The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 2:24 am
Posts: 49
Joomla 1.5, Realtor Template with sample data, PHP5 & MYSQL5

Top Banner Module not Rotating. My Joomla Website

I have added a category at components/banner/categories
Checked components/banner/clients
Checked components/banner/banners
Checked extensions/module manager/banner 468x60
Checked extensions/module manager/banner
All settings appear to be correct.
I have played with the sticky setting but only one image is displayed.

Am I missing something? :blink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:05 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 335
I dont' think the joomla banners rotate? i coudn't figure it out either..

But I do have some other banner add software from my old site that is roating so i tried it and use the joomla banner ad software but when i make a new banner ad up i use the CODE the the other software tell me then i insert it in the CODE part in the joomla banner and it works great.. the banner ads rotate whent the page gets refreshed.. (not live roating like before but now i can have multiple clients on the same banner ad placement) YAHHHH

here is the software .. http://www.xigla.com/xigla/

its http://www.xigla.com/absolutebmnet/index.htm - Absolute Banner Manager i'm using the .asp version.. as you can run in acess DB, the other is .net and you need sql server..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:17 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:46 am
Posts: 937
Location: Oklahoma
I don't think that having to purchase a 3rd party solution, and one that works only on Windows servers, is a proper solution.

Have you gone to your "Modules" area and selected "sticky, randomize"? (and be sure the banners you want to show are "sticky").

Note also that you can use the banners module to make certain banners show only in certain pages.

_________________
- Hank Castello
http://www.CompuSolver.com
PHP / Joomla Development / SEO
Joomla Hosting with real support


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:08 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:00 am
Posts: 1
Go to Extension > Module Manager > Main Banner Slider
and on the Module parameters enter the values for Banner ID(s) e.g. "1, 2" these ID can be found on your banner manager, you can add more slide banner by adding more ID separated by comma, note that the banner must be set enabled on your banner manager


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:38 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:00 am
Posts: 13
Remember to set the cache settings to "No caching" in the advanced tab. That solved this issue for me. ;)

..oh and then go clear your mod_banner cache.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:00 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:00 am
Posts: 2
dards wrote:
Go to Extension > Module Manager > Main Banner Slider
and on the Module parameters enter the values for Banner ID(s) e.g. "1, 2" these ID can be found on your banner manager, you can add more slide banner by adding more ID separated by comma, note that the banner must be set enabled on your banner manager


Hello,

Where can I find the Main Banner Slider? It is not in my base Joomla 1.5 installation as far as I can determine.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:19 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:44 am
Posts: 4
I am having the same problem. The banners used to rotate, now they appear one on top of the other. Any advice?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:58 pm
Posts: 369
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
I've done a lot of research over the last few days on banners not rotating in Joomla, and anyone having a similar problem I would suggest the following:

1. Ensure the banner module's Randomise setting is set to Sticky, Randomise

2. Check your banner's sticky settings, having just one sticky banner can cause them not to rotate

3. Check your banner module's cache setting, try changing it to no caching

4. Ensure your banner module's Count (under basic options in Joomla 3) is not too high. If you have 3 banners and set the count to 3, then it will show all three. Setting the count setting to one will make sure only 1 shows and they rotate

5. Check your banner's Max impressions setting (under the banner details) tab. If the banner has hit the max impression limit, it will not be included in the rotation of the banners.

These conclusions were based upon my testing in Joomla 3.0, and I'm happy to help anyone having this issue in the newer version of Joomla.

_________________
Please let me know if I can help any further.
Thanks, BradM, with http://www.inmotionhosting.com Support


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group