The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:59 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:53 pm
Posts: 1
Hello,

I just inherited our team website, I never heard of Joomla. the person who set it up lost the Admin User Name and Password.

I load the administrator site YOU Would think there is a button reset password or email password. Nothing.

How do you use this Joomla Admin,

Thanks for your help >:(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:07 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:33 pm
Posts: 58
There is no way within Joomla to recover the Super Administrator password. You need to reset the password in the MySQL database. Find the user that you want to change the password for and update it to the MD5 hash of the password that you want.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:40 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
SpencerDavis wrote:
There is no way within Joomla to recover the Super Administrator password.

I think there is an easy way to recover the admin password:
You don't need to go to the backend, simply go to the frontend and use the "forget password" button. You need to know the email that was entered when the admin was created of course. And you need to be able to access it of course ;)
Otherwise you are back to the MySQL solution


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:14 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 9
I reset my Joomla password through the MySQL Database per the instructions in this thread. When I go to my site now, there's a Joomla logo with a message that the site is temporarily unavailable. How can I correct this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:21 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
Create a valid J password:
Code:
<?php
   /*
   Takes two parameters (password + salt) and creates a J1.5 compatible password
   entry for it.
   call with: ""scriptname.php?password=yourpassword&salt=whateveryoulike
   output is a string you can paste into the password field of #_users
   license: are you kidding? Do what you like with it, just don't start whining if it
   does not work
   */
   $plain_password = '';
   if (($plain_password = $_GET['password']) == '') die("Specify password!");
   $plain_salt = '';
   if (($plain_salt = $_GET['salt']) == '') die("Specify salt!");
   $md5_salt = md5($plain_salt);
   $md5_password = md5($plain_password . $md5_salt);
   echo $md5_password . ":" . $md5_salt;
?>
[/quote]
Copy into any text file, save as makepassword.php, upload to a webserver and execute.

[quote]
I reset my Joomla password through the MySQL Database per the instructions in this thread
[/quote]
go into the root of your website, find configuration.php and look for:
[code]
var $offline = '1';

change to '0'
Though you should be able to log in into the backend! goto your domain and append /administrator/index.php. Now you should be in the backend and can change offline mode there - together with all other stuff


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:01 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 9
So I should paste this code into the configuration.php file in my www directory, correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 4:28 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
No, wrong.
Make a .php file from it (makepassword.php) if you need to create J! 1.5 passwords without using J!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:46 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 2:45 am
Posts: 9
Please bear with me...I'm new at this and I apologize.

I have created the php file. Would you please look at the following code and tell me where my mistakes are? Also, how do I make this file executable?

Thanks so much for your help.

Code:
<?php
/*
Takes two parameters (password + salt) and creates a J1.5 compatible password
entry for it.
call with: ""scriptname.php?password=yourpassword&salt=whateveryoulike
output is a string you can paste into the password field of #_users
license: are you kidding? Do what you like with it, just don't start whining if it
does not work
*/
$plain_password = '0';
if (($plain_password = $_GET['password']) == '') die("Specify password!");
$plain_salt = '0';
if (($plain_salt = $_GET['salt']) == '') die("Specify salt!");
$md5_salt = md5($plain_salt);
$md5_password = md5($plain_password . $md5_salt);
echo $md5_password . ":" . $md5_salt;
?>
[/quote]
var $offline = '0';




Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 7:28 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:03 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Leicestershire
Hi,
This issue has been addressed in another thread => http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=10985. If you have access to the database, this method is simple & works - I had to do it myself today.

Eddie

_________________
www.freshwebservices.com Web Design Leicestershire


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 10:50 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
It is certainly not necessary to run an external program or even install such to the Web server there are far easier and safer routes to take.

viewtopic.php?f=431&t=295550#p1308601

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:40 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:30 pm
Posts: 2
Location: USA
This well written tutorial will get you in:
http://blog.mcdermotts.org.uk/2007/10/t ... in-joomla/


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:34 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:36 pm
Posts: 1
Well I don't all this SQL and PHP - I looked up in Firefox, Tools/Options/security
and saved passwords -
This was for Local - have not gone further YET


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 9:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:23 pm
Posts: 100
Stringkiller wrote:
Well I don't all this SQL and PHP - I looked up in Firefox, Tools/Options/security
and saved passwords -
This was for Local - have not gone further YET


The reason why it's not easy to change the admin password is obvious. You want as secure a website as you can have. The SQL table reset is easily done IF you know the control panel username and password. If you don't, then you'll need to contact someone who has that access to reset the Joomla User record. If you have difficulty with the MD5 hash creation, just go to one of the online services to make one such as http://www.xs4all.nl/~jlpoutre/BoT/Java ... shing.html. Remember, it does create the opportunity for someone to gain access to your password but if they don't know the username or website, it's useless to them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:34 am
Posts: 13
i am facing a problem..
in my joomla website when a user requests to recover password and he enters
the valid e-mail id... the mail is not actually been sent...
how to over come this..
please help me out


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:21 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:57 pm
Posts: 8
When I set up Joomla I removed the login module. Is there a way to get to the "retrieve lost password" form?

I tired www.website.com/login and that does not work for instance.

_________________
http://www.leathercornersuite.org.uk
http://www.leathercornersofa.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:20 am
Posts: 1241
Location: Londrina - PR - Brazil
PietruS wrote:
When I set up Joomla I removed the login module. Is there a way to get to the "retrieve lost password" form?

I tired http://www.website.com/login and that does not work for instance.

Try http://www.website.com/index.php/component/user/reset.html ( w/ SEO Settings)

or

http://www.website.com/index.php?option=com_user&view=reset (without SEO Settings)

:)

_________________
♦ Homines libenter quod volunt credunt. ♦
http://www.iikozen.com.br
OpenTranslators Volunteer -> http://www.opentranslators.org


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 67 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group