The Joomla! Forum ™





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 559 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 6:40 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
hi all,
sorry for the long absence.
Couldn't edit original post unfortunately....
Anyway:
3 march 2008
little PM notification box bug fixed.
You've probably never noticed that if you are using a popup blocker ;)


@PlayGod & bluecubbies4me,
shouldn't be that hard to hack the files, but anyway the pre-hacked files for 2.0.23 are available

@daverj
Quote:
Do you know how I can change that default behaviour? Since they don't register through phpBB, but instead register through Joomla, and the bridge is then creating the new phpBB user account, where would I change that default behavior? There are no similar settings in Joomla that are being copied, so it must be something in phpBB.

The bridge doesn't set these settings for each created users.
Try to edit structure of the phpbb_users table, with the help of phpmyadmin.
There's two columns in that table called user_viewemail & user_notify.
Change their default value to 0 (again, while browsing structure with phpmyadmin).
See if that fixes your problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:37 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:17 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks Mehdi for the update!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 12:39 am
Posts: 13
Quote:
Try to edit structure of the phpbb_users table, with the help of phpmyadmin.
There's two columns in that table called user_viewemail & user_notify.
Change their default value to 0 (again, while browsing structure with phpmyadmin).


Worked like a charm! Thank you.

And thank you for such great bridges (I am using the Coppermine one also)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:14 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 12
Hi Mehdi and all other happy users of his bridge!

I decided to give your app a try and had no problems with the installation... I only have a charset question... :-[

I have been using phpbb for a few years and now decided to integrate the forum into the organisations webpage. The thing is, now I guess there is a confusion with the charset tags on the page. For the phpbb i've been using the "windows-1250" charset, but since my webpage uses the "utf-8" the forums don't show the local characters right (i've changed the language files to utf).

Is there an option within PhpBB I should change?

You can check the forum at http://www.vesl-klub-ljubljanica.si/forum/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:49 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
hi,
Quote:
For the phpbb i've been using the "windows-1250" charset, but since my webpage uses the "utf-8" the forums don't show the local characters right (i've changed the language files to utf).


great if you already using utf8 for joomla (warning: the bridge is not for Joomla 1.5 !)
Basically you must convert your phpbb install to support utf8 i.e convert language files & database....
You may ask for assistance, in official phpbb forum for this.
You can unbridge before (restore original files),
so that bridge won't interfere when asking for support .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:51 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 12
First I need to thank you for the fast reply.

Second: My Joomla instalation is 1.0.15. The thing is that the posts are showing just right, so I guess there is no need to edit the DB. I tried to change the language files to UTF but everytime I do it there is no visible change.

Okay, thanks. I'll try on the phpBB forums...

:geek:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Orlando
is this just to bridge the databases or will it also allow visual integration? I don't want to use a wrapper because joomla's wrapper is worthless and won't auto resize.

also, where do i download this from?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:50 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
Quote:
is this just to bridge the databases or will it also allow visual integration? I don't want to use a wrapper because joomla's wrapper is worthless and won't auto resize.

This does both visual & database ( or database only, if you prefer).
See extension directory for link.
I advise you experiment with the bridge first in a local install ...(using XAMPP for instance).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:14 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Orlando
do you have an example? I'm extremely interested because I have a joomla site that is going through a renovation currently. We are desperately in need of an integrated forum.

i've found a couple db bridges, but how does integrate visually?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:03 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
Quote:
do you have an example?

search under extension directory (keyword phpbb )
and you'll see for my extension a "demo" link,
which is a forum of a friend.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:38 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 12
scare!

Mehdi's bridge is perfect. You enjoy all phpbb sweets independently of joomla and the look is totally css oriented. you'll just need to edit the template files a bit (extract the css code in a separate file).

kind regards...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:29 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 12
Mehdi!

One more question regarding binding CB and phpbb... In your hacks page you say:
Quote:
Now replace the "edit user profile" link, from the core Joomla:
/index.php?option=com_user&task=UserDetails
by the CB's one:
/index.php?option=com_comprofiler


I am wondering where can I find the "edit user profile" link...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:50 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
Quote:
where can I find the "edit user profile" link...

only for the other bridge, i.e coppermine


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:53 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 9
I have moved my Joomla! and phpBB sites to a new server but for some or other reason the bridging does not work anymore. I can login to Joomla! and when clicking my phpBB link it takes me to phpBB but still just shows me that I need to login. It is as if it does not know I just logged in. I have checked joomphpbb_conf.php to make sure all the settings are correct. What am I missing?

Is there a way to unbridge phpBB so that I can log in without using Joomla! just untill I get everything sorted?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:21 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:43 am
Posts: 9
Got it sorted out!!

