The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:22 am
Posts: 4
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Hi

I'm getting this error "There was an error uploading this file to the server." while working on my local host.

I get this error when I'm trying to install anynew template, during upload.

I've checked the configuration file and all seems to be OK.

Any ideas anyone?

Cheers for your help
Peter.

_________________
Peter D
http://www.envisageblue.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 9:08 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Did you find a fix to this, I am having the same problem and have tried everything.

Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:29 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:22 am
Posts: 4
Location: Perth, Western Australia
No, still having the same problem.

Not sure what to do... still wiaiting.

_________________
Peter D
http://www.envisageblue.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 4:24 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:15 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Spain
There may be the template file is not compatible with your version of Joomla. If you give more information -as which are those template(s) exactly and which version of Joomla are you using- perhaps someone can help you. Good luck! ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:11 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:01 pm
Posts: 92
i have the same problem... any solution?
I believe it has to do with the server.... things were fine using the old shared hosting, but not with the new dedicated sever...

_________________
Web & Graphic services: http://www.filfili.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:04 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 6:49 am
Posts: 1
While i am working on my local host i got an error that there was an error uploading this file to the server. I got this error when i am installing a new template, during upload. I have checked the configuration of file and all seems to be correct.


Last edited by pe7er on Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Manual signature has been removed. Please use the forum signature instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:17 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:05 am
Posts: 1
The most common reason for this problem is that the File you have uploaded is too big.
The File Size Upload Limit on your Server is set too low to allow larger files to be uploaded. By
default PHP allows files up to 2 MB, but you can set to 4 MB to get rid of this error.

If you have access to the php.ini, then change the directive upload_max_filesize to "4M"
and reload the server configuration.

If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:47 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:50 am
Posts: 66
EEjoomla wrote:
The most common reason for this problem is that the File you have uploaded is too big.
The File Size Upload Limit on your Server is set too low to allow larger files to be uploaded. By
default PHP allows files up to 2 MB, but you can set to 4 MB to get rid of this error.

If you have access to the php.ini, then change the directive upload_max_filesize to "4M"
and reload the server configuration.

If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem

_________________
D * Jessiered * Smile
:: Never Finish a Negative Statement ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:50 am
Posts: 66
Hi in what section on the php.ini can I find the Upload_max_filesize to "4M"

Thanks in advance?

_________________
D * Jessiered * Smile
:: Never Finish a Negative Statement ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:51 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:50 am
Posts: 66
Like how will I put it inside .htaccess
The inside file of .htaccess in not really readable.

_________________
D * Jessiered * Smile
:: Never Finish a Negative Statement ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:50 am
Posts: 66
EEjoomla wrote:
The most common reason for this problem is that the File you have uploaded is too big.
The File Size Upload Limit on your Server is set too low to allow larger files to be uploaded. By
default PHP allows files up to 2 MB, but you can set to 4 MB to get rid of this error.

If you have access to the php.ini, then change the directive upload_max_filesize to "4M"
and reload the server configuration.

If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem

_________________
D * Jessiered * Smile
:: Never Finish a Negative Statement ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:02 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:50 am
Posts: 66
Can this be it or not:

; Maximum size of POST data that PHP will accept.
post_max_size = 8M

Please help.
Thanks in advance

_________________
D * Jessiered * Smile
:: Never Finish a Negative Statement ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:50 am
Posts: 66
Hi! I go it! Thanks EEJoomla!

Can I change it to upload_max_filesize to "6M" .

_________________
D * Jessiered * Smile
:: Never Finish a Negative Statement ::


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:02 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:21 pm
Posts: 10
Quote:
="Can I change it to upload_max_filesize to "6M" .


Yes you can...I just did to 10M but you can change it to whatever.

****note for Godaddy accounts....I had to make backup copies of the php5.ini...save to my computer...then reupload them and overide the original php5.ini for the changes to appear. When I had made the changes on the serverside only using my FTP...the changes would show on the file but not register.

