The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


READ ME <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 242 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 20075
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
If you have any Joomla questions, please use the JTS-post Assistant (a Problem Post Generation Utility ) to include your configuration information, making it easier for other people to help you!

In this thread you can discuss about JTS-post Assistant,
which is available at: viewtopic.php?f=428&t=272481 (Thanks RussW !)

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:23 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:37 am
Posts: 1148
Location: Washington
That's too cool, and I am sure will be a big help!! I'm going to download it and poke sticks at it. Thank you, thank you, thank you! 8)


Chad

_________________
-Chad
JTS- Post Assistant: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=428&t=272481
Joomla! Documentation: http://docs.joomla.org/Main_Page


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:44 am
Posts: 331
Location: Hungary
Congrats and many thanks to RussW! It's an excellent tool, hoping that when you submit your issue with the help of this tool, it will fasten the resolution.

_________________
Jozsef Tamas Herczeg // Member of the Hungarian Joomla Translation Team :: Follow me on Twitter: @jtherczeg
:: "Do not give fish to the hungry man teach him how to fish instead" ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:26 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Aroostook County, Maine, U.S.A.
:) Thank you very much RussW. This is a great tool. I hope that many people will make use of it.

Thanks again ;D

_________________
Larry Hamilton
http://www.AmityWebs.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 2:15 pm
Posts: 1075
Location: Baroda - India
Great tool. Can help a lot of people who are not actually coders or developers but use joomla extensively.

_________________
ONE WORLD OPEN WORLD - WAR TODAY GIVE PEACE A CHANCE
http://indiavoice.info - India News & Information Portal
http://indiadaily.indiavoice.info - India Daily Infotainment

(Powered by Joomla!)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:08 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:16 pm
Posts: 749
Location: Ohio
Excellent! I say we need to spread the word and get people to use it now!
Thanks RussW!

_________________
AnotherGuy's Weblog - http://anotherguy.us/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 9:26 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 8:18 am
Posts: 202
Location: Wales, UK
Excellent idea! Now people have little or no excuse providing they know about this. This should speed up response times too, with more info at hand.

R

_________________
"At first if you don't succeed, you fail."
My personal blog : http://www.blabr.co.uk
By clicking 'continue', it's your way of answering: "Yes,I know what I'm doing so it'll be my own fault if things go wrong and I don't care"...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Posts: 1109
Location: Amsterdam
Hi Russ,
Fantastic tool. Special from the JBS point of view. So many times I have to ask posters in the forum to get the correct information and this way it is easy to do.
Congrats again. I will certainly be advising users to make use of it.

_________________
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:31 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 5:29 am
Posts: 1416
Location: Porto - Portugal
JTS-post Assistant
Portuguese pt-PT translation

jtspost_pt_v101F.zip
- http://joomlacode.org/gf/download/frsre ... _v101F.zip

_________________
Tutorials: Online translation for Joomla core and extensions: https://sites.google.com/site/transjoomla
- Portuguese Joomla Community / Joomla pt-PT Translation Team


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:36 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 14019
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
This is fabulous and will make life for the 'helping hands so much easier' KUDO's! :geek:

THANKS!

Leo

edit: we have tested this through and it absolutely is awesome: We now require this to submit in our support operations...where do we donate? ;)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:28 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:15 am
Posts: 6
When I try to use this, I am redirected to the first page of the web-based installer for 1.52!

So I guess this widget is no good for all those of us trying to install? Or is it just me?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:31 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Posts: 1109
Location: Amsterdam
Not quite clear what you are trying to do. JTS-Post assistant has nothing to do with installing Joomla on itself.
It must be run on its own and will give you diagnostic info about your environment.
Like: http://example.com/jtspost_en.php

_________________
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:59 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:15 am
Posts: 6
thanks Pieter - two things:

1) I used the tool as you suggest mydomain.com/jtspost_en.php

2) i followed the instructions and uploaded the file and then went to the url in question, but as Joomla is not yet installed, I was taken immediately to /installation/index.php.

As I came across jtspost_en.php in the installation bit of the forum, I assumed it would also help diagnose my situation even though my problem is my inability to get past Step 5: FTP Configuration.

Hope this is clear now, but if not please let me know.
Gareth


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Posts: 1109
Location: Amsterdam
garethsquire wrote:
As I came across jtspost_en.php in the installation bit of the forum, I assumed it would also help diagnose my situation even though my problem is my inability to get past Step 5: FTP Configuration.


