The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:07 pm
Posts: 21
Hi!
I´ve switched the favicon of my JApurity based site to a new one that I´ve made myself. It looks good in firefox, but it wont appear in the browser of Internet Explorer. Is there anybody that has a clue why?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:13 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Posts: 4987
Location: Nottingham, UK
The favicon of forum.joomla.org works fine in both FF and IE7. Perhaps your favicon is not in the .ico format: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms537656(VS.85).aspx.

Regards,

_________________
toivo
my first programs were assembled and run in 16KB :)
http://archive.computerhistory.org/resources/text/GE/GE.GE-115SystemSoftware.1967.102646096.pdf#zoom=100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:50 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:07 pm
Posts: 21
Hi!
It is a .ico and I've followed the instructions given here on how this should be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 11:55 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:07 pm
Posts: 21
...but it still dont work in IE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:00 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:05 pm
Posts: 2
I'm bumping this as I have the same problem. Works in Firefox in the address bar, but not in the bookmarks. The new favicon is not displayed in IE7 at all - it just displays default Joomla one.

What I've tried:

Created .ico in both IrfanView and online at http://tools.[drive].com/favicon/

Searched my site directory and replaced all favicon instances with new ones.

Cleared cache/temporary internet files.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:07 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:05 pm
Posts: 2
OK, it's showing up in IE now - I just had to restart the browser. It is still showing the default favicon when I drag it to my bookmarks in Firefox though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:05 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:03 pm
Posts: 92
did you clean the browser cache?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:59 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:38 am
Posts: 141
i have done EVERYTHING, cleaning the browser cashe, droping the icon file in more than the required folders (because the it wasnt working in the main 2)
AND I STILL CANT GET IT TO PULL UP!!
sheeeeeeeeeesh.
ive made many sites!
i even resorted to to putting in the HTML string in the template
and no go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah




Paddock
www.twitter.com/boycottfootball
www.boycottfootball.com

_________________
Paddock
http://www.twitter.com/boycottfootball


Last edited by flatsilver on Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:43 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:03 pm
Posts: 92
I have changed my favicon twice, and it now displays correctly at the front end in IE and Firefox, but in the back end (administrative) I still see my previous version of favicon displayed. Don't know how this can help you, just additional info to think


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:48 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:38 am
Posts: 141
yeah, it shows on half of my back end pages and none of the front





Paddock
www.twitter.com/boycottfootball
www.boycottfootball.com

_________________
Paddock
http://www.twitter.com/boycottfootball


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:41 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:03 pm
Posts: 92
I see your favicons in exactly the same way in IE7 and Firefox


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:46 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:52 am
Posts: 2
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I changed the ja_purity favicon to my own and to have it showing I did the following.

IE 7
- closed the IE browser and then started it up again
- navigated to mysite.com.au and the right favicon appeared

FireFox
- in the address bar I typed http://mysite.com.au/templates/ja_purity/favicon.ico
- the right favicon showed up then I navigated back to mysite.com.au and the right favicon appeared.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:24 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:38 am
Posts: 141
Yes, yesterday i spent FOUR HOURS. fixing the favicons on ALL of my sites. They all were finally working. woke up this morning.. NOT ONE OF THEM WORKED! i think my browser is drunk !! i have at least 8 hours in messing with favicons. you would think the "short cut" "href...'favicon.ico' in the header would force it up there, but nooooooooooooope

_________________
Paddock
http://www.twitter.com/boycottfootball


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 2:49 am
Posts: 20
I also have an issue with IE not showing my favicon. It works fine with FF and Chrome but not in IE. The "e" still shows up in IE. I don't ever use IE so clearing cache would be a waste of time but for the sake of argument I did and still nothing. Not to mention that I also tried it on another laptop and the "e" came up as well.

www.rubyfrogentertainment.com
www.acr.rubyfrogentertainment.com
www.wedni.com

The same thing happens to all sites....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Posts: 4987
Location: Nottingham, UK
Have you checked the icon at this forum, forum.joomla.org? My IE8 displays the Joomla icon correctly here but the e is shown at your sites.

_________________
toivo
my first programs were assembled and run in 16KB :)
http://archive.computerhistory.org/resources/text/GE/GE.GE-115SystemSoftware.1967.102646096.pdf#zoom=100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:49 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 2:49 am
Posts: 20
I know the icon is not showing up correctly on IE, hence my question here on the forum. It shows up correctly on FF AND on Google Chrome. What code do I use in joomla for it to be able to be seen/shown on IE?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:22 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Posts: 4987
Location: Nottingham, UK
I just wanted to find out if your IE can display favicons from other sites.

Joomla 1.5 does not do anything special to render favicons in IE. Joomla 1.5 produces the link to the favicon if the file favicon.ico is found in the main (root) Joomla folder or the main folder of the template. The code can be found in the addFavIcon and _loadTemplate methods of the JDocumentHTML class in /libraries/joomla/document/html/html.php.

On the other hand, templates can do their own thing and add a favicon line to the <head> section, in which case the favicon.ico file can be anywhere. Here is one such example:
Code:
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/images/favicon.ico" />

And here is some useful info from a Microsoft MVP how to troublesheet the favicon problem in IE:http://jeffcode.[URL banned].com.au/2007/12/why-doesnt-favicon-for-my-site-appear.html

_________________
toivo
my first programs were assembled and run in 16KB :)
http://archive.computerhistory.org/resources/text/GE/GE.GE-115SystemSoftware.1967.102646096.pdf#zoom=100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:52 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 2:49 am
Posts: 20
Totally misunderstood your first response, sorry about that ;) Yes, other sites pull up the favicon, just not mine. I'll look at the link you provided. Thank you :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 6:59 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 2:49 am
Posts: 20
Tried what you suggested, what the site suggested and still not seeing anything in IE. In other words, I made the favicon.ico into a 16x16 instead of the 24x24 that I had been using. In FF and Chrome it just looks smaller.... Anyway, also added the line to the index.php of the template and even saw it in the source. Maybe I typed it in wrong though?

<link rel="address bar icon" href="http://www.rubyfrogentertainment.com/main/templates/siteground-j15-112/favicon.ico">


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:21 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 7:13 pm
Posts: 1
in yoursiterootfolder/libraries/joomla/document/html/html.php
search:
public function addFavicon($href, $type = 'image/vnd.microsoft.icon', $relation = 'shortcut icon')
replace with:
public function addFavicon($href='/favicon.ico', $type = 'image/ico', $relation = 'shortcut icon')


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:04 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:08 am
Posts: 369
Location: UK
I had this exact problem and nothing seemed to work. After clearing the browser cache countless times and even updating IE to v9 I found this: http://favicon.htmlkit.com/favicon/

The above link worked perfectly for me!

_________________
Follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/RustyJoomla


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group