The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Multi languages site?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:00 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:42 am
Posts: 1
I have a site(s) to build which will be multi-languages. I want only Spanish to viewed on the Spanish version of the site, and French only of the French version of the site, Arabic only on the Arabic version of the site, etc...

What are others doing for sites like this?

Separate instances of Joomla for each language?
Different tables for each language in a single instance of Joomla?

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

_________________
http://pub6.bravenet.com/forum/442314749
http://www.actionboysbelize.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Posts: 17088
Location: **Translation Matters**
Use the Joomfish component (search here: http://extensions.joomla.org/ )
It is, for now, only available for the Joomla 1.0.x series.

It will soon be for J! 1.5.x

_________________
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
Joomla Translation Coordination Team • Joomla! Production Working Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 7:34 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 8:38 am
Posts: 1
Multi languages site ,I wished ! Use the Joomfish component! :p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:18 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:06 pm
Posts: 1318
Location: Lithuania
just use the Joomfish component

_________________
Lithuanian Joomla! Community http://www.lithuanianjoomla.com
lietuviškas Joomla! puslapis, naujienos, straipsniai, forumas, vertimai
always be open source, and be free as freedom


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:25 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:18 pm
Posts: 8
Would have been great to find the Joomfish component... or at least hear if it could create the things that the original poster asked about or on the fly language-change...

but it seems that http://extensions.joomla.org/ is down at the moment... Guess I'll have to figure out another way then... my project is due tomorrow...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:32 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 1160
Hi Folks,

perhaps you also check this Resource site:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomfish/

Cheers

Pete

_________________
Pete Coutts / ghosty · · GMT +1
---------------------------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:30 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 8:39 am
Posts: 10
Thanks man. I appreciate it.

_________________
Parviz Aria • Joomla! Persian •
http://www.joomla.ir


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:18 pm
Posts: 8
Thank you very much :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 3:44 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 3:06 pm
Posts: 8
Just remember that using multilanguage sites with automatic translation is often displayed "crappy" with wrong words, bad sentences and they look no good at all when it comes to text.

If you are going to edit the text by yourself it will not be any problem.
Just remember that your SEF plugin is configured correctly :-)

Good luck :-)

_________________
My dog has it's own website at: http://www.hundefeber.no


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:34 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:38 pm
Posts: 140
Location: UK
Hi is there anyone here who can post a link to a joomla site using joomfish to see this extension in action. I need to do that for at least 4 languages but keeping the quality as well.
Thanks

_________________
http://www.hoodiadietworks.com | http://www.findiet.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:50 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Posts: 17088
Location: **Translation Matters**
There is one here with 3 languages:
http://troezel-vras.com

_________________
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
Joomla Translation Coordination Team • Joomla! Production Working Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:11 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 184
Kualaho wrote:
Hi is there anyone here who can post a link to a joomla site using joomfish to see this extension in action. I need to do that for at least 4 languages but keeping the quality as well.
Thanks

http://demo.joomfish.net

And my own, while I use club addons: http://www.boerbert.nl

P.S. quality of translations depends on the quality of the translators.

Regards, Carolien

_________________
Carolien - http://twitter.com/caro84g
Don't forget: Backup and test before you do major changes to your site


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:37 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:38 pm
Posts: 140
Location: UK
Thank you infograf768 and caro84g.

I like your site caro84g, I can tell the quality of the french and english versions is very good (as I know both languages very well). Did you have any input (manual) in these language or it is the work of joomfish only?

Thanks

_________________
http://www.hoodiadietworks.com | http://www.findiet.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:31 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:18 pm
Posts: 8
The sites I have made using Joomfish, requires that the translations are created manually and inserted... as far as I know, JoomFish isn't a translation tool but rather an addon you can use to administer your translations while suplying an "on the fly"-language change...
I've used it for these 2 sites:

http://rts-scandinavia.com
http://lonefrank.dk

Hope this answers your question... 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 184
Kualaho wrote:
Did you have any input (manual) in these language or it is the work of joomfish only?


Manual of course. Joom!Fish doesn't translate anything itself, it's no automatic translator.
Joom!Fish enables you to input translations, which are showed when a visitor clicks the language flag. So it manages multilingual content.

You (or your translators) have to enter the translations manually.

Regards, Carolien

_________________
Carolien - http://twitter.com/caro84g
Don't forget: Backup and test before you do major changes to your site


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:45 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:38 pm
Posts: 140
Location: UK
Thank you all. I had different idea about joomfish before; but not any more.

_________________
http://www.hoodiadietworks.com | http://www.findiet.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 10:18 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 5:38 am
Posts: 3
Are there any components out there that does automatic translations? I do not know Spanish, so I can not do the manual translations myself.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:14 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:38 pm
Posts: 140
Location: UK
I've found this one, but I haven't tried it yet. It uses google translator.
http://174.36.224.225/extensions/langua ... 23/details

There are more extensions that do the same here:
http://174.36.224.225/extensions/langua ... anslations

_________________
http://www.hoodiadietworks.com | http://www.findiet.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:39 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 3:56 pm
Posts: 6
I would go for Joomfish - but beware of the SEO problems with multilingual sites.
Do your SEO homework before you go online! hire a professional company to help you with this part and do a keyword research for each language. Since this topic is a bit old I assume that you have already found a working solution to this and perhaps you have the receipt for OTHERS like you was when this problem was arising? :-)

_________________
Norwegian senior magazine with more than 400.000 readers http://viover60.no is now using Joomla!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:35 am
Posts: 38
trademoneyman wrote:
Are there any components out there that does automatic translations? I do not know Spanish, so I can not do the manual translations myself.


Do you mean an automatic translator?? you gotta know that those make a lot of mistakes, so the best thing to do is to check it out yourself, but... if you don't know any spanish, maybe you can find somebody who can help you with the corrections.

_________________
http://www.alutec.no/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group