The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:57 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:51 am
Posts: 5
n e one know how to remove or disable the home button on the top menu (nav bar), i removed it unpublishing it, but then when i click on the logo it should open up the frontpage, but it doesn't, since the frontpage now is unpublished. neone???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:00 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Posts: 855
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
theres always some frontpage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:02 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:51 am
Posts: 5
what does that mean?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:25 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Posts: 855
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
when you unpublish a default menu item, another will become default. so when you go to your joomla website what you will see?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:32 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:51 am
Posts: 5
what i want to do is get rid of the home button, on the top menu (navigation bar). that is really what i want.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:38 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Posts: 855
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
-create other menu item and set it as default.
-unpublish or delete the menu item "home"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:27 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:51 am
Posts: 5
yes, if i do that, if i want to go back to the main frontpage, i am suppose to click on the logo image (top left) but it goes to the new default set page, witch is not the "home, frontpage"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Posts: 855
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
maybe I am missing something from you, but thats what is supposed to happen.

-you could have a menu item of any type (category blog, article, whatever) setted as default homepage, and this one is always the frontpage of your website.

-you could have a menu item of type "frontpage", if its not default it wotnt be your frontpage

Maybe the name "frotpage" is making confusion, but what defines homepage its "defauls" ando not "frontpage"

thats all


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:07 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:51 am
Posts: 5
thanks for helping. i'll try to be more clear.

the nav bar says home, i want that button gone, yes i can set my next button as default, and unpublish the home to get rid of it.
but... after its done, how would i get back to that "main page"? usually clicking on the logo image (top left of the template) would take me back to home, but since i am unpublishing it, clicking on it takes me back to the default page, and not the home page.
... maybe if its possible i need to change the logo image to link to the orignal home page???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 9:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:10 pm
Posts: 855
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
So you dont want the menu "home" but you want a page "home". In other words you want a page with no link from your site?

Try to hide that menu item named "home", move it to some registered module like the module "user menu" (or create another menu and make module registered) - this way it will be hidden.

I do allways this to make frontend logins. I create a menu item for login in main menu, then I hide it, but still able to access the link.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:29 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:42 pm
Posts: 1
Hi there.. i'm new overhere and my english it's not too good. So I'll try to explain myself

I was looking por the same thing, and what I did was this, hope to help you.


1- I create another position (topmenuHOME) next to the position of the "main menu" (topmenu)
e.g.
Code:
 <div style="float:left"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="topmenuHOME"/></div>
<div style="float:left"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="topmenu"/></div>


so the HOME link will be in the position "topmenuHOME" and the other links in the "topmenu"

2- I assigned a class (_home) to a module menu with the position topmenuHOME In the module manager

3- Move the HOME link (supose to be the default button to the front page) to the new module menu

4- Now this is the trick. In the CCS file I did 2 things. You choose wich one works for you.

If you want to see the HOME button only in the other page but not in the front page use this

Code:
#active_menu_home.mainlevel_home {
visibility:hidden;
}


if you want to hide the button from the site

Code:
.mainlevel_home{
visibility:hidden;
position:absolute;
}


This will keep the HOME as the default page (front page) but the link will be hide..

Hope I made myself clear.. and sorry for my english.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:11 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:01 am
Posts: 1
Hi n0pige0nz

I've just started using Joomla. I think i know what you after as i dont like putting the home link the navigation either. Its a bit messy.

This is how i got round it without having to change the homepage.

Your home link should have a class assigned to it called "item1" as it is the first page you have.

Then enter this simple css in your default.css file for your template.

.item1 {
display:none;
}

That should do it. Nice and simple. You might want to be more specific with the path to be safer for the future but this works for me.

Adam


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 12:52 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:42 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Chicago,il
Hi,

Haven't seen anything more out of this but, I am trying to do the same and used the code above .item1 {
display:none;
}
and put it into my CSS and nothing.

Can I have some more details about this?

_________________
Looking to learn option trading?
http://www.optionsizzle.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 2:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:28 am
Posts: 2
I have no clue why this works or how its doing it but here is what I did to hide the "Home Button" or the whatever your button is called which resides up top and is clickable and titles itself as the title under menu details:

Under "Menu Manager" where I already have listed: "Main Menu"
I created a second item called: "Hidden Menu" and just copy/pasted "Hidden Menu" for the unique name/title/description.

Then under "Menu Item Manager:[mainmenu]" - I have two "Home" menu items as article layouts.
"Home1" - Access level is public - set as default - display in Hidden Menu - Top
"Home2" - Access level is registered - not set as default - display in Main Menu - Top

Both are published

Now my domain when typed "www.whatever" goes to "Home1" b/c its default. When a user logs in I have redirection to "Home 2".

**Again I don't see on the front page the annoying "Home1" button/link. It's blank in the top menu bar. After logging in users see "Home2" button which is what I want along with other menu buttons.

Let me know if this helps. It may only work for me b/c of the setup I have. Feel free to ask questions.

-Pat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 4:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:47 pm
Posts: 311
Come on guys, don't need to be that complicated...

Just like lostmybrain said:

Code:
.item1 {
display:none;
}


If that doesn't work, jblander, perhaps your "home" item is not "item1" but "item3" or "item4", etc..