Gareth,
May be you should do a separate post for your FTP problem. That way you might get more visibility.
What is your ftp problem anyway (may be I missed that out)?

_________________
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:15 am
Posts: 6
Hi Pieter - viewtopic.php?f=429&t=278617 is the ftp problem post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:38 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
@All

Thanks for the great comments and support (and the additional translation) Apologies for not entering in to the post earlier, haven't been able to get in to the forums much recently.

@horus_68 & LocALiceR
The translation will be added in to the JTS project site as soon as possible, your time is very much appreciated.

@leo
Glad JTS-post could be of assistance to you and your users, it is GPL, so please feel free to modify or tailor it to you own needs, add a logo etc etc, if you find useful extra's, please also feel free to let me know and we can update JTS-post also.

If you would like to donate, could I ask if you could point your good will to the Joomla! Project itself. Much of my knowledge and experience has come from these forums and the assistance of those here.

Thanks again folks, don't forget the rest of the Joomla! Tools Suite tools for Pre~ and Post~ installation, health and security auditing assistance.

Project Site and Downloads Here : http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/jts/

_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:37 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks for this utility. I have a WAMP server I use locally on my laptop and recently moved the site once I got it nice up to my host. The site and the JTS-post Assistant work great on my WAMP server - super tool for this forum!

The site at my server is working but I cannot install any extensions. I get the following errors:
* JFTP::mkdir: Bad response
* JFTP::store: Bad response
* Warning! - Failed to move file


But ignore that for now - I uploaded the JTS-post Assistant to in the hopes to figure things out but get the following error running it:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class JVersion in /home/<user>/public_html/<site>/libraries/joomla/version.php on line 26

Let see if I can give you all the info you might need on my host. I've copied the config from my WAMP server and replaced the relavent data with that of my hosts:

Diagnostic Information
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.1 Production/Stable [ Seenu ] 8-February-2008 22:00 GMT
configuration.php: Writable (Mode: 644 )
Architecture/Platform: gentoo 2.6.22-hardened-r8 | Web Server: Apache 1.3.37 (Unix) | PHP Version: 5.2.2
PHP Requirements: not sure about these...
MySQL Version: 5.0.45-community


I hope that gives you enough to work with. Any ideas why JTS-post Assistant would produce this error?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:43 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Thanks to the work of many of the forum staff and users, we are now also pleased to announce the immediate availablility of the following languages for the JTS-post utility

- English
- Greek
- German
- Spanish
- Danish
- French
- Swedish
- Dutch
- Portuguese
- Hungarian (UTF8 & ISO)

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/jts/fr ... ge_id=3421

Thanks for all the hard-work guys, much appreciated....

[edit ] RussW
To date we have had 693 downloads from the JTS Project Site, which equates to approximately 28 per day and around 115 posts containing the generated output from JTS-post ..... Pretty good result in such a short time...!

_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:54 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:06 pm
Posts: 622
Location: México
Nice Script!

Thanks for sharing :)

Cheers

_________________
Tutoriales Joomla! - http://www.joomlamania.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:20 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:21 am
Posts: 77
Location: 's-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands
very nice script indeed...
found a typo:
Code:
OPEN
 jtspost_en.php
FIND
 [color=red]". _NOT_WRITABLE ."[color]
CHANGE BY
 [color=red]". _NOT_WRITABLE ."[/color]
SAVE & CLOSE

_________________
Open Source Consultant at http://www.hkweb.nl HKweb
Signature rules - Literal URL's Only.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:24 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Flagstone QLD 4280, AUSTRALIA
The "[" and "]" around the .$_VERSION->CODENAME . on Line 65:-
Code:
   $version       = $_VERSION->PRODUCT .' '. $_VERSION->RELEASE .'.'. $_VERSION->DEV_LEVEL .' '. $_VERSION->DEV_STATUS.' [ '.$_VERSION->CODENAME .' ] '. $_VERSION->RELDATE .' '. $_VERSION->RELTIME .' '. $_VERSION->RELTZ;

should be changed to "(" and ")" as per
Code:
      $version       = $_VERSION->PRODUCT .' '. $_VERSION->RELEASE .'.'. $_VERSION->DEV_LEVEL .' '. $_VERSION->DEV_STATUS.' ( '.$_VERSION->CODENAME .' ) '. $_VERSION->RELDATE .' '. $_VERSION->RELTIME .' '. $_VERSION->RELTZ;

as it causes a formatting problem when posting to FireBoard Forums - it did for me with a posting to Gavicks' forum at http://www.gavick.com/component/option,com_fireboard/Itemid,27/

