultimate way is to add the compulsive code to the index.php of your template

<link rel="shortcut icon" href="images/favicon.ico" />

after <head> and </head>

and put the favicon.ico file to the media manager root folder.

this should work.

_________________
-
Joomla Development and Design Company in China.

http://www.projoomlasolution.com

-


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:10 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:04 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Spain
I upgraded 1.5.9 to 1.5.14 and it changed both logo and favicon. I could change logo with no problem, however, i get strange behaviors when trying to change favicon:

I delete original (joomla) favicon.ico, then upload a new favicon.png. I check to see if its the right icon. I then rename to favicon.ico and then somehow it reverts back to the orginal joomla favicon that i just deleted!!!! When I check in my filemanager and view the icon, it is the original joomla icon instead of the icon i just uploaded seconds before and which looked fine as .png????

What am I missing?

UPDATE:

For reasons unknown, the new favicon is now showing correctly, even though it is not showing in my filemanager! So I suppose that my issue is now solved.

_________________
Chaos and disorder? Yep, I have finished my work!!
http://eyestyle.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:58 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:55 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Mumbai
Hey Guys i did it...
Just Create a Favicon for your site, and upload it in your template folder that's it.. it is done :) For eg.
http://www.mysite.com//templates/beez/favicon.ico

Hurray !!.. If you want to see the preview of your favicon & if you r using Mozilla thn just clear n cache n hav a look. it takes just a second.

How to clear cache:
Go to Tools Menu--> Clear Private Data-->
Now here there are many options like Browsing history , saved form cache etc..
See to it than all are unchecked, only cache has to be checked and than click on clear private data...
Finish :).
Any queries ask me.. buh bye
This is my site link.. http://www.munjokutch.com//templates/th ... avicon.ico


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:46 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 1:05 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Clearing cash doesn't help, as I mentioned before: viewtopic.php?p=1728328#p1728328.

The reason why your icon was OK was that you accessed it directly by URL


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:28 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:07 am
Posts: 1
Hey guys, I thought I'd post here rather than open a new thread as its just a variation of your problem. I have favicon change in both the root folder and template folder and my favicon shows in the tab and in the address bar no problem however when I try to bookmark a page in either the bookmark menu or the toolbar it shows up as the joomla favicon. has anybody got any idea's on why this is?

I've definitely changed the favicon in the root and the templates folder so the joomla one isn't in either and I've cleared the cache several times as well as restarting the browser [mozilla] but to no avail. What's baffling me is that my favicon shows up in the tab & address bar no problem. Is there maybe somewhere else where the joomla favicon is stored?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Edit: My problem seems to have corrected itself so the cache must not have been cleared! [even though I definitely did!!!]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:20 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:51 am
Posts: 14
Regarding to the suggestion about:
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="images/favicon.ico" /> after <head> and </head> ...

I had to put it like this:
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="<?php echo $this->baseurl ?>/templates/beez/favicon.ico" />

Between <head> and </head>. Perhaps it helps somebody.

Regards,
Peter.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group