The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 8:10 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:53 pm
Posts: 179
How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla! - Copyright (C) 2005 - 2007 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved." />


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:04 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:39 pm
Posts: 410
Location: England
You can amend the Meta tags inside your control panel. Click on Global Settings and they are in there.

_________________
Michael Edwards - UK Web developer and Designer - http://www.michaeledwards.me.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 5:49 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:53 pm
Posts: 179
Hi, well what i can see you can only set the in under the button "Metadata"
Global Site Meta Description and Global Site Meta Keywords

The content as i describe are not there to change?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:15 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:52 am
Posts: 43
Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);

_________________
:: http://xsitech.com/ - Custom Web Designs - Joomla Templates ::
:: http://blocklistpro.com/ - Blocklist Internet Security Solutions ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:47 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:29 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
MikeHell wrote:
Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);


And a better way would be.

Goto your template and add the following:
Code:
$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');

This will not remove the generator tag but it will clear the contents. The big advantage is when you update joomla to a newer version ( which will happen in the future ) you don't have to redo all your changes in the code.

Oops..... Errmmm this works in J!1.5 I don't know if it will work in J!1.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:42 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:39 am
Posts: 1
Lets just assume I have no idea which file to update inthe teplate with this code....could you point me in the right direction?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:18 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 73
this solved my problem

Quote:
Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);


thanks for help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:44 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:53 pm
Posts: 179
Has the includes/frontend change name in the latest joomla 1,5?
i can´t find it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:58 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:46 pm
Posts: 10
Quote:
Has the includes/frontend change name in the latest joomla 1,5?
i can´t find it?


Try to edit the head.php in this location: /libraries/joomla/document/html/renderer/head.php.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:46 pm
Posts: 10
it is on line: 83
Before:
Code:
$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;


After:
Code:
//$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;


Just comment it out "//"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:15 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:53 pm
Posts: 179
Before i change this, Is there a change that 404SEF can change this automaticly ?? So i don´t have to do this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:39 am
Posts: 56
Location: Indonesia
Hi All,
Is there a problem a rise when we remove the code ?
Such in upgrade to newer version ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:26 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:46 pm
Posts: 10
Havent had to upgrade this install yet. The only thing that I can think of is you might have to go back in and re-comment out that line. I am running 1.5.7 and dont have any issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:27 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:58 am
Posts: 144
I just did

$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');

and it works perfectly and like he said, when u update u dont ahve to worry about changing the code.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 308
you can also apply the joomlawork sef patch. it will remove the generator tag

_________________
http://www.turkcebilgi.net/
http://www.sozlukturkce.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:44 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 335
lucard wrote:
MikeHell wrote:
Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);


And a better way would be.

Goto your template and add the following:
Code:
$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');

This will not remove the generator tag but it will clear the contents. The big advantage is when you update joomla to a newer version ( which will happen in the future ) you don't have to redo all your changes in the code.

Oops..... Errmmm this works in J!1.5 I don't know if it will work in J!1.0


where do you put this in the template? where in the code exactly? in the body.. before the body??

me lost.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:58 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:40 pm
Posts: 2
Location: India
myaviation wrote:
lucard wrote:
MikeHell wrote:
Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);


And a better way would be.

Goto your template and add the following:
Code:
$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');

This will not remove the generator tag but it will clear the contents. The big advantage is when you update joomla to a newer version ( which will happen in the future ) you don't have to redo all your changes in the code.

Oops..... Errmmm this works in J!1.5 I don't know if it will work in J!1.0


where do you put this in the template? where in the code exactly? in the body.. before the body??

me lost.



i am running 1.5.9
See it below where to put it.


// SEO SECTION //

$seo = $this->params->get ("seo", "Joomla Software solutions Template"); # JUST FOLOW THE TEXT
$tags = $this->params->get ("tags", "Joomla Software, Joomla Templates, Youjoomla"); # JUST FOLOW THE TEXT

$slide_right = $this->params->get ("slide_right", "Watch Video");
$slide_bottom = $this->params->get ("slide_bottom", "Popular News");
#DO NOT EDIT BELOW THIS LINE
define( 'TEMPLATEPATH', dirname(__FILE__) );
include( TEMPLATEPATH.DS."settings.php");
include( TEMPLATEPATH.DS."styleswitcher.php");
require( TEMPLATEPATH.DS."suckerfish.php");
Code:
[b]$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');[/b]


?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" >
<head>





its ok this resolves the prob. but i`ve another question,

if u look at the code now u`ll find this
Code:
<meta name="generator" content="" />


does it has any negative effect,

or better would be if someone explain the purpose of this meta tag in joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:03 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:12 am
Posts: 98
Location: Kuwait
But what if I need to change the author code?