Had to change the following: Include www as subdomain in the Joomla! config files, in joomphpbb_conf.php and the following 2 values in the php_config table in the database: cookie_domain and server_domain


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:20 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 55
Hi Mehdi,

I've had some users report a strange problem on my site. When they register in Joomla, they put in one username and it stays that way in Joomla but a different username is binded to them in phpBB. I am using the phpBB 2.0.xx and Joomla 1.0.xx version of your mod btw. For example, a user registered on Joomla with the username SpaceChick23. However, when she went to the forum, her username shows up as JCAllison and her email address on the forum is different as well. I checked and there's no such user JCAllison in the Joomla or phpBB database; it appears to have been created out of thin air! I tried registering a test account myself and it works fine for me, retaining my entered username when I go to the forum. Any ideas on why this bizarre error is occuring?

Thanks,

Garibaldi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:53 am
Posts: 18
Hi ,

I am having a few problems with this bridge!

I have mad e the file changes etc and uploaded all the bits i need to upload including the joomla component but i am getting this error and i canyt figure it out!

Quote:
Warning: main(joomphpbb_engine.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/sites/salesandmarketingforums.co.uk/public_html/forum/index.php on line 4

Warning: main(joomphpbb_engine.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/sites/salesandmarketingforums.co.uk/public_html/forum/index.php on line 4

Warning: main(joomphpbb_engine.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/sites/salesandmarketingforums.co.uk/public_html/forum/index.php on line 4

Fatal error: main() [function.require]: Failed opening required 'joomphpbb_engine.php' (include_path='.:/usr/share/pear') in /home/sites/salesandmarketingforums.co.uk/public_html/forum/index.php on line 4



I hope you can help

Pete

_________________
:D http://www.mlm-school.com
:D http://www.airsoftforumuk.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:42 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:29 am
Posts: 171
Hi all.

Could really use a little advice here!

Yesterday I installed the bridge (after a day of problems in other areas that I fixed one at a time!)

The bridge seemed to be working fine late yesterday, however today it has become apparent that all is not well.

I have bridged Joomla with phpbb and all LOOKS ok. I have removed the login boxes in phpbb so that all logins/logouts go through Joomla com_login.

HOWEVER.

If I click on com_login and log in, I am redirected to the joomla homepage. If I try to access the forums when logged in it still redirects to the Joomla homepage but with an address of

co.uk/login.php?login=true&sid=9f5302b765e7707ed7cb9aa9460b172e

I can access the forums when NOT logged in fine.

Could any of you shed any light on this? I am on msn messenger if you can can help as sitewonders@hotmail.co.uk

If i have to pay to get this fixed I will, main thing is its urgent!

Many Thanks!

Gary


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:04 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:16 am
Posts: 13
hi mehdi...

thanks for the bridges u made...

but i had problem with joomla upgrade... please help me...

i was use joomla 1.0.12 and phpbb2.023 bridged before...
then i upgrade my joomla site to 1.0.15 version...
after that... my joomphpbb bridge dosn't work normally...
its like the bridging doesnt work...
when i login to my joomla site... i'm not automaticly login to my phpbb forum... looks like my joomphpbb_bridge table not upgraded... so there is no connection between my joomla id n my phpbb id...

but when i was still use the 1.0.12 version it works well...

in 1.0.15 version
this messages appear...:

Could not insert data into users table

DEBUG MODE

INSERT INTO phpbb_users (user_id, username, user_regdate, user_password, user_email, user_active) VALUES (7, 'kates', 1208416040, '990cdcdd96ce86a9b3bcf3ee58819380:ogsZj9B6wdUEWsKH', 'kates@yahoo.com', 1 )

Line : 354
File : joomphpbb_engine.php




i tried to figure it out... i read the source code, i do reinstall the com_phpbb n do step by step installation...
i'v read the FAQ in mehdi's site... but still cant find the answer...

please help me...

if there any one know what is the problem please help me...

thank u so much...


regards n respect....


Last edited by mr_freak on Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 10:01 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:16 am
Posts: 13
sorry 4 my stupidity...

finaly i found the answer...

after i check my database tabel... there is a different structure between jos_users table and phpbb_users table

the length of password character...

in jos_users .... password is (varchar,100)
in phpbb_users.... password is (varchar,32)

so joomphpbb_engine.php can't insert into tabel phpbb_users where encrypted password length is more than 32 char..

so i think the problem is caused by the encrypt proccess that create encrypt char longer than 32 char...

so it would be better if we match the varchar length for password field...

how ever... thank u guys...

thanks a lot to mehdi...


regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:21 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 am
Posts: 5
Total Joomla newb question. I am having the the "I can login in Joomla but not in Phpbb' problem. i have been messing with the "Host/domain for the url you configured Joomla must be equal to: parameters. Now when I try to even go to my phpbb I get the error message- "failed to open" and my url is all messed up "http://http://www."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:39 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:16 am
Posts: 13
maxilious wrote:
Total Joomla newb question. I am having the the "I can login in Joomla but not in Phpbb' problem. i have been messing with the "Host/domain for the url you configured Joomla must be equal to: parameters. Now when I try to even go to my phpbb I get the error message- "failed to open" and my url is all messed up "http://http://www."