_________________
Regards …

Peter KORTGE
http://www.blackfire.com.au
Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:37 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Posts: 12512
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex
can i make a suggestion that a note is added that people copy and paste the contents of the post assistant should remove their url for security reasons

_________________
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{Community.Connect Administrator }{ Showcase & Security Moderator}


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:11 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:12 am
Posts: 21
Location: AUSTRALIA!! :D
hi

i've downloaded it, unzipped it and im up to step 2 on installing it Installation

1. Download and unzip the attached file (result = jtspost.php )
2. Upload the PHP script to the Joomla! Sites "/" directory
3. Run the script through the browser IE: http://www.mysite.com.au/jtspost_en.php


where is the Joomla! sites "/" directory?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:00 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
" / " means root, so you need to upload the file in to the root directory of Joomla!

EG: if you installed J! in http://www.domain.com.au/cms/ you would upload to the /cms direcory as this is the "/" of the Joomla! install.

_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:24 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:12 am
Posts: 21
Location: AUSTRALIA!! :D
thanks!!

how to I upload it to the root directory? Do i install it in the admin section of Joomla! ?

sorry for all the nooby questions :D

thanks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:48 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
This is a standalone application, a single file that you run on its own, it doesn't install in to Joomla! in anyway.

So you FTP the file up to your server, placing it in the "/" (root) directory of where you have Joomla! installed. Then you go to your web-browser and open the file in your browser http://www.yourdomain.com.au/<your joomla directory>/jtspost_en.php

You should then see the tools webpage , ready to use, read the intrcutions about 3/4 of the ay down the right hand column of the page.

Once you have the output, you copy the information in the text box and then paste that information in to a forum post to provide us with some information about your configuration and instance as part of a problem post.

_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:01 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 31
deilert wrote:
Thanks for this utility. I have a WAMP server I use locally on my laptop and recently moved the site once I got it nice up to my host. The site and the JTS-post Assistant work great on my WAMP server - super tool for this forum!



Hi

I've been trying to use version 1F of this file my WAMP server, if I use the URL "http://localhost/jtspost_en.php" I get the message "The Joomla! version was not recognised, or we were unable to find the appropriate "version" file." I copied 'jtspost_en.php' into my 'www' folder of the wamp installation. I am using Joomla 1.5.7. Am I using the correct URL?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:55 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 9352
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Is Joomla! installed in the "www/" folder?

The JTS-post tool is designed to be run from the "/" directory of the Joomla! instance. Thus if Joomla! is installed in "www/joomla/" then JTS-post is placed in the " joomla/ " directory, and accessed via http://<your host/domain>/joomla/jtspost_en.php

_________________
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 11:45 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 31
RussW wrote:
Is Joomla! installed in the "www/" folder?

The JTS-post tool is designed to be run from the "/" directory of the Joomla! instance. Thus if Joomla! is installed in "www/joomla/" then JTS-post is placed in the " joomla/ " directory, and accessed via http://<your host/domain>/joomla/jtspost_en.php


Yes, I copied the 'Joomla_1.5.7-Stable-Full_Package' folder to the www folder of WAMP amd renamed it to 'Joomla150'.
Code:
J:_
   |_wamp_
          |_www_
                |_Joomla150_
                            |_jtspost_en.php

I copied 'jtspost_en.php' to both the 'www' and 'Joomla150' folders. When I use "http://localhost/Joomla150/jtspost_en.php" it gets redirected to "'http://localhost/Joomla150/installation/index.php" and Joomla installation starts.
When I use
"http://localhost/jtspost_en.php" I get the "The Joomla! version was not recognised, or we were unable to find the appropriate "version" file. - error message.

I am having MySQL problems betwixt Joomla and WAMP and this script would be the SO OBVIOUS solution for a forum post if I could figure out what I am doing wrong!

Thanks RussW


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:15 am
Posts: 1555
Location: Dikirnis , Egypt :: دكرنس ، مصر
Hello RussW,
Arabic Translation was submitted in the project forum
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/jts/fo ... d_id=10100
please check when you have the time
thanks for the great tool
best regards

_________________
http://www.ajoomla.org
http://www.sweka.info


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 242 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group