You have to find out.

Good luck!

_________________
http://marcobarbosa.com
http://twitter.com/marcobarbosa


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:26 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 29
It works fine, M4rc0!.

but this will hide the home menu in the inner pages to avoid that, declare the above code,
".item1 {
display:none;
}"
in the home-style.css. and use the following code to call that css on the home page.

The following code needs to be on the index.php (Template) below all the other style sheet links.

<?php
$menu = & JSite::getMenu();
if ($menu->getActive() == $menu->getDefault()) { ?>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php echo $this->baseurl ?>/templates/<?php echo $this->template?>/css/home-style.css" type="text/css" />
<?php }?>

_________________
Warm Regards,
Satheesh K Dominic

http://www.tutorials2learn.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 5:06 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 4:49 am
Posts: 102
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Hello Folks,

Just use the Module Manager select the Module for the Main Menu. Add a Menu Tag ID in the Advanced Parameters section such as main-menu. Now go to the Template Manager, edit the css. Hopefully you've set up a custom.css file for your template customizations. If you haven't DO IT. :). Add something like ul#main-menu li:first-child { display: none; } to your custom.css.

Jw

_________________
Computers are useless, they can only give you answers. - Pablo Picasso


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:26 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:20 am
Posts: 1
this is for those who use swmenufree module for displayine menu

keep the home link at the end of menu

and change the css for last menu to display:none

css file styles.php in mod_swmenufree


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:37 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:51 pm
Posts: 84
its real simple and involves no css. make a new menu in the admin panal and add ONLY the page you want to be the front page to it. Set this menu item as default.

goto the module manager and make sure the module for this new menu is UNPUBLISHED

NOW when joomla loads your www.site-name.com it will use this default item as the frontpage and you can delete the item "home" of your NORMAL menu.

because the menu exists in the framework, but the module output is not published Joomla can still READ the menu and create the pages based on it. You can even add other items to this un-publised menu (e.g. site map) and as long as you can work out the link in your head you can link to that page from elsewhere on your site.

_________________
http://www.metadiv.co.uk - Web and Graphic Design


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:59 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 29
A new-born extension should be useful.
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... tion/11752

_________________
Warm Regards,
Satheesh K Dominic

http://www.tutorials2learn.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:13 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:44 am
Posts: 3
Thanks zomb1984 !!!
Your solution works perfectly. :D

Easy to set up and no need to hide anything in CSS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:17 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:43 pm
Posts: 3
Hi everyone,

As many of you, I already have my logo linking to the home page so I decided to hide the home button from the main menu using the CSS.
I don't like much this solution (for SEO reason, I'd rather keep one single link to the home page) and I'm looking for a way to remove the main menu home link from the html code (without unpublishing the home menu item)
Anyone has a clue?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:25 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:25 am
Posts: 2
Thanks zomb1984, your solution works. It's on point. No stress at all (y).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:16 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:29 am
Posts: 2
helped me thank you!!!!!!

http://www.tech4000.us


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:21 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:11 am
Posts: 9
lostmybrain wrote:
Hi n0pige0nz

I've just started using Joomla. I think i know what you after as i dont like putting the home link the navigation either. Its a bit messy.

This is how i got round it without having to change the homepage.

Your home link should have a class assigned to it called "item1" as it is the first page you have.

Then enter this simple css in your default.css file for your template.

.item1 {
display:none;
}

That should do it. Nice and simple. You might want to be more specific with the path to be safer for the future but this works for me.

Adam



Hi, my "home" menu item doesn't show a class assigned to it.. could you explain where I may find it, exactly? I'm using joomla 2.5.9.

Thank you very much


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2013 12:26 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:07 pm
Posts: 34
The technique posted is correct but it should not be assumed that your template's item# is .item1.

This is your solution.

View your site on CHROME bowser and right click on your menu item you want to hide. Click on "inspect element" (or use FireBug with FireFox browser).

Your page's PHP/HTML will be displayed in the large window. Move your mouse around the code until the menu item you want to hide is highlighted on the page. This will show you the HTML controlling your menu item. Look for the line thats says "class="item-173" (of course yours will say whatever the class is called on your site).

Open your default.css file located in your usual CSS folder in your template folders.

To affect change on any class you simply precede the name with a period.

So using the class name above you would add the following code anywhere in the default.css file.

.item-173 {display: none};

Clear your browser's cache to ensure you see the change and you're done.

Cheers,

Sean


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 11:07 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:55 am
Posts: 1
Go to Menus --> Menu Manager -->Add New Menu,
Create a new Menu with name "Hidden menu" .
Now Edit the menu Item “Home” and choose the "Menu location" as Hidden . DONE!!!!!!!!!!!! :laugh:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:21 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 128
I needed to do this for a client and found a cleaner solution to do this without messing with the css or creating a hidden menu. You just need to add a line of code to mod_mainmenu, check it out here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:14 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:35 am
Posts: 3
I am also looking to remove my home page button for one of my site i don't know how to remove.
I am trying to post new quote i found this forum and i got it the solution.
thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:34 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:35 am
Posts: 3
I am also looking to remove my home page button for one of my site i don't know how to remove.
I am trying to post new quote i found this forum and i got it the solution.
thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group