The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 188 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:04 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Any news about the 1.5.10.4 version Orware?

rgds

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:48 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 142
Location: Bucuresti
Hello

May i ask for this feature: select multiple categories when add a new article?

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:37 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
bidsro wrote:
Hello

May i ask for this feature: select multiple categories when add a new article?

Thank you


Great suggestion.

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 3:09 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:17 pm
Posts: 113
Quote:
Hello

May i ask for this feature: select multiple categories when add a new article?

Thank you


For what kind of sites would it be usefull to ?

Just discovering this thread... So, I'm waiting for 1.5.10 to try this addon ASAP ! :)

Nice project !

_________________
Enjoy J!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 6:22 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
I can think of that this will make you set up site structures where you can make a matrix combination of both mapping menus and section/category integration for the same content items.

Like if you want to mix content that both have to be viewed/browsed with a local view condition and also with different content types condition. So user can browse to that content item in different structures.

Say that you set up a site with also a geo location (think global act local mind set) strategy. You map all your content to locations based items also and with item types where you can have them mapped to many different categories.

Example could look like categories and subcategories.

Category1 Location: location/sublocation/location map set up to the menu "Menu 1 Location"
Category 2 typexx: typexx 1/subtypexx 1:1/subtypexx 1:1:1 map set up to the menu "Menu 2 Types".

Then you mix items in two categories or more categories where you can browse for ie "Menu 1 Location" and "Menu 2 Types" types like 1:1:1 category for the same item thats found in other categories as well bcs you have mapped it to different categories.

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 5:17 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 3:52 pm
Posts: 13
Hi to You .....Just found this thread today.....
Very useful hack......
Did anyone try the latest release on a build 1.5.10 yet ?

This should have been build into joomla years ago

Best Regards

Claus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 6:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Its not released yet and dont know if it working for J 1.5.10 yet but Ramos is soon releasing it I guess... :pop

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 12:16 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
How does this approach handle URLs? Does it create duplicate content? Or, is there a permanent URL? It looks interesting but for me, duplicate URLs would be a show stopper.

Thanks!
Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 4:19 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 3:52 pm
Posts: 13
I did a clean install of 1.5.9 just for testing this out....
and uploaded the patch files via FTP .....working fine BUT......

I did for test purpose create :

SECTION
l___ CATEGORY
l l_ Article A
l
l_______ SUBCATEGORY
l_ Article B
l_ Article C

I then created a main menu like this:

Home
Section (section blog layout)
l_ Category (category blog layout)
l_ Subcategory (category blog layout)

So in my humble understanding,as the 2 articles made in the subcategory and published to the frontpage,should show up all the way down through the hierachy...... but they don't....
They show up nicely on the frontpage, the section blog view , and the subcategory (category blog view)

Where they don't show up is (for me anyway) the most important place ...The top level category...nothing from subcategories shown on page "category" ......

So am I missing something out here ?
If I am not missing out something there's my suggestion for improvement

Claus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 6:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Dont know if I understand you but the frontpage is only for frontpage of Joomla.

Have you tried the ArtCats with subcat patch?

Its better for you to make navigation from a module into different categories and subcategories. I have not tried this myself but will when the final subcat patch is ready for J 1.5.10. I have tried the subcat patch before and then I made mapping menu structure to the subcats thats working. The problem that time was that time when creating an article you could not put it to a subcategory tree bcs you didnt see the subcategories tree correct. Think this is fixed now.

Anyhow here is the ArtCats with pdf info and more..

http://www.orware.net/joomla-projects/artcats/68-artcats-203-release.html

Pls let us know how you succeeded!

Rgds

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 8:23 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 3:52 pm
Posts: 13
I have not tried ArtCats, but will take a look into it

I am aware of that the Frontpage is for the Frontpage only.....

So what i try to do here is a newspaper like site...
Actually i am fine with the sections / categories / subcategories it worked on the testpage i set up ..... except for the tiny little thing mentioned in my last post...

what I thought this hack would make me able to was..

create a section.... lets say ASIA
create a category lets say THAILAND
create a category lets say CHINA
create a subcategory in category CHINA lets say INDUSTRI
create a subcategory in category CHINA lets say TOURISM

When i create a link in my menu for :

(ASIA)Article Section blog view it shows everything correct with articles from selected section , categories and subcategories....

(CHINA)Article category blog view and choose a CATEGORY it fails to show anything from the subcategories(INDUSTRI,TOURISM) from the selected category.

(INDUSTRI)Article category blog view and choose a SUBCATEGORY it show the articles as supposed within the selcted subcategory.

So for no it seems that this is of no use for me....

Claus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 1:50 pm 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
Darb - how about the URLs? Does it create duplicate content?

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 5:23 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
I had a old test site with old first subcat but I took it away 2 weeks ago. So I cant tell about the urls really.

