The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:07 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:39 pm
Posts: 4
Hey. Nothing I do will get me past step 5 in the install process (FTP Configuration)
Help!

Apparently I am not entering the FTP Root Path correctly
What is the FTP Root Path? What is a typical example?

I get the following error message:

"The specified FTP Directory is not the directory of this Joomla installation."

I am on the SiteGround Host, using C-panel...

None of he many posts here about this problem get me past step 5.

Thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:07 pm 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:20 am
Posts: 3193
Location: 127.0.0.1
Did you try the "auto-detect"?

_________________
Backup, backup, backup!
The "Master" .htacess file by Nicholas http://snipt.net/nikosdion/the-master-htaccess


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:22 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
saharazen wrote:
Hey. Nothing I do will get me past step 5 in the install process (FTP Configuration)
Help!
As stated in the Installation Manual you do not need the FTP layer to complete the installation. It can be configured after the installation via the Global Configuration or configuration.php
Quote:
Apparently I am not entering the FTP Root Path correctly
What is the FTP Root Path? What is a typical example?

There is no "typical example" as the path depends on how a host has their servers configured.

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:24 pm
Posts: 9
I have the same problem with the latest joomla (1.5.4?)

I have root ssh access to this server, and plesk admin control etc.

On the box, as root, I can do
ftp localhost

And it works fine.

However, when I enter the correct details in Joomla install, i always get:

"The specified FTP Directory is not the directory of this Joomla! installation"

now, the ftp account is only for that vhost.

the root of the site is /httpdocs under that vhost. Mambo is installed in the root of this vhost. I have tried the following "FTP root paths"
/
/httpdocs
/httpdocs/

Autofind says:
Unable to auto-detect the FTP root folder.

The ftp details are 100% correct and tested.

Im using fedora core, php 5.0.4 (no chance to change the version as i dont want to break plesk).

I can happly chmod any directories required to not use FTP, but the installation docs, unline mambo, dont give you any information. I had to already hack the install, by doing:
touch config.php
chmod 777 config.php

which wasn't in the instructions.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 6:30 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:52 pm
Posts: 39
This probably won't help but...)

I remember reading somewhere, sometime ago that Joomla! treats a local installation (where the database and webserver are on the same box) differently than an installation where the 2 are on separate machines.

I say skip the ftp layer and see what happens.

Can anyone confirm the above as being true?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 7:17 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:04 am
Posts: 6
I have a similar problem.During install an ftp path can not be found, so I enter it manually. To install a template, joomla uploads a zip to the tmp dir, unzips it an than gives the error it can't find the xml file. So far the first problem. I manually checked, and the xml file is present.
Second problem: When i install without ftp layer and try to change the settings in the back end of joomla, for example the ftp layer, Joomla deletes the content of the configuration.php and sends me back to the installdirectory which isn't there anymore. Because joomla asked me to remove that dir after install. So the only way to change something in the configurationfile isto do it manualy.
I have this problem on a clean install of fedora4 with plesk8.1. Anyone???

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 49
Location: Thailand
Same basic problem as outlined by others above. FTP checks out in every client I have but gets rejected at this step in the process.
***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****
Here's the system information:
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.4 Production/Stable [ Naiki ] 6-July-2008 22:00 GMT
configuration.php: Writable (Mode: 777 ) | RG_EMULATION: N/A
Architecture/Platform: Linux 2.6.18-53.1.7.el5.erekPAE ( i686) | Web Server: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_throttle/3.1.2 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_psoft_traffic/0.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.8b ( 98.130.179.136 ) | PHP Version: 5.2.3
PHP Requirements: register_globals: Disabled | magic_quotes_gpc: Enabled | safe_mode: Disabled | MySQL Support: Yes | XML Support: Yes | zlib Support: Yes
mbstring Support (1.5): Yes | iconv Support (1.5): Yes | save.session_path: Writable | Max.Execution Time: 30 seconds | File Uploads: Enabled
MySQL Version: 5.0.41-community-log ( 98.130.0.67 via TCP/IP )
***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****
I've installed a few sites with older versions of Joomla and the setup was pretty painless. I can only imagine how frustrating this must be for new users.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:11 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
Do you use an FTP client? If so check the login details of the FTP hostname, username, password, and the directory where the FTP client opens when it first connects to your host.
These should be the settings you need to enter within the FTP fields.
Once again though these are not necessary in order to complete an Installation of Joomla!, these details can be edited via the configuration.php, or the Global Configuration once the installation is completed.

Andy
Further details on possible solutions in this post viewtopic.php?f=431&t=286792


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:13 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
[Mod Note] Moved from Installation Questions. see: Which Forum Should You Post In? for details on the appropriate forum to post your question


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:09 pm
Posts: 7
I have the same problem and Im really confused
joomla says skip this step for installing on localhost on windows
but I need to set the ftp configuration because many components dont work without FTP enabled.
so if anyone from Joomla team reads this please consider what should we do with this problem while there is no FTP User/Pass and FTP root path in windows ???

Please please please help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 6:17 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:04 am
Posts: 6
Check your php version. If you have php 5.0.4, stop trying it won't work. Upgrade your php and try again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:07 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:01 pm
Posts: 61
Hi All
I was wrestling with the same problem.
seems to work using these settings for me, I think I am on a linux server..
I keep getting problems but they look like they are related to uploading files onto server too slowly as install function works, but with templates for exaqmple some folders were incomplete and the screen freezes..never really refreshes to complete/incomplete, but when I click refresh I get msg error someone trying to install into same dir, but IMO its just the slow upload process which froxze previosuly, anyway I patch it up using ftp client and is working ok so far..

var $ftp_host = 'www.yourdomain.com';
var $ftp_port = '21';
var $ftp_user = 'username';
var $ftp_pass = 'password';
var $ftp_root = 'www';
var $ftp_enable = '1';


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:51 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 4:08 pm
Posts: 4
I had the same problem but i have solved it as follows:

The path for my ftp is: /home/myaccountname/domains/mywebsiteaccount/public_html/joomla

i changed it into: /domains/mywebsiteaccount/public_html/joomla and it works now without any problems.

Hope you guys got something about this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:08 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:05 pm
Posts: 1
SOLUTION FOR CPANEL USERS:


FTP root path: /public_html/
FTP pass: yourpass
FTP User: The username you use to login to the ftp
Port: 21
FTP Host: www.yourdomain.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group