This is what was stated on Godaddy's Support Search:

There are two variables within your php.ini file that are responsible for managing user file uploads.

* post_max_size This variable determines the maximum amount of data that PHP will accept in a single form submission using the POST method. Its default value is 8 MB, as shown below:
post_max_size = 8M
* upload_max_filesize This variable limits the size of an individual file uploaded to your site. Its default value is 2 MB, as shown below:
upload_max_filesize = 2M

An increase in the value of these variables expands user file upload limits.

NOTE: After making changes to php.ini, you must perform an httpd restart for them to take effect. This is accomplished by running the following from your command line:
/sbin/service httpd restart

Hope this helps! :)

_________________
Lil Miss Quality Cuisine Find Now http://qcfindnow.com

Directory For Directories http://www.SobiInspired.com Inspired by Sobi2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:24 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:28 am
Posts: 21
EEjoomla wrote:
The most common reason for this problem is that the File you have uploaded is too big.
The File Size Upload Limit on your Server is set too low to allow larger files to be uploaded. By
default PHP allows files up to 2 MB, but you can set to 4 MB to get rid of this error.

If you have access to the php.ini, then change the directive upload_max_filesize to "4M"
and reload the server configuration.

If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem


Has the .htaccess to be copied or has to contain that parameter/instruction only?
With what extension, I mean: ".htaccess.XXX" has to be saved?

Thank you.


Ticonzero.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:05 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:28 am
Posts: 21
EEjoomla wrote:

...
If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem


Has the .htaccess to copied? Or created with that instruction/parameter only?
What has to be the .htaccess.(xxx) file extension?

Thank you.


Ticonzero.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 11:25 am
Posts: 75
EEjoomla wrote:
The most common reason for this problem is that the File you have uploaded is too big.
The File Size Upload Limit on your Server is set too low to allow larger files to be uploaded. By
default PHP allows files up to 2 MB, but you can set to 4 MB to get rid of this error.

If you have access to the php.ini, then change the directive upload_max_filesize to "4M"
and reload the server configuration.

If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem


This just crashes the Joomla software.

_________________
Please read the forum rules regarding the user of signatures: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=65 (only two URL's)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 2:40 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 11:25 am
Posts: 75
Issue found and was fixed by me. The issue was in the php.ini file that my Host installed to correct the issue with a script that I had running.

This is what was in my php.ini file.

Code:
open_basedir = /home/username/usr/lib/php/


By removing this file my Joomla will install components, extensions and modules again. Now I have to find a way to get the script to work that runs a shop software.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:02 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:39 am
Posts: 1
EEjoomla wrote:
The most common reason for this problem is that the File you have uploaded is too big.
The File Size Upload Limit on your Server is set too low to allow larger files to be uploaded. By
default PHP allows files up to 2 MB, but you can set to 4 MB to get rid of this error.

If you have access to the php.ini, then change the directive upload_max_filesize to "4M"
and reload the server configuration.

If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem

It's working thanks for your nice solutions... :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:23 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:19 am
Posts: 110
EEjoomla wrote:
The most common reason for this problem is that the File you have uploaded is too big.
The File Size Upload Limit on your Server is set too low to allow larger files to be uploaded. By
default PHP allows files up to 2 MB, but you can set to 4 MB to get rid of this error.

If you have access to the php.ini, then change the directive upload_max_filesize to "4M"
and reload the server configuration.

If you are running PHP in CGI mode on Apache, you can place an .htaccess file in your
Joomla! root directory and place the following code inside:

php_value upload_max_filesize 4M

This will solve the problem


my hosting is byethost.com and I do not have access to php.ini
using j1.5.10

what I did at first is rename the joomla htaccess.txt to .htaccess and put php_value php_upload_max_filesize 4M but I still get the same error "There was an error uploading this file to the server."

what I did next was to create a file in the root named php.ini and put a code upload_max_filesize = 4M and yet encounter the same problem.

do you guys still have other ways? please help. many thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:16 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 5
I've had the same problem after hardening up a baseline joomla installation, configuring the .htaccess, configuration.php and php.ini files using the joomla.org security guidelines and other bits and pieces from this forum.

