The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:24 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:19 am
Posts: 57
Location: U.S.A
Hi all,

I have activated the plugin but can't understand how it works.  I know it is supposed to Highlight the code inside of an article but I do have code alot of my articles but nothing is getting highlighted.

Do i need to encapsulate the code with something? Can you tell me what i'm doing wrong?

Thanks  ???

_________________
http://www.PeopleSoftGeeks.com

Life can only be understood backwards but it must be lived forwards.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:35 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
Did you try enclosing your code in
code goes here
statements?

I *think* that is how it works.
Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:47 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:19 am
Posts: 57
Location: U.S.A
AmyStephen wrote:
Did you try enclosing your code in
code goes here
statements?

I *think* that is how it works.
Amy :)


I have done that, but no colors though! - does it recognize some languages and not others?

_________________
http://www.PeopleSoftGeeks.com

Life can only be understood backwards but it must be lived forwards.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:05 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:01 pm
Posts: 29
Try this if you have installed de ruby lang for GeSHi, else try changing to your lang.

puts "Hello World!"


Sorry my bad english.

_________________
http://tengu.dnsdojo.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:06 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
real_tengu -

That's a nice blog you wrote on using GeSHi in Joomla!. Very helpful! Thanks!

Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:21 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:10 pm
Posts: 341
The following post lists a few different language commands for GeSHi,
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg271080

That should provide the examples necessary for determining how to get correct highlighting for any language you are using.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:36 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
Still not clear for me how to use it....

With which editor should I do it? Can I do it with TinyMCE 2.0?

Can someone please give more details?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:44 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:01 pm
Posts: 29
You must be desactivate all WYSIWYG Editors and do it in plain text, like a big boy :D

_________________
http://tengu.dnsdojo.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:59 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
But if I deactivate TinyMCE 2.0 I get this error when I access an article:

Warning: Attempt to assign property of non-object in C:\Archivos de programa\xampp\htdocs\xampp\Joomla1.5\libraries\joomla\html\editor.php on line 303

Fatal error: Call to a member function get() on a non-object in C:\Archivos de programa\xampp\htdocs\xampp\Joomla1.5\plugins\editors\tinymce.php on line 58

What editor should I have on? Can you please give more details?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:09 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:01 pm
Posts: 29
Edit your user, the parameter "User Editor" must be "Editor - No editor" or something similar to this, I have Joomla! in spanish and I think that in English y similar to this.

_________________
http://tengu.dnsdojo.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:13 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
OK, I have no editor now, how to use geshi? Can you give me an example?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:01 pm
Posts: 29
An spanish example here:

http://tengu.dnsdojo.org/component/cont ... 201.5.html

This is the most important

Code:
<pre xml:lang="ruby">puts "Hello World!"</pre>


ruby is the language you whis, attention whit de xml:lang, before was lang only

_________________
http://tengu.dnsdojo.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:51 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
It worked with

<pre xml:lang="php">puts "Hello World!"</pre>

because ruby does not come by default installed.

How to have the same highlight we have here in the forum?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:03 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
Code:
I mean can we write like that with Geshi?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 5:19 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
Can't we use Geshi with TinyMCE?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:16 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Posts: 20
It doesn't highlite the text for me. There are no colors.

_________________
http://www.mongit.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:22 am
Posts: 19
I am having this same issue. I have it activated GeSHI but it is not highlighting anything. When I had 1.5, it worked. But in the new version 2.X, it's not highlighting anything. I thought it used to work with the editor on. I use the code window a lot but it is easier to catch spelling errors with the editor. This forum also works with the editor since I used it to type this message.

_________________
http://sportsmedinfo.net • Articles and product reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:22 am
Posts: 19
Anyone? No one else having this issue? Is there a third party program? I could do google highlighter but it only works for google.

_________________
http://sportsmedinfo.net • Articles and product reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:01 pm
Posts: 29
In your font code of your articles change all this labels:
Code:
<pre lang="ruby">puts "Hello World!"</pre>

To:
Code:
<pre xml:lang="ruby">puts "Hello World!"</pre>

The lang attribute change to xml:lang

This is all you need to do.

Sorry my bad english.

_________________
http://tengu.dnsdojo.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:42 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:22 am
Posts: 19
Thanks. I'll give that a try.

_________________
http://sportsmedinfo.net • Articles and product reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:56 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:22 am
Posts: 19
Where exactly do I go? I searched the files and the code isn't in the host. So are they in the admin window? Sorry to be stupid.

_________________
http://sportsmedinfo.net • Articles and product reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:40 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
webgal, you have to open html code to add that.

Anyone knows how to change the background color of geshi code?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:18 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:22 am
Posts: 19
What I'm looking for is what file is that code found in.

For example, is it rhuk_milkyway/html/modules.php. I know it's not in that file. But I don't know which file that code is in.

_________________
http://sportsmedinfo.net • Articles and product reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:41 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 118
This is not in a file. You should create a new article, and while editing the article you have a button to edit the article in html mode. It is a button close to the bold, italic and all these buttons in the tinyMCE editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:22 am
Posts: 19
OK. That is more clear. I use the html window most of the time. I assume this is something I add to all the articles if I want the geshi.

I forgot to say thank you. So thank you. Off to give it a go.

_________________
http://sportsmedinfo.net • Articles and product reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group