The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:41 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:54 am
Posts: 457
I need to create a test environment with a complete install of my current site and database in an isolated location so I can have a test site.

What is the best way to do that?

1. Should I copy everything to a folder on the same domain?
2. Should I copy everything to a new domain that is only used for testing?

My server has cpanel, should I use that to backup and restore or should I use a tool like Joomlapack or JoomlaClone?

Thank you.

_________________
Gary
http://pilotjourney.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:25 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 20031
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
I would use a local environment like XAMPP,
and copy ALL files (with FileZilla FTP) from the website to a local directory under the htdocs of the XAMPP software,
and use phpMyAdmin to copy the database from the website to the local site.
Then backup your configuration.php at your local environment (e.g. copy to site_configuration.php)
and change the configuration.php to reflect the local XAMPP settings.

With testing: don't forget to switch on XAMPP's Mercury mail server (and configure it), so that you can fully test the site at your local PC.

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:44 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:54 am
Posts: 457
That sounds like a great idea if I was doing the development. Actually someone else, so they need to test, then I need to test. They are in another country from where I am.

Is there a way this idea would still work with us being not in the same location?

_________________
Gary
http://pilotjourney.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 20031
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
pilotjourney wrote:
Is there a way this idea would still work with us being not in the same location?

Yes, you'll need some PC/server/hosting space with IP address where you both have access to.
Replace all "local environment like XAMPP" in my previous post with "PC/server/hosting space with IP address where you both have access to", and you will have what you need :-)

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group