I will test all this with new version coming out later again.

But as I remember everything working except setting up articles to view the correct cat/subcat tree bcs you could not view the correct tree to set them up to the correct subcategory.

The categories and subcategories where showing up in one flat list only. So i f you have the same type of subcategory name you could not judge where they belong if they had the same name.

But I didnt do extensive tests so hope all this working fine now. But I like this solution and could be a great fix for J 1.6 possibly if there is no other magic.

rgds

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 6:26 pm 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
I know you like the concept of being able to put Joomla! articles into multi-categories. We all do. But, there is no "magic" - there is an architecture and ramifications for code changes. This will create a lot of duplicate content and people will not like that - or understand why it works that way. IMO, this is not the type of solution we need for core.

Today, the best solution for this is a tagging solution. From what I have seen, JXtended has the best one around.

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 6:52 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:17 pm
Posts: 113
Hello Amy,

Do you know Custom properties ? Any comparatives ideas with Jxtend ?
I'm testing it, and seems a very advanced and flexible way to tag content into Joomla!
I may need to combined with the subcategories project...

_________________
Enjoy J!


Last edited by crony on Sun May 10, 2009 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 5:25 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:58 am
Posts: 4
actually I think the best free joomla tag component is 'Tags for Joomla' from http://www.joomlatags.org/.

It's a powerful tag system for Joomla and written by Joe Guo who also is the athor of "CssJsCompress" and other brilliant extensions.

btw I am still waiting for the 1.5.10 version of this project and thanks a lot for darb.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:17 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
jackyking wrote:
actually I think the best free joomla tag component is 'Tags for Joomla' from http://www.joomlatags.org/.

It's a powerful tag system for Joomla and written by Joe Guo who also is the athor of "CssJsCompress" and other brilliant extensions.

btw I am still waiting for the 1.5.10 version of this project and thanks a lot for darb.


You are welcomed!

Well I also hope the update is coming soon for J 1.5.11 now too bcs I have not seen any activity http://code.orware.net/ Ramos told he had the update for J 1.5.10 on his laptop before at school or something like that and just needed upload it if I remember correct so hopefully this will be soon if nothing happened with him.

Have you seen Joomlers Content + its also very nice and would be great to work with all these extensions as well. http://www.joomler.net/download/79-joomla15-component/619-jcontentjcontentplus-110.html Its powerful with version, category manager, file manager and more stuff. Pls update if you try all these extensions and how well it works together ! I have start playing with Content + too.

Thanks.

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:13 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:16 pm
Posts: 249
Location: CA
Sorry for the long (too long) delay in getting an update here for Joomla 1.5.10 and 1.5.11.

The updated version of Subcats for both of these releases can be found on the ORWARE website:
http://orware.net/

Both have exactly the same features that 1.5.9.4 had, except that I've gone through the files that were updated in Joomla 1.5.10 and 1.5.11 and have made sure that the appropriate ones have been migrated over.

I don't expect there to be any problems, but now that I'm caught up in that area if you have some feature requests (there are quite a few I think that have been posted these past months) please add them to the feature/bug tracker here:
http://code.orware.net/projects/subcats/issues

And I'll start tackling them.

Thanks again for everyone's patience,

-Omar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:30 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 18
Firstly good work Orware - and all other contributors.

Orware - do you or anyone else know how to get the menu section list option (listing all categories in a given section) to not output subcategories?

I'm happy to have a stab at this myself but thought i'd see if anyone else has sorted a method already.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:14 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:13 am
Posts: 3
Omar Ramos you've done a great job till now and this patch is very useful but it would be still better if you consider the quoted message and release an upgraded patch for 1.5.11.

btw does anyone know when joomla 1.6 to be released?
Thanks


claus31130 wrote:
I have not tried ArtCats, but will take a look into it

I am aware of that the Frontpage is for the Frontpage only.....

So what i try to do here is a newspaper like site...
Actually i am fine with the sections / categories / subcategories it worked on the testpage i set up ..... except for the tiny little thing mentioned in my last post...

what I thought this hack would make me able to was..

create a section.... lets say ASIA
create a category lets say THAILAND
create a category lets say CHINA
create a subcategory in category CHINA lets say INDUSTRI
create a subcategory in category CHINA lets say TOURISM

When i create a link in my menu for :

(ASIA)Article Section blog view it shows everything correct with articles from selected section , categories and subcategories....

(CHINA)Article category blog view and choose a CATEGORY it fails to show anything from the subcategories(INDUSTRI,TOURISM) from the selected category.

(INDUSTRI)Article category blog view and choose a SUBCATEGORY it show the articles as supposed within the selcted subcategory.

So for no it seems that this is of no use for me....

