The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:33 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:01 am
Posts: 15
Hi,
In administration the Cancel, Submit, Edit, etc. Do not work.
I checked with firebug and the onsubmit() function is sending undefined.
There must be some files whichave not updated correctly.
Which files do I need to look at to fix this? Any ideas?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:41 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:51 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Orlando, Florida
You could try uploading all the core files again and just overwriting the old ones. Just skip the installation folder.

_________________
-Chad Windnagle
Please use the search feature as your question might already have been answered.

http://www.s-go.net/ ~ Website Hosting - Strategic Marketing - Website Development - Print Work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:12 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 2:13 pm
Posts: 7962
Location: The Netherlands
Do you use Internet Explorer of Firefox?
Sometimes you need to set www to $mosConfig_live_site in you configuration.php

If you're conguration $mosConfig_live_site looks like this:
Code:
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://yourdomain.com';

Try this once, for me it worked a few times allready:
Code:
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://www.yourdomain.com';

_________________
Robert Dam - Joomla Forum Moderator
Dutch Boards | Joomla Coding Boards | English Support Boards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:45 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 20138
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Could you check if all necessary Joomla files are available (and not corrupted) on the server?
Joomla Diagnostics is a helpful tool to check that:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/
This tool does not need to be installed via the Joomla installer in the back-end:
  • Download the diagnostics for your Joomla version
  • Unzip the download
  • Upload both files to your Joomla root (where the index.php / configuration.php also are)
  • Run the diagnostics tool by opening the file in your browser, e.g. http://www.example.com/diagnostics.php

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 7:44 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 1
Well,
I'm new to Joomla. But like the structure of it. I use 1.5.
I have had troubles the last week with the TinyMCE 2.0 editor. Frustrating! It all worked fine when starting it up, but then, sudenly, it did not work. :(
I tried the hole package (db and files) on a different server, with no changes, and it worked perfect. According to my webhost provider, they have not changed any tning...
Have looked at the forum here and tried most any thing, uppgrading, studied code. Even the last tip, diagnostics.php, and I got the message "File is corrupted or has been altered" at every single row. This without "touching" anything. :eek:
Nice script how ever.
I started to download a new package to do the nasty job again, reinstall the hole thing... :'(
When it strock me, lets try another editor, just in case.
I loaded the JCE editor. The JCE editor is in beta face, but it works! Now I can edit and save my work again. ;D
But, when swiching back to Tiny, it still dont work.
I hope, that I not end up in trouble again. Hope this will help some one more.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:28 am
Posts: 21
pe7er wrote:
Could you check if all necessary Joomla files are available (and not corrupted) on the server?
Joomla Diagnostics is a helpful tool to check that:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/
This tool does not need to be installed via the Joomla installer in the back-end:
  • Download the diagnostics for your Joomla version
  • Unzip the download
  • Upload both files to your Joomla root (where the index.php / configuration.php also are)
  • Run the diagnostics tool by opening the file in your browser, e.g. http://www.example.com/diagnostics.php


I'm a newbye and I tried to install the tool; I'm using windows vista home. It cannot create a file with the same name of a folder when extracting the tool. I tried to rename the folder and use the rpwser to go to the linkwith the .../diagnostics.php and... no results.

How fix it please?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:39 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:51 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Orlando, Florida
Try using winZip to unzip the file. Should work okay, but with Vista all bets are off.

_________________
-Chad Windnagle
Please use the search feature as your question might already have been answered.

http://www.s-go.net/ ~ Website Hosting - Strategic Marketing - Website Development - Print Work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:10 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:01 pm
Posts: 349
What's the solution?

If cant edit or add a category or section then the software is totally useless and i've just wasted 3 days of work

???

_________________
My sites: Embed [youtube] and Vimeo video galleries easily
and Joomla 1.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:50 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:51 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Orlando, Florida
Kingabaloo what events led up to this problem for you? Did you have a working installation at one time? Did you upgrade something? Give me some more details k?

_________________
-Chad Windnagle
Please use the search feature as your question might already have been answered.

http://www.s-go.net/ ~ Website Hosting - Strategic Marketing - Website Development - Print Work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:04 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:25 pm
Posts: 11
Hi

alicew wrote:
In administration the Cancel, Submit, Edit, etc. Do not work.
I checked with firebug and the onsubmit() function is sending undefined.
There must be some files whichave not updated correctly.
Which files do I need to look at to fix this? Any ideas?


I have the same problem...

drmmr763 wrote:
You could try uploading all the core files again and just overwriting the old ones. Just skip the installation folder.


I tried that and it hasn't helped.

dam-man wrote:
Do you use Internet Explorer of Firefox?
Sometimes you need to set www to $mosConfig_live_site in you configuration.php

If you're conguration $mosConfig_live_site looks like this:
Code:
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://yourdomain.com';

Try this once, for me it worked a few times allready:
Code:
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://www.yourdomain.com';


I have checked that and it hasn't helped (of course I use Firefox...!).

pe7er wrote:
Could you check if all necessary Joomla files are available (and not corrupted) on the server?
Joomla Diagnostics is a helpful tool to check that:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/


I tried that and it didn't report any problems... I have also disabled noscript in Firefox and this didn't help... anyone have any further suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:51 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Orlando, Florida
chriscroome, disable your WYSIWYG editor in the J! user manager for your account. See if that has any effect.

