The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:12 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:38 am
Posts: 39
Hi,

I can't get the links to categories to work in the breadcrumb navigation when I have SEF URLs on. When I try to click on the following link in the breadcrumbs:

http://localhost:8888/domain.com/index. ... 4-category

I get a 404 error. Switching back to normal URLs solves the problem, but I'd much prefer to have SEF URLs if possible.

Is there anything I can try?

Thanks

osu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:59 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 199
Hi all,

I have just noticed the same on my 1.5.3 clean install. I have an article in a category of the section the breadcrumb is displayed like this..... Home>> Section>>Category>>Article
Whilst on the article page the three previous breadcrumb titles are linkable and clicking on the category link gives a 404 error
This is when SEF is enabled... With SEF disabled the link functions and the page refreshes to the default category list page layout.

I have an older Joomla install that is 1.5.0 patched to 1.5.3 The error does not occur in this version so I guess there has been something changed that takes effect with a new install that the patch file didn't copy over...

Any one have any ideas what to do next... Obviously it would be nice to use SEF

Thanks all

Clive


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:56 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 47
Same problem here as well. I would really like to keep SEF on , but this is making it quite awkward. The SEF is rewriting category articles with ID's which have no relationship to the articles further down the line. guess there is something I'm missing though not quite sure what that is.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:32 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 1:11 am
Posts: 16
would be intersted by a solution.. got the same problem...
if ever someone read this !!!

thanx

_________________
Tahiti Full Screen VR Panoramas
http://www.direct2brain.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:36 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 199
Hi all,

If someone tells me in which directory or file this error is coming from I could try copying them from my 1.5.0 patched to 1.5.3 install to my 1.5.3 clean install which is the one that has the problem....

Having said the above I just checked a complete clean install with the sample data loaded... This error does not happen...

So I must conclude that it is something I have done wrong in my section<<category menu item set up or the error only occurs when a new section and category menu item created..

So, in a clean install with the sample data loaded I have created a section called "test" a category called "test" and an article called "test"... then a menu item in main menu section blog layout called...yes you guessed it... "test"

The breadcrumbs all work perfectly...

So it must be something that I have done in the set up of the other install... I am fairly sure I followed the same order as above but I probably created the section, category and menu item before the article.. This wouldn't make a difference would it...

Regards...
Confused in Spain :)

Clive


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:18 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 199
Hi all,

This error seems to only exist in a menu item blog layout.... I have my menu item to section item blog layout. If I edit it and change it to section layout the breadcrumbs work fine.... When I change back to section blog layout the category breadcrumb produces a 404

Can anyone else confirm that this is happening just in the blog layout?

Clive


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 12:45 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:38 am
Posts: 39
Hi Clive,

I'll check this out when I get home tonight, thanks for keeping this thread alive - I'm surprised how no one else has commented yet, must be a common problem I would have thought.

osu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 3:23 pm
Posts: 281
Location: Georgia, United States
I'm not using the blog layout but my breadcrumbs are also broken... when I click on a Category or Section link (inside the breadcrumb), I'm taken to a totally different page than what I'm aiming for.

To be honest, I hadn't tested them before now so I have no clue if they've worked all along or if this is a new phenomenon... but very disheartening!! The breadcrumbs are useless if they don't work.

I was using SEF URL's and just changed them, based on these posts... breadcrumbs are now working fine.

ANYONE have any clues on how to get both SEF URL's and breadcrumbs working well together? Thanks in advance!

_________________
Be part of the solution -- not part of the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:47 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:22 pm
Posts: 7
We are having the same issue, having just turned them on (and now back off). Anxiously awaiting a fix.

:pop


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:21 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:15 pm
Posts: 1
I've got the same problem, I installed the sample data and edited that (I think) which would probably explain why one of my links works but the others do not.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 2:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 10
Same problem here, and on top of that, my category list view doesn't display links to articles, just the numbers of the various entries! :'(

Has anyone else encounter the latter problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 3:47 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 199
Hi all,

I have updated to 1.5.4 but see that one of the breadcrumb linkss are still not working unless I disable SEF. Has anyone got an update on this? I have breadcrumbs disabled for now but would like to turn them back on at some point.

Clive


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 4
Breadcrumbs and blog view of categories are both dead for us as well. Kind of disappointing that 1.5.4 doesn't fix it. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 5:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:44 am
Posts: 3290
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Hi. I have two ideas.

1. Try changing the configuration.php file as follows:
Code:
var $live_site = 'http://www.yoururl.org';


2. If (1) doesn't work, has anyone been able to reproduce this problem using the Joomla! Sample website or a blank website (clean Joomla! install)? If so, can someone please provide a quick step-by-step for how to do this? Then I can try to reproduce the problem.

I have just tried enabling SEF URL's on the sample site (1.5.4) and using both the section blog and table layouts (Example Pages menu), I cannot get the breadcrumbs to break. I also use SEF and breadcrumbs on my live site and it appears to work correctly. I tried adding a new category and new article.

Thanks. Mark

P.S. How is the Apache mod_rewrite set?

_________________
Mark Dexter
"Well...how did I get here?"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:53 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:54 am
Posts: 323
Location: San Francisco, CA
articles accessed via Blog section view are broken.

http://www.sfsan.org/legislation/18-health-access-positions.html

will give you a broken bread crumb.

Instead of linking to category 6 it links to article 6.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:40 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 199
Hi all,

I tried adding my url to $live_site = 'http://www.yoururl.org'; There was nothing in this area when I looked at my config file it was var $live_site = '';

Anyway, I re published the breadcrumbs to test and I have the same error.....I have an article in a category of the section the breadcrumb is displayed like this..... Home>> Section>>Category>>Article
Whilst on the article page the three previous breadcrumb titles are linkable and clicking on the category link gives a 404 error
This is when SEF is enabled... With SEF disabled the link functions and the page refreshes to the default category list page layout.