try this... hope could help...

set your $mosConfig_live_site in configuration.php file in your joomla site folder
Code:
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://www.yoursite.com';

set your $joomUrl in your joomphpbb_config.php on your forum folder
Code:
$joomUrl="http://www.yoursite.com";

then
make 'link to url' menu from your joomla admin control panel...
which the link its like..:
Code:
link: phpbb/

or
Code:
link: http://www.yoursite.com/phpbb/


note : "phpbb" is name of folder where your phpbb file stored...



maxilious wrote:
Now when I try to even go to my phpbb I get the error message- "failed to open" and my url is all messed up "http://http://www."


look in to your phpbb configuration on phpbb control panel...

login to your phpbb forum as admin.. goto phpbb control panel...

goto General Admin ----> Configuration

set Domain name
so its like
Code:
Domain Name :   www.yoursite.com

note: without "http://"

then set Script path : /phpbb/
its like
Code:
Script path :   /phpbb/



note : "phpbb" is name of folder where your phpbb file stored...


thats all i know.... hope it works n could help u...

but its still not... i'm so sorry...

please, any one can help???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:48 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:16 am
Posts: 13
hii all..

i need your help here...

i have a problem with my phpbb forum in my joomla site...

when i post a reply, the message are posted... and it saved on database...

but debug or error message appear...

debug is :

Could not connect to smtp host : 10060 : A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.

DEBUG MODE

Line : 112
File : smtp.php



but everything seems normal... the message are posted...

only this debug are disturbing...

so... please help me..

i really appreciate your help...

thank u so much....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 8:04 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
hi,
well sorry for all,
it's almost one month I didn't post any answer :D
I don't have the courage nor the time to answer every post, hence I'll answer only to last posts (some people might already gave up anyway).

@ mr_freak
thanks for finding bug and fixing at the same time the problem relative to passwords.
viewtopic.php?f=216&t=284965
I just updated the joomphpbb_engine.php script to bypass that problem (more details later)

Quote:
Could not connect to smtp host : 10060 : A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.


well, I guess each time you post a message , phpbb is trying to mail users to notify them.
But for any reason the mailing fail.

@maxilious
well, answer of mr_freak seems accurate, I 'll just summarize it :

mr_freak wrote:
login to your phpbb forum as admin.. goto phpbb control panel...

goto General Admin ----> Configuration

set Domain name
so its like
Code:
Domain Name :   www.yoursite.com

note: without "http://"

At least that's where I suspect the problem. (feel free to apply other advices provided by mr_freak)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 8:19 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
18 april 2008
minor fix relative to password. (problem explained: viewtopic.php?f=216&t=284965)
What I do is truncate password to 32 chars max before copying them to phpbb users table.
The fact is that these "salted" passwords are not even used in phpbb side ...
Then why do I even bother to copy them in phpbb user table ?
Because I **might** provide one day a hack that would allow
phpbb after unbridging to use these passwords.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 am
Posts: 5
Thank you Mehdi and Mr Freak your advice has resolve my problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 4:27 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:16 am
Posts: 13
mehdi wrote:
well, I guess each time you post a message , phpbb is trying to mail users to notify them.
But for any reason the mailing fail.


but i have dissabled the notify feature from the General Admin in my phpbb forum...

what should i do...? should i modify the source... to by pass the email sending...?
or is there any other way?

because this error message are disturbing and it cause no button or "back" link to go back to the forum except using browser's "back" button... and it makes users think that their message(post reply) are not sent or posted...

i still trying to find out...

but if any body could help me... please...

thanks to mehdi

thanks a lot guys...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 8:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 am
Posts: 5
When user logs into my site (after signing up) and they click ony my message forum they get this message instead of the forum.
"You are currently Logged In to the private area of this sit"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:20 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 437
@mr_freak
see solution posted for user daverj in this page:
viewtopic.php?f=216&t=62351&start=480#p1227472

@maxilious
typical error as old as the bridge
see FAQ related to that bridge especially the question:
"I can login in Joomla but not in phpbb"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:03 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:16 am
Posts: 13
mehdi wrote:
@mr_freak
see solution posted for user daverj in this page:
viewtopic.php?f=216&t=62351&start=480#p1227472


i did this...

it's still not works...

but then, when i remove all topics that ever created before....

then create a new one... it works...

it works well to all my new topics...

it fix the problem... but i still can get it... what is the main problem...

fortunately my phpbb forum still offline(under construction) not online yet... it will be a big problem if my phpbb forum has online for a long time....

but then again...

big thanks....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 559 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group