_________________
-Chad Windnagle
Please use the search feature as your question might already have been answered.

http://www.s-go.net/ ~ Website Hosting - Strategic Marketing - Website Development - Print Work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:31 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:25 pm
Posts: 11
drmmr763 wrote:
disable your WYSIWYG editor in the J! user manager for your account. See if that has any effect.


The admin page that has the option to do this has the same javascript buttons that don't work.

What do I need to change at the database level to disable the WYSIWYG editor for a user?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:12 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:51 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Orlando, Florida
Ohhh. that makes things difficult doesn't it.

Um before you try the database change, go the plugins and disable the WYSIWYG editor (tinyMCE). Leave No WYSIWYG enabled. I think by disabling the main one it'll automatically pick the other.

However, since this problem exists outside of the content editor, I have a feeling that disabling WYSIWYG isn't going to change anything. Hmmm.

Can you confirm that this problem exists on other computers as well?

_________________
-Chad Windnagle
Please use the search feature as your question might already have been answered.

http://www.s-go.net/ ~ Website Hosting - Strategic Marketing - Website Development - Print Work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:42 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:25 pm
Posts: 11
drmmr763 wrote:
go the plugins and disable the WYSIWYG editor (tinyMCE).


Well, I can't use the web interface to edit this because the buttons don't work, but I edited configuration.php and removed the WYSIWYG editor, but this made no difference to the non-functioning admin interface...

drmmr763 wrote:
Can you confirm that this problem exists on other computers as well?


There is the same problem with Opera as with Firefox.

But, perhaps I can do the upgrade to 1.5 without using the web interface -- is there any pointers anywhere how to do this, I'm actually happier doing SQL and editing text files on the server than I am coping with non-functioning javascript dependent web interfaces....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:51 pm
Posts: 1674
Location: Orlando, Florida
Quote:
Well, I can't use the web interface to edit this because the buttons don't work, but I edited configuration.php and removed the WYSIWYG editor, but this made no difference to the non-functioning admin interface...


I was under the impression that it was just the Save, Apply, and Edit buttons. You're confusing me. What exactly is not working correctly?


Quote:
There is the same problem with Opera as with Firefox.

What happens on a different machine entirely?

Quote:
But, perhaps I can do the upgrade to 1.5 without using the web interface -- is there any pointers anywhere how to do this, I'm actually happier doing SQL and editing text files on the server than I am coping with non-functioning javascript dependent web interfaces....


Getting to 1.5 is much more than upgrading. It's a migration. But there is a ton of help on it. Here's a help document on it:

http://help.joomla.org/content/view/1933/294/

_________________
-Chad Windnagle
Please use the search feature as your question might already have been answered.

http://www.s-go.net/ ~ Website Hosting - Strategic Marketing - Website Development - Print Work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:37 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:25 pm
Posts: 11
drmmr763 wrote:
Quote:
Well, I can't use the web interface to edit this because the buttons don't work, but I edited configuration.php and removed the WYSIWYG editor, but this made no difference to the non-functioning admin interface...


I was under the impression that it was just the Save, Apply, and Edit buttons. You're confusing me. What exactly is not working correctly?


There is also a lack of a way that I can find to install the Migrator extension, see:

viewtopic.php?f=36&t=445877

But perhaps I just don't know where to look?

drmmr763 wrote:
Quote:
There is the same problem with Opera as with Firefox.

What happens on a different machine entirely?


Yes, the same problem, in fact I think that *all* the javsscript functionality is missing.

drmmr763 wrote:
Quote:
But, perhaps I can do the upgrade to 1.5 without using the web interface -- is there any pointers anywhere how to do this, I'm actually happier doing SQL and editing text files on the server than I am coping with non-functioning javascript dependent web interfaces....


Getting to 1.5 is much more than upgrading. It's a migration. But there is a ton of help on it. Here's a help document on it:

http://help.joomla.org/content/view/1933/294/


Yes, I've been trying to follow this but I'm stuck at trying to install the Migrator component and I think it's because I don't have the admin menu because I have a admin interface in which javascript isn't working...

Thanks for your help, I'm going to investigate the javascript problem...

Other people have had the same kind of problem:

viewtopic.php?f=57&t=295108

viewtopic.php?f=32&p=1297865


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:13 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:25 pm
Posts: 11
So the problem was that /includes/ wasn't being served...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:39 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:49 pm
Posts: 16
Location: New Mexico
what does that mean....the includes was not being served??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:37 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:12 am
Posts: 4
Sory for offtopic.I had similar problem. I was forgoten to insert
Code:
<input type="hidden" name="task" value="" />
in my template. So my buttons didnt work, and firebug brings error :
Code:
document.adminForm.task is undefined
Maybe this will help someone in future.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group