I'm off now to download the posting assistant... :)

Clive


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:36 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:54 am
Posts: 323
Location: San Francisco, CA
wildside wrote:
Hi all,

I
Whilst on the article page the three previous breadcrumb titles are linkable and clicking on the category link gives a 404 error
This is when SEF is enabled... With SEF disabled the link functions and the page refreshes to the default category list page layout.




This is because you are being directed to the artile with the id of the category that the article is in.

The bug is section link in the breadcrumbs and sef.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:46 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 9:31 am
Posts: 12
Hi,

I'm having the same problem with the breadcrumb and SEF enabled. When I click the category link in the breadcrum it takes me to a 404 or the article with the same ID as the category.

Also, the same problem occurs when you click on the category link that is underneath the Article Title on your frontpage/blog.

Did we see any comments from a Joomla core member ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 2:37 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 2:25 pm
Posts: 2
I've just fixed the 404 error for me but it wasn't for the breadcrumbs but for the normal heading. So, it may not be applicable and if not sorry but figured I hadn't seen it mentioned in the thread yet...

Enable Use Apache mod_rewrite from the Global Configuration > Site area and then you need to rename the .htaccess.txt to .htaccess in the root directory of your Joomla site installation.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 2:52 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 199
Hi all, I already have .htaccess file and SEF...

Below is diagnostic info from the amazing post assistant which I hope will help

Clive

Diagnostic Information
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.4 Production/Stable [ Naiki ] 6-July-2008 22:00 GMT
configuration.php: Writable (Mode: 644 ) | RG_EMULATION: N/A
Architecture/Platform: Linux 2.6.9-67.0.15.ELsmp ( i686) | Web Server: Apache/2.2.8 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.8 OpenSSL/0.9.7a DAV/2 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 ( www.mysite.com ) | PHP Version: 5.2.5
PHP Requirements: register_globals: Disabled | magic_quotes_gpc: Enabled | safe_mode: Disabled | MySQL Support: Yes | XML Support: Yes | zlib Support: Yes
mbstring Support (1.5): Yes | iconv Support (1.5): Yes | save.session_path: Writable | Max.Execution Time: 90 seconds | File Uploads: Enabled
MySQL Version: 5.0.51a-community ( Localhost via UNIX socket )

Extended Information:
SEF: Enabled (with ReWrite) | FTP Layer: Enabled | htaccess: Implemented
PHP/suExec: User and Web Server accounts are not the same. (PHP/suExec probably not installed)
PHP Environment: API: cgi-fcgi | MySQLi: Yes | Max. Memory: 64M | Max. Upload Size: 64M | Max. Post Size: 55M | Max. Input Time: -1 | Zend Version: 2.2.0
Disabled Functions: shell_exec,system,passthru,exec,popen,proc_close,proc_get_status,proc_nice,proc_open,proc_terminate,highlight_file,escapeshellcmd,define_syslog_variables,posix_uname,posix_getpwuid,apache_child_terminate,posix_kill,posix_mkfifo,posix_setpgid,posix_setsid,posix_setuid,escapeshellarg,posix_uname,ftp_exec,ftp_connect,ftp_login,ftp_get,ftp_put,ftp_nb_fput,ftp_raw,ftp_rawlist,ini_alter,ini_restore,inject_code,syslog,openlog,define_syslog_variables,apache_setenv
MySQL Client: 5.0.51a ( latin1 )


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 6:07 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:39 pm
Posts: 247
Location: suisse (and sometimes behinde the moon)
Hello
i think i have a similar problem
when i wish to have the categorie Linkable
so the Links points to content and not to the catergorie
sincrly
vincent
from switzerland
Image

_________________
http://www.wombat.ch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:22 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:54 am
Posts: 323
Location: San Francisco, CA
Could a moderator move this to QandA?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:14 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Please apply the patch available here:

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=11849

If you could do this asap and report back that would be extremely helpful as it is close to being committed.


Only apply the file that says router2.patch, not the other ones.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:25 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:39 pm
Posts: 247
Location: suisse (and sometimes behinde the moon)
hello
this is all to be done by copy past on the right place.
Nothing to install like it is with joomla.
so i will have to do it this evening.

sincerly
vincent

_________________
http://www.wombat.ch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:22 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:39 pm
Posts: 247
Location: suisse (and sometimes behinde the moon)
Hello
what the meaning of this nummer @@ -233,7 +233,7 @@
i can't really find out what to change :-\ :-[ :(

_________________
http://www.wombat.ch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:51 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
That's just telling you what lines to look at.
search for the lines that match and replace the lines starting with - with the lines starting with +.

http://developer.joomla.org/bug-squad-b ... tches.html

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:55 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:39 pm
Posts: 247
Location: suisse (and sometimes behinde the moon)
:-[
sorry i tried it but don't get it!

_________________
http://www.wombat.ch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 2:55 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 9:31 am
Posts: 12
mcsmom wrote:
Please apply the patch available here:

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=11849

If you could do this asap and report back that would be extremely helpful as it is close to being committed.


Only apply the file that says router2.patch, not the other ones.

I've made the changes and it solved the problem for me. It now gives me a nice blog layout when I click the category link in a breadcrumb.

Is it possible to have a list layout instead of a blog layout? Will this be fixed in the next 1.5 release ?

My website is http://www.dragons.be for anyone who wants to have a try. It's a dutch webby...

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Yes that is fixed in 1.5.5.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:24 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:39 pm
Posts: 247
Location: suisse (and sometimes behinde the moon)
Hello
because i can't change the code i will be waiting 1.5.5 - when should this be out?
sincerly
vincent

_________________
http://www.wombat.ch


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group