Claus

_________________
dlplace.[URL banned].com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:00 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
btw does anyone know when joomla 1.6 to be released?
Thanks


Its already released :-) depend on which version you mean?

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla/frs/?action=FrsReleaseBrowse&frs_package_id=3585 This is test dev version only!

I use the latest svn version bcs its so much that change from day to day http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla/scmsvn/?action=browse&path=%2Fdevelopment%2F this test dev link with that J 1.6 version is from April 2009.

Set up a WAMP and Turtoise svn to make automatic dl to your local test computer and you can test daily the changes and snapshots if you want see whats changes every day.

Its a lot going on in the dev team and you can also following this by looking at Google dev groups, twitter http://groups.google.de/group/joomla-dev-cms/ then you see that the process.

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:04 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:26 pm
Posts: 214
Location: UK
Hi guys,

I just tried this patch on my install of joomla 1.5.9... I was wondering if someone could help.

I have an "Articles » Section" type link on my menu. This shows all the categories in the section. Clicking a category opens the article list...

It misses out the subcategories... is there a way of including an intermediate page for if a particular category has subcategories?

Cheers for the help! RJP1

_________________
Please read forum rules regarding the use of signatures: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=65


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:07 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Do you use the ArtCats module from orware too and it doesnt work? http://www.orware.net

Pls go to the tracker then on http://code.orware.net

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:21 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:26 pm
Posts: 214
Location: UK
Hi Darb,

I don't want to use a module to display the subcategories, but I want to extend the Section category menu page by one page...

It's hard to explain but at the moment I've got a "Articles » Section" menu link. This goes to a page that simply lists the categories in a table. Clicking a category goes to a list of articles.

If a category has a subcategory, they aren't shown in this drill down... I don't expect a module to solve this issue.

Can anyone advise?

Cheers, RJP1

_________________
Please read forum rules regarding the use of signatures: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=65


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:50 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
hmm I dont understand.

"...extend the Section category menu"

You have sections, categories and menus to work with in Joomla. You have menus that are set up by modules.

You can create hierarchies categories and subcategories by using menus and a subcategory modules like ArtCats subcategory mod and extended module. You can list your categories and subcategories there.

Do you have an url maybe I can understand what you mean better?

I write a post here http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=295262&start=60 and maybe you can use the FrontpagePlus - with section and category support ?http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/structure-&-navigation/sections-&-categories/7131/details

pls let us know how you solve this bcs would be interesting to know..

all the best!

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:12 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:26 pm
Posts: 214
Location: UK
Hi Darb,

The link is http://www.guitartools.co.uk/lessons/

That page shows the categories within the section "lessons"

I've disabled the subcategory hack for now. But when you click a category on that page it shows the articles within that category. With the hack applied, it doesn't show an intermediate page for subcategories... get me?

Cheers for the help! I'll look at those 2 links you posted!

RJP1

_________________
Please read forum rules regarding the use of signatures: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=65


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 7:56 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 41
Hi. I just found this awsome patch that does exactly what I've been looking for for a long time now. I just have some problems. I downloaded the latest patch and am running it on a 1.5.11. I have already made alot of sections and categories, and now I wanted to make it all right by adding subcategories instead of a lot of articles just laying around. So I tried to move one of my sections to make it a category with subcategories, but it didn't work.

My structure looks like this:

Fakta om mat (section)
livmedelskedjan (section)

hur många jobbar med maten (category)
then under this category I have alot of articles, not set to nothing but articles.
matpriser (category) with atricles and so on...

So I tried to move the "livsmedelskedjan section to become a category under "fakta om mat" but then I lost all of my categories; "matpriser", "hur många jobbar med maten"... Why? Now I'm afraid to do anything more. I have lots more sections and categories in the same manner, and I just don't have the time to do the structure all over again. I'm quite fed up with copying and pasting by now. ;)

I also downloaded the ArtCat in hope I would at least get rid of the assigning articles to my now quite large menu system, but the expandable menu isn't working. It displays everything, except the section/category I want it to. Any one experienced this? I know that a question for another thread, but I'll ask just the same. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Windwill wrote:
;)

Hi Windwill,

cant help you with this but pls go to Orware that make this patch and reg and fill in a bug request or similar..Click on top "projects" and you will find the ArtCats and subcat projects where you can register...

Here is the url http://code.orware.net have you got ArtCats 2.03 version?

also check this thread http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=295262&p=1786514#p1786514

_________________
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:50 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 41
I felt kind of lazy last night. :). Now I've posted the question in the right tread. Sorry for the inconvenience.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 1:33 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 1:19 am
Posts: 1
Excuse if I'm sounding stupid.
I'm a newbi, but somehow I'm not.
Does Joomla, a program that has been downloaded in the seven figure range, support unlimited subcategories?

Thanks,
Detlef


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 188 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group