_________________
Mestslm Rady Be Tab3ek, 3sfor Fe El-7elm Masaknk :: Me7tar 3la Shat Shafayfk, Dh 3tor El Koon Men Ward
Rosheha Nasyeny Meen ANA!
My Hosting Company : http://www.sz4h.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:28 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:24 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Tamworth, UK
Change this in the head.php file -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;

To this -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


To change (or add) a "author" tag... Copy above and paste it directly below, then change it to look like this

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="author" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


:D hope that helps

_________________
Please read forum rules regarding signatures: viewtopic.php?t=65


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 3:59 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:17 pm
Posts: 2
Edit the index.php file of the default template on your site.  The template should have a block of PHP at the top of the file starting with <?php and closing with ?>.  Find this block and just before the closing PHP brace, insert the following lines of code:

// Remove the generator meta tag
$this->setGenerator(null);


Or to change it use:

// Change the generator meta tag
$this->setGenerator('My Text here');


Upgrade proof... if you don't change your template


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:40 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 8:18 am
Posts: 1
Add to the ward123 reply, you can set other meta tags as per your needs. For Example Robots, author contact, submission & all of that what do you want....
Just add your meta tag code after this code in your template/index.php
Code:
<jdoc:include type="head" />


Code you have to add
Code:
<?php
         $this->setMetaData('robots', 'ALL' );
         $this->setMetaData('author','www.kamleshpatidar.com');
         $this->setMetaData('language','English');
         $this->setMetaData('submission','http://www.thamesmarketing.com');
         $this->setMetaData('contact','mail.kamleshpatidar@gmail.com');
         $this->setMetaData('format','text/html');
         $this->setMetaData('document-classification','Website Marketing & Software Development Company');
         $this->setMetaData('document-distribution','Global');
         $this->setGenerator('');
?>



Thanks,
Kamlesh Patidar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:43 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:59 am
Posts: 5
open " includes/joomla/document/document.php "
in line between 80-90 find text var $_generator = 'Joomla 1.5 ! Open Source Content Management.';

change it !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:18 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:04 am
Posts: 33
Madus,
Thank you, your code works great.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:15 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:17 am
Posts: 2
hi,
becareful changing joomla core can make you troubles later in upgardes.
this question is posted before in the forum, u should take a look before asking.
here is the answer of brian. (the joomla specialist)

brian a écrit:
There is a much easier way to do this without any "hacks" to the core joomla files. It's in my joomla hidden secrets presentation and only requires you to make a small modification to your site template.

In the <head> section of your template insert the following code

Code:
$this->setGenerator(null);


to remove the generator tag

or to be more funky

Code:
$this->setGenerator('Drupal');


You should NEVER hack core joomla files as you will potentialy lose any hacks when you do an upgrade

_________________
http://PSD.NEW.FR ---> Photoshop brushes & Graphics

http://tutoplus.[URL banned].com ---> Tutorials for photoshop, 3Ds Max, C4D, flash,...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:01 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:01 pm
Posts: 15
Madus wrote:
Change this in the head.php file -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;

To this -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


To change (or add) a "author" tag... Copy above and paste it directly below, then change it to look like this

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="author" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


:D hope that helps



This is Awesome! It works on my site. Thanks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 2:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:30 am
Posts: 4
Madus wrote:
Change this in the head.php file


so, i found some head.php, could you please tell me which one?! besides this, they're read only files (i'm editing it on my localhost)

thank you in advance,
Zenith


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:46 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:31 pm
Posts: 1
Location: PH
Madus wrote:
Change this in the head.php file -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;

To this -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


To change (or add) a "author" tag... Copy above and paste it directly below, then change it to look like this

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="author" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


:D hope that helps


Thanks to this! I am a new joomla! user and I find this one a bit tricky yet fun to do :)
Anyway, does it contribute to SEO if you change the

Quote:
$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;


?

_________________
Discover different aloe vera uses and what it can do to improve your health condition. Visit http://myaloeverauses.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:37 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:47 pm
Posts: 84
I also highly recommend this little plugin that will allow you change the default generator meta tag from meta name="generator" content="Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management" to anything you like!

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/site-management/seo-a-metadata/14368


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:59 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:29 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Ukraine
jjpedersen wrote:
I also highly recommend this little plugin that will allow you change the default generator meta tag from meta name="generator" content="Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management" to anything you like!

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/site-management/seo-a-metadata/14368


Thank you so much! ;)

_________________
WE LOVE DOWNLOAD
http://www.mcsegrup.com
http://www.microsoftfan.com
WE LOVE JOOMLA!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:28 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:04 am
Posts: 2
Simply add the following line inside the HEAD tags of your Template index.php file:

<?php $this->setGenerator('Change this to whatever you like or leave it blank'); ?>

This way IF you upgrade your CMS core the template file is not affected by the upgrade.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group