The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:58 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 3:40 am
Posts: 21
Location: Melbourne
I have been having this problem on Joomla 1.5 for quite a while now but didn't bothered about it since I can manually edit the configuration.php file. I didn't have this problem when I was using Joomla 1.0 though. Anyway when I go into the backend and try to change and save the global configuration I get a 500 Internet Server Error. Here is the full error I get:
Quote:
Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@mysite.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.


Now I want to disable user registration, but I can't find the value in the configuration.php. Any help greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:07 am
Posts: 7
Hi, I have the same problem. I've posted this issue here, but seems no one able to answer - leave me no choice except edit it manualy :(

I also got problem with joomla 1.5 when I use JA Teline as my default template - unable to submit article from front-end (but no problem at all with joomla 1.0) - I think we need to wait for joomla 1.5.3 ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 11:25 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 3:40 am
Posts: 21
Location: Melbourne
Does anyone know what is causing this? I know it might be my server configuration. But then what is variable in configuration.php that enables or disables user registration?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:12 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:05 pm
Posts: 1
I just installed Joomla 1.5.2 and also facing the same error. The only work around is to edit the configuration.php file manually. Anyone knows what is going on? Is this a bug or just a server configuration error?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 7:49 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 7:36 pm
Posts: 1
I am also facing similar issue about saving any setting in the global configuration. It shows- Forbidden You don't have permission to access /administrator/index.php on this server.

So is it something with 1.5 or with shared hosting server? If there is chomd changes, can some one give the link of the article where its been stated to what files need to be changed and their respective chmod settings. Like a general list of files and folders to be changed before doing anything further thru the admin panel.

Regards,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 4:31 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:31 am
Posts: 1
Here's what works for me. I'm using Joomla 1.5.3, SEF: on, Apache mod_rewrite; on. Just add this line to your .htaccess.

SecFilterEngine Off

Enjoy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 5:48 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 3:40 am
Posts: 21
Location: Melbourne
witit wrote:
SecFilterEngine Off

Wow that works!! I've given up hope and along you come with such a simple solution. Thank you very much. BTW do you have any idea what caused the problem or what SecFilterEngine does?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 6:17 am 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:20 am
Posts: 3193
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
SecFilterEngine Off

This disables mod_security.

_________________
Backup, backup, backup!
The "Master" .htacess file by Nicholas http://snipt.net/nikosdion/the-master-htaccess


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 9:59 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
mod_security is a special firewall type of module integrated into Apache. The exact implications of disabling it are being looked into by the "Security team" at the moment.

http://www.modsecurity.org/ for details of precisely what it does.

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:12 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:03 am
Posts: 2
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
THANK YOU!!! This works great; I've been struggling with this for several days & even did a clean install and then an upgrade to 1.5.4 to no avail. This simple change made all the difference; thanks for the ingenious workaround!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:43 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:32 pm
Posts: 7
I have added the suggested code to .htaccess and it still doesn't work. Are there any other solutions to this problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:07 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:27 am
Posts: 5
Also have this problem

Any change to global config leads to the destruction of my confiuration.php.

I tried the .htaccess but that doesn't seem to make much difference.

Any other ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:18 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:02 am
Posts: 27
Location: Sydney, Australia
I went thru the back end in the cpanel and manually adjusted the settings. It's not that difficult too!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 9:05 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:05 am
Posts: 34
I have had the same problem. It seemed to happen suddenly. It seemed be after I backed up my site as a zip archive on my server. All the files in my public.html folder where Joomla lives didn't change. I was using 1.5.6 and updated to 1.5.7 hoping that might fix it, it didn,t. I had to change configuration.php file to put my site back on line.

This issue is why did it happen and how can it be fixed, or is there something I have missed? It seems a few people have had this problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:28 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:02 am
Posts: 27
Location: Sydney, Australia
I moved my site to a new hosting provider that only deals with Joomla and now the problem is fixed. I'm not sure on the details but I was told it has something to do with the server settings. Check with your host dude and good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 1:33 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:05 am
Posts: 34
I contacted my server, Start Logic, with the following response

We have updated your .htaccess file by inserting :
### MOD Security ###
<IfModule mod_security.c>
SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</IfModule>

Now the the Global Configuration update is being saved. Please check it on your end.

I checked and it is working perfectly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:30 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 10
witit wrote:
Here's what works for me. I'm using Joomla 1.5.3, SEF: on, Apache mod_rewrite; on. Just add this line to your .htaccess.

SecFilterEngine Off

Enjoy


Hey this really worked for me...Thanks a million... ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 7:06 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:47 am
Posts: 7
where is the htaccess file located. I use CPANEL and also access my files through filezilla.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:51 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:05 am
Posts: 34
My host did it for me.
htaccess is available on my cpanel as an icon called "htaccess editor"

Otherwise seach help on server, or ask host.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 10:36 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:56 am
Posts: 24
Location: Randfontein SOUTH AFRICA
Good day everyone

Had the same problem, but in my case I could not save to Global Config, Could not upload any images and could not install new extensions.

After I read this article

http://docs.joomla.org/Cannot_save_Glob ... on_changes

I tried to upload eXtplorer without luck

So I used filezilla to cmod all my folders from root to 777

Then I could save global config, upload, images and install extensions again.

I have installed eXtplorer and so that all my folders owner is nobody.

Now I need to find out how to change the owner and cmod back to original
Any ideas please?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:54 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:26 am
Posts: 10
Has there been any resolution to this in 3.0.3 yet? I'm having the same issue but changing the htaccess file doesn't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:02 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 9:56 am
Posts: 1
Quote:
Has there been any resolution to this in 3.0.3 yet? I'm having the same issue but changing the htaccess file doesn't work.


None of the mentioned solutions has helped me. I am running version 3.1.1 and am still looking for a solution but am hoping to find it very soon. If you have found it since then please let me know, I would be very grateful.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group