The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 9:23 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:18 am
Posts: 559
Location: Denmark
The title prity much says it all...
It would be great to again be able to view all module positions in the template instead of only the once where something is located and published. The old way from Joomla 1.0.x was great! I am not sure what this feature was degrated...

_________________
http://www.toolmaster.dk - Danish Joomla Services!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:26 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Posts: 3742
Location: NRW - Germany
already fixed in 1.5.2

_________________
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:33 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 88
Hackwar wrote:
already fixed in 1.5.2


In version one I could go to your Administration Panel, Site -> Template Manager -> Module Positions. Add your template positions and hit the Save button. Are you saying we can do this in 1.5.2 now? I dont see where? Can you tell us?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Posts: 3742
Location: NRW - Germany
I was referring to the tp=1 thing. The module positions are either defined in the templates XML file or you can just type it into the box in the module manager.

_________________
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:13 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks for reply...

:( I was however looking for an easy way to do what I wanted like in version 1. There is probably a reason why it was removed but from my side it seems like a downgrade of something that was working fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:05 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Posts: 3742
Location: NRW - Germany
What is your problem? You just type in the module position that you want to use. Its even simpler than in 1.0.

_________________
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:29 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 88
Hackwar wrote:
What is your problem?


A tutorial with pictures. I honestly don't grasp what your saying. This is not my native environement. It may be simpler than 1.0, but its different and until I actually SEE it I may not get the gist of it. Its not something I did a lot of in 1.0 to begin with.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Posts: 3742
Location: NRW - Germany
Go into the module manager, edit the module which you want to change. Click into the field named "Position" and type in the name of the position that you want. Click save and be happy. Its as easy as that.

_________________
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:30 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks, Ill go try that and do some work on my dev test site.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 1:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:37 am
Posts: 2608
Location: Forrest Australia
I understand what you are saying and I agree.

In Joomla! 1.0 you could go into Site > Preview > In line with Positions.

This showed you a nice Graphical way of SEEING where all the module positions are. Until I just found this shortcut I couldn't see how to do this in 1.5. I fail to understand why this was removed from 1.5 I used to print this out for clients and get them to decide on a piece of paper where content would go.

Cheers

_________________
Step1. Read the instructions. Step2. Refer to step 1. Step 3. Backup
Can't find the answers you need?
Joomla Video Tutorials ~>
http://www.teachingjoomla.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 2:22 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:18 am
Posts: 559
Location: Denmark
This problem has been fixed in version Joomla 1.5.2.

_________________
http://www.toolmaster.dk - Danish Joomla Services!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:32 am
Posts: 36
Can some provide detailed instructions as to how to view the module position map in joomla 1.53 ?

Thanks

SK


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:08 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:18 am
Posts: 559
Location: Denmark
You do it the same way as i 1.0.x series. You add tp=1 as a parameter in the URL:
Code:
www.yoursite.com/index.php?tp=1

_________________
http://www.toolmaster.dk - Danish Joomla Services!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:02 am
Posts: 491
Location: Brazil
The position in joomla 1.5.3 depend on template. Inside of xml from the template are set the positions.
You can see it, follow:
Extensions>Template Manager
Choose the template
And Preview (top button)

_________________
Jorge Muneo Nakagawa | http://www.twitter.com/muneo | http://www.fb.com/muneo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:10 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:36 pm
Posts: 4
Ive just installed a new joomla 1.7 site and wanted to view the module positions.
Ive tried ?tp=1 but it doesn't seem to work. Any idea why? Is there another way to view the module positions in 1.7 that I haven't discovered yet?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:52 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:36 pm
Posts: 4
Hi folks
With a bit more searching Ive managed to answer my own question - there is info in the docs sites at

http://docs.joomla.org/Finding_module_p ... given_page

Basically need to "enable" Preview Module Positions under the Templates options settings to allow ?tp=1 to work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 2:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:08 am
Posts: 4
Location: sydney .au
excellent, thanks Mikee. enabling the preview worked for me in 1.7.0


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group