After tearing my hair out for a week or so, restoring the site and retweaking the files block by block I pinned it down to the open_basedir setting; I misunderstood the joomla security guidelines
(http://docs.joomla.org/Security_Checkli ... rver_Setup) and missed off the ":/tmp" from the open_basedir setting. Adding the ":/tmp" allows the template uploads to take place.

Hope it helps someone,

mrb


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:54 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:03 am
Posts: 244
sometimes you need go give full path to the "logs" and "tmp" from configuration.php file. Also I found a good article on extension installation using ftp uploading. http://master4life.com/index.php/instal ... on-via-ftp

_________________
www.webhostpark.com
Get quality web hosting with latest promotion


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:34 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:19 am
Posts: 110
yeah mine was also done using ftp upload on /tmp folder


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:49 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:39 am
Posts: 90
ok, may be i've got the same error,
i can access my web space using filezilla,
but joomla gives error uploading to the server thing..

trying my best to solve it with thease..any help would be great!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:59 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:23 am
Posts: 2
re: localhost install issues, Found answer here: http://forum.civicrm.org/index.php?topic=6807.0, post by ithomas half way down the page.

Quote:
I also got the blank page, but nothing in the error log.

I finally succeeded with the following:

Localhost install
Wampserver -
Apache 2.2.11
PHP: 5.2.9-1
MySQL: 5.1.32
Joomla 1.5.9
CiviCRM 2.2.0

I changed the php.ini file (..\wamp\bin\apache\apache2.2.11\bin\php.ini) as follows:

enabled xml and simple xml extensions:
extension=php_xmlrpc.dll (.so for mac)
extension=php_xsl.dll (.so for mac)

enabled ignore user abort:
ignore_user_abort = On (not needed on mac)

changed the resource limits:
max_execution_time = 600
max_input_time = 600

memory_limit was already 128M

Installed per CiviCRM instructions using civicrm-2.2.0-joomla-alt.zip


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:14 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:58 pm
Posts: 1
Esto funciono para mi :

Desde el administrador de joomla:
1. help
2. system info
3. php information
4. buscar "upload_tmp_dir"
5. identificar el valor de la variable, puede ser "C:\Windows\Temp"

Desde el el explorador de windows
5. buscar el directorio de la variable anterior ("C:\Windows\Temp")
6. click derecho en la carpeta --> propiedades,
7. En la pestaña de "seguridad" --> boton "editar" --> boton "agregar"
8. Escriba "todos" (sin comillas) en la caja de texto --> aceptar --> y marcar la casilla de verificacion "Control total" --> nuevamente boton aceptar
9. Nuevamente boton aceptar
y listo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:49 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:45 am
Posts: 1
Hello to everybody, i was looking this post and i had fixed this, but i didn't changing the php.ini because my hosting doesn't accept this so i have to see another options and i have done. So if u need help plz contact me at jose_ort16@hotmail.com or send me a private message. Cya


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 4:25 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:23 am
Posts: 3
Location: Gisborne Australia
We had a very easy remedy. Rem the open_basedir in php.ini file. Then upload the file using Joomla installer. When successful go back and reset teh open_basedir to its original setting.
File uploaded and the site is working as it should.

We install RS Firewall to all sites and this is a common issue with some sites.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:53 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:48 pm
Posts: 1
I just uploaded my template using Ftp client (Filezilla). Just uploaded diretly to the template folder. It is working fine. I admit I haven't check all of the features of my template yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:25 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:17 pm
Posts: 1
I got this trying to install a module on my local host with a Joomla 1.7 installations. I unzipped the module and put the module directory in the "Install from directory" directory. My module then successfully installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group