The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:20 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
Hi everyone,

I ve got a problem when i would like to upload image file using media manager. Login screen always shown after click upload the file, while the file itself failed to go to the target web folder.

Any body has a solution for the problem....?

Thanks
Handoko


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:53 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 2511
Location: Orlando, FL
check to make sure the target web folder is writable.

_________________
CPanel Web Hosting Services http://interactiveonline.com/shared-web-hosting
Follow us on Twitter @interactiveo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:55 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 14072
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
What you mean with "login screen always show?" cab you make a print of that message and upload?

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:42 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
This attached file containt print screen happen just before the file uploaded to web server folder ...

Tks


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:24 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 14072
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
login in admin with http://www.safeour.......that will resolve this i assume.

what does this line says in your configuration.php?

var $live_site = ''; or
var $live_site = 'http://safeourlife.info'; or
var $live_site = 'http://www.safeourlife.info';

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
Hi Leolam,

If i login to this admin screen, i will go to the inside within this media menager frame (or window within window). It doesn;t solve the problem.

the line says in my configuration.php is

var $live_site = ''; or


Tks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:22 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 14072
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
You missed my first point I think......That login screen should not come up there and your site will crash when you login there as well at all so login to your default administrator with

http://www.safeourlife.info/administrator instead of http://safeourlife.info/admistrator and see if that resolves

(what joomla version you use?)

Leo

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:36 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
Hi Leo,

Not work?? i use joomla 1.5.7
.
Tks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 14072
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Download full version of Joomla 1.5.7 ( not a patched version) > extract > upload full excluding 'installation-folder" and overwrite. Check your file and folder permissions in your system settings (admin > system)... Those which should be writable should be mentioned in 'green"

Leo 8)

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:43 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
Hi Leo,

i install the full package of joomla version 1.5.7 while all of directory permission is writeable in system information.

HD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:47 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 9:21 pm
Posts: 39
I am also getting an upload failed (406) error when trying to upload images thru the front and back end. I use to be able to upload images all I can think is it was the upgrade to 1.5.7.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:37 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
Hi Leo,

i have done what r you suggestion, but it doesn't work too, not solve the problem, but this is no problem when i install it on localhost server.

Rgds
Handoko


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:40 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:35 pm
Posts: 2
Dumb question, but is the server a Red Hat Enterprise Linux, CentOS or Fedora box?

If so, it could be an SELinux issue. To see if it is enabled run:

Code:
[root@dev httpd]# selinuxenabled
[root@dev httpd]# echo $?
1


If you get a 1 it is NOT enabled. If you get a 0 it is enabled (and will stop apache writing to some parts of the file system).

nic

PS. Similar experiences can happen on AppArmor hosts but that's another story.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:09 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
Hi my host server is linux diamond.

I don't know how to run your code.

Tks
HD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 2511
Location: Orlando, FL
handoko75 wrote:
Hi my host server is linux diamond.

I don't know how to run your code.

Tks
HD



Then you need to contact your host. This is a command ran via root and it sounds like you are on a shared hosting account that doesn't allow root access.

_________________
CPanel Web Hosting Services http://interactiveonline.com/shared-web-hosting
Follow us on Twitter @interactiveo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:12 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:06 pm
Posts: 1
OK... I was having this same problem... and I don't know if this will screw other things up on my site, but I was able to get the upload to work with some experimentation.
What worked:
I went into global configuration and changed (under media settings) "Enable Flash Uploader" to NO.
This sounds crazy... but it worked for me.

If you know something about this, please let me know if I will see problems elsewhere because I did this.

_________________
Sincerely,
Stephen Betzen
http://www.Preliteracy.com
http://www.Ecowindchimes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 7:24 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:13 am
Posts: 10
Hi sbetzen,

It it work. Thank for this simple solution.

Thanks alot
Handoko

sbetzen wrote:
OK... I was having this same problem... and I don't know if this will screw other things up on my site, but I was able to get the upload to work with some experimentation.
What worked:
I went into global configuration and changed (under media settings) "Enable Flash Uploader" to NO.
This sounds crazy... but it worked for me.

If you know something about this, please let me know if I will see problems elsewhere because I did this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:24 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 10:43 pm
Posts: 10
This worked for me too, but I'm not sure why? Can anyone expand?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:18 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Jastrebarsko Croatia
Yes, but when you turn off "Flash uploader" You can't do multiple upload. Its possible to upload only file by file.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 2:13 pm
Posts: 7962
Location: The Netherlands
Ask your host to turn off suhosin (this is a PHP setting), this is causing the error. My server had the same problem, after turning off suhosin it was ready to go.

_________________
Robert Dam - Joomla Forum Moderator
Dutch Boards | Joomla Coding Boards | English Support Boards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:16 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 12:07 pm
Posts: 27
I checked my server's error logs and discovered problems with open_basedir settings. That is set in php.ini.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:46 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:35 pm
Posts: 2
OK - so I have a problem with File Upload in media manager.

Choose a file .. upload it ... (file is sent to server ... written to /tmp ... unlinked ) ... file fails to be put under Joomla web space.

No errors in ssl_error_log. How do I work out what the heck is going on? ???

I'm using Joomla 1.5.7 on CentOS5.

php-common-5.1.6-20.el5_2.1
php-mysql-5.1.6-20.el5_2.1
php-pdo-5.1.6-20.el5_2.1
php-cli-5.1.6-20.el5_2.1
php-ldap-5.1.6-20.el5_2.1
php-5.1.6-20.el5_2.1
httpd-2.2.3-